TNGHT TNGHT
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
November 14th 2012



6324 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Totally

Digging: Shackleton - Deliverance Series No. 1

sehguh
November 15th 2012



153 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i'm back, I sacrificed my body to Hudmo and Lunice, I am reborn

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
November 16th 2012



23798 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

finally gonna check this out i guess

auberginedreams
November 16th 2012



5983 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

spoiler: it's overrated.

Funeralopolis
November 16th 2012



10999 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

agreed

Digging: Sweet Smoke - Just A Poke

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
November 16th 2012



23798 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

all you guys say that but all the people whose taste in electronic music I actually respect like it (people I know in real life too like Jash and Silentpotato) so yeah sorry, overruled.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
November 16th 2012



23798 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

and clerc and seghuh are two of the users with the best taste on this website when it comes to electronic/hip-hop stuff. not to mention TMobotron.

auberginedreams
November 16th 2012



5983 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

i agree that i'm not the foremost electronic music expert on this site, but this ep is essentially just mainstream trap beats with a few neat but ultimately superficial quirks. you don't have to be deeply knowledgeable about electronic music to have an opinion about it, it's more instrumental hip-hop than electro anyway.

auberginedreams
November 16th 2012



5983 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

genre-wise i mean, obviously it was made using electronic instruments.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
November 16th 2012



23798 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

"genre-wise i mean, obviously it was made using electronic instruments"

and instrumental hip-hop is made how? also I don't think I ever implied it was anything close to electro.

it's not that I doubt your taste or anything silly like that, it's that I trust real people that I have met more than anonymous sputnik users, and my friends overwhelming think this is a great album.

WeepingBanana
November 16th 2012



10040 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

do you trust me Aids?

auberginedreams
November 16th 2012



5983 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

"and instrumental hip-hop is made how?"

well there's the old-school method of flipping tracks, sampling vinyl, and using analogue drum machines and such, like j dilla and the like. but you're right, most modern hip-hop beats are completely electronic.

"it's not that I doubt your taste or anything silly like that, it's that I trust real people that I have met more than anonymous sputnik users, and my friends overwhelming think this is a great album."

hmm. well maybe you'll like it then. it just seems like from what i know about your taste you wouldn't really dig it, but i could be wrong.


Aids
Contributing Reviewer
November 16th 2012



23798 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

omg I love Goooooo

sorry you guys, pretty sure this rules

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
November 16th 2012



23798 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I'm all of a sudden recognizing a lot more of what FlyLo played when I saw him

TMobotron
Contributing Reviewer
November 16th 2012



7019 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's a short little EP, and it's an interesting sound even if you don't like it so there's not really a ton to lose here.

"mainstream trap beats with a few neat but ultimately superficial quirks"

It's not a deep album by any means, it's obviously aimed more at the dancefloor than anything else, but I don't think anything about this is superficial. The duo has a pretty unique sound, and I don't think it comes from superficial quirks. A lot of the aesthetic has a lot more in common with grime instrumentals than typical "trap" in my opinion, which isn't something I'm a fan of at all on its own. But I think this has a lot going for it.

But yeah the real point is, this thing is 15 minutes long, so you might as well just listen for yourself and decide if you have any interest at all.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
November 16th 2012



23798 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

yeah this is super cool, kinda pissed I missed out on Lunice's set at Rifflandia now.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
November 16th 2012



23798 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

also DJ Shadow

TMobotron
Contributing Reviewer
November 16th 2012



7019 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hudson Mohawke's discog is worth checking out if you liked this too. I think his sound comes through a lot more here at least in the overall vibe than Lunice's does, but it's clearly a joint effort.

TMobotron
Contributing Reviewer
November 16th 2012



7019 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah Fuse rules. As does Rustie. There's a few artists worth checking out in that style - Slugabed is the most obvious other artist who does hip-hop beats like that (who I know you already dig potsy), but I think that aesthetic is similar to some dubstep artists too like Joker and Gemmy.

TMobotron
Contributing Reviewer
November 16th 2012



7019 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I intentionally skipped DJ Shadow's show because someone told me he pretty much only plays his new stuff or shitty remixes of his old stuff, did I fuck up?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy