Yellowcard Southern Air
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
oltnabrick
January 26th 2013


30904 Comments


yeah i cant believe this guy hasnt become the new Rebecca Black.

in fact id even say its worse

Digging: Rich Gang - Rich Gang: Tha Tour Pt 1

ProjectFreak
January 27th 2013


1370 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"yellowcard is like the pop punk band for people who hate pop punk lol."
wrong

"it's just for people who like the pop in their pop punk"
right, difference being level of maturity/relatability compared to most of their peers. also writing not just a catchy song, but a catchy ALBUM is difficult. yellowcard is catchy and enjoyable even after multiple listens, this album in particular. hence my rating

joshieboy12345
February 4th 2013


5370 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Probably the best review on Sputnik. Brilliant review of a brilliant album

toxin.
February 10th 2013


12479 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Damn, the lyrics to Ten are so powerful when they aren't awful

@joshie, yeah this is up there as one of the best reviews on the site, and easily Sowing's best.

toxin.
February 10th 2013


12479 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

right, difference being level of maturity/relatability compared to most of their peers. also writing not just a catchy song, but a catchy ALBUM is difficult. yellowcard is catchy and enjoyable even after multiple listens, this album in particular. hence my rating
----
Definitely. What stands out about YC is that they have this poppier, relatable, melodic brand of pop punk that shares more in common with the shit artists in the genre, but there's actual substance to the songs here. It's really commendable actually.

osmark86
February 12th 2013


4204 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I agree with toxin. YC has that little bit of extra flair that has kept me interested in their brand of pop punk when my general interest in the genre has faded.

ConsiderPhlebas
February 12th 2013


6157 Comments


They say you don't grow up, you just grow old. It's safe to say I haven't done both. Fun album.

toxin.
February 12th 2013


12479 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"it's just for people who like the pop in their pop punk"

oxymoron
-----
How's that an oxymoron? YC does lean towards pop rock at times, but they're still undeniably pop punk. And most of YC's fanbase like them more for being poppy (great ear for melody, agreeable lyrics, etc.) than for the punk elements (drumming, pacing, etc)

Cygnatti
February 12th 2013


21352 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

there is literally nothing special or worthwhile on this album wow

Digging: Jon Hopkins - Immunity

toxin.
February 12th 2013


12479 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah, that's a pretty good song, but of course the average YC fan can't really be bothered to find this band.

toxin.
February 12th 2013


12479 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

dude Cyg what's your avatar
I keep thinking it's a Digimon but I can't tell

joshieboy12345
February 12th 2013


5370 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Telescope and Ten were my least favorites on the album in the first few listens, and now after about a
dozen or more full listens, they have become my favorites. But tbh, there isn't one bad song on this.

KSK1
February 12th 2013


4083 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nah Here I Am Alive sucks pretty bad imo. Good thing the rest of the songs are fantastic.

Cygnatti
February 12th 2013


21352 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

xtoxin, it's Marth from Fire Emblem

DeadStarShine
February 25th 2013


775 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

no way this is better or even as good as WYTTSY


DirtBagDan
February 25th 2013


582 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Good band.

Cygnatti
February 25th 2013


21352 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

yeah good, but have never been amazing

DirtBagDan
February 25th 2013


582 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

A couple of their albums are solid 4s for me I think.

Cygnatti
February 25th 2013


21352 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah, Ocean Avenue and When You're Through Thinking are solid 3.5 to 4's for me.

NorwichScene
February 26th 2013


1436 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah good, but have never been amazing? OCEAN AVENUE.

Seeing these again next week, can't wait



Digging: Lonely the Brave - The Day's War



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy