The Classic Crime Phoenix
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 12th 2012



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

"Damn (can I say that in here?) this is good?"

You can. Unsure if that is supposed to be a question or exclamation mark...


"I'm gonna give this a listen because there is Muse's Absolution in your "recommended by reviewer" section"

More the feel - and to a lesser extent; tempo - of the albums. Just don't expect Bellamy-like riffs to be attacking you from all angles.

Knott-
Emeritus
August 12th 2012



10195 Comments


WOULDILIKETHIS

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 12th 2012



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Ooh, I can never be sure with you Adam. But I'm gonna say "yes". There is enough lyrical value here (you'll love 'The Precipice') & there is enough grand ambition as well. You may feel the latter half is a little one-paced, but nothing a few subsequent listens won't cure.


ZedO
August 12th 2012



1096 Comments


Oh I see, listening to "you and me both" now, it sounds great...

Knott-
Emeritus
August 12th 2012



10195 Comments


OK. By the way, check yr shoutbox.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 12th 2012



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I've had the chorus of 'You & me Both' stuck in my head all day. Just listened to 'Let me Die' & now that chorus is stuck there.

Listen to me... Anyone would think that this is another one of those albums which Davey thinks has catchy choruses... When it's far from chorus reliant.

LifeAsAChipmunk
August 12th 2012



4854 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

A 4.5 from Davey? How alarming. I'm going to surmise and trust that this is incredibly catchy, Davey? With choruses (almost) as big as that 'recommended by reviewer' box.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 12th 2012



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Strangely, Chippy, this album isn't all about "THE CATCHY". The Catchy only gets you to a 4 rating... There's something a little more special about a 4.5.

LifeAsAChipmunk
August 12th 2012



4854 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"Strangely, Chippy, this album isn't all about "THE CATCHY". The Catchy only gets you to a 4 rating... There's something a little more special about a 4.5."

I sure hope that would be the case. I'm just looking for some more really catchy music.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 12th 2012



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Don't we all know it! :-)

Waior
August 12th 2012



11451 Comments


'The Silver Cord' was such a solid album and Matt MacDonald has arguably my favourite voice in music. I assume there isn't something as gritty as 'Abracadavers' but what I've heard from this deals with all the ugly issues 'Vagabonds' brought along.

Excited.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 12th 2012



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

You've always been tough, but relatively fair, with your reviews of this band Caleb. And yes, you've pretty much hit the nail right on the head... There's not very much you can classify as "gritty" here, because that's not what this album is about. If anyone goes in expecting that, they will have blinkers on & be disappointed. And to a lesser extent, if anyone goes in expecting their catchy side (EG: Vagabonds' title track & 'Four Chords') to take precedence, then they will also be missing out.

I really wanted to write another paragraph solely on MacDonald's voice. His performance on 'Beautiful Darkside' especially is - in a word - "masterful". Dare I say it, but it's Stephen Christian like.

Waior
August 12th 2012



11451 Comments


They've always been a secret favourite, the "little train that could", if you'd like. The train just hasn't but they came so close with TSC.

I would, and this is just my personal preference, take MacDonald over Christian in a heartbeat. Christian's voice is undeniably more unique but MacDonald has such a perfect timbre and is capable of doling out some seriously balls when he wants to get gruff. I appreciate that flexibility and Christian tends to be a little more confined to the fragility of his own voice.

Waior
August 12th 2012



11451 Comments


Just listened to 'Heaven and Hell' and 'Beautiful Darkside'. The instrumentation in the verses is really clever, I'm most impressed with the drummer. Nothing earth-shattering, just plain clever. Keeps me interested. Solid, solid songs.



DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 12th 2012



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Waior being controversial with MadDonald > Christian. I agree with most of your comparison though. BUT you may be a little disappointed that Matt doesn't get gruff enough here.

I know what you mean about the "little train that could". Most people think that means a person/reviewer/critic will pump up their tyres more, when in reality it's exactly the opposite & we get disappointed with what is still genuinely good stuff.

Drumming is indeed great here - right from the opener. You can tell that the band as a whole are really invested in this album. And all of the stuff that you say "keeps you interested" really does come out in subsequent listens. This is also a real grower of an album.

Storm In A Teacup
August 12th 2012



12702 Comments


oh shi i gotta listen

ProjectFreak
August 12th 2012



1318 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

already loved TCC, and Cities is my favorite album ever...way to send my hopes skyrocketing Davey!!!!

oh yeah and this review is real good

phishing
August 12th 2012



395 Comments


summary sold me

downloading now

TooLateToGoBack
August 12th 2012



1762 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

whoa, completely forgot this was coming out. I remember them doing a kickstarter, but didn't know if they were successful or not.

definitely gonna check it out.

Digging: Pianos Become the Teeth - Keep You

JackSparrow
August 12th 2012



1686 Comments


This sounds like something I would really like, You And Me Both is a great song



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy