Dark Time Sunshine ANX
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Buzzkillr
July 21st 2012



1510 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

tbh I wasn't a huge fan of Vessel. There were a few very good songs, but the whole just didn't seem very focused. I feel that's been fixed with this album which is why it's one of my favorite albums of the year.

Gyromania
July 21st 2012



14652 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

love the nod to harry potter in the opening line of look at what the cat did.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
July 21st 2012



23650 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I had no idea there was a new Dark Time Sunshine album coming out. this is fabulous news.

review is probably good

Digging: Trophy Scars - Holy Vacants

FourthReich
July 21st 2012



15303 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

so this is what white people music sounds like? smh, stolid statement of the year...

Spec
July 21st 2012



26834 Comments


I'm sure this is good.

Spec
July 21st 2012



26834 Comments


Alright I wanna hear it.

Xenophanes
Emeritus
July 21st 2012



10553 Comments


Except that he didn't nail it at all. Liking music is subjective, so who cares if he ignores 'cloud rap'?...It's refreshing to have opinions that go against a consensus.


And once again I agree completely with Matt.

Digging: Saintseneca - Dark Arc

Athom
Staff Reviewer
July 21st 2012



17117 Comments



I actually agree with the notion that 2012 is the best year in hip-hop in, well, a while.


Really? there's not a single hip hop album from this year that I think is worthwhile.

Digging: Sad Lovers and Giants - Feeding the Flame

Gyromania
July 21st 2012



14652 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Cheers Xeno.

Adam: yeah, but I knew you wouldn't like this, or care much for El-P and others. I know we can agree on hip-hop (Nujabes, GZA, Dalek, etc), but we disagree just as much it seems. At least we both agree that The Money Store is pretty bad.

Lucid
Contributing Reviewer
July 21st 2012



6961 Comments


only hip-hop i've really liked this year is clams casino's second mixtape

Digging: Perfume Genius - Learning

Scoot
July 21st 2012



17486 Comments


liking this so far

DuMont
July 21st 2012



84 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Except that he didn't nail it at all. Liking music is subjective, so who cares if he ignores 'cloud rap'?...It's refreshing to have opinions that go against a consensus."

Agreed, there's also no reason not to post a review about how much you like Lil B's shit, it's not as if Sobhi is the be all and end all on Sputnik's hip-hop taste.

It does speak volumes for the genre that you can still compare/contrast such different styles of hip-hop even well over 20 years after the genre got going.

treeqt.
July 21st 2012



7848 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

don't know if someone mentioned already but it's streaming here

http://soundcloud.com/fakefour/sets/anx

Digging: Jason Lescalleet - Much to My Demise

Inveigh
July 21st 2012



24190 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

and i just mean no one but white people would listen to this.


no one but white people listen to The Black Keys either, what's your point?


I get really annoyed by people (especially white people) who say things like "ugh you need to listen to more black rappers," like your so progressive or elite because you like lil b. get over yourself

Digging: Symptom - Caverns Of Katabasis

kingsoby1
Emeritus
July 21st 2012



4830 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Elp, killer mike, dark time sunshine, billy woods, oh no, aes rock... Yep blows most years out of the water since like 06-08 with the detroit/ dilla influenced explosion

Digging: Nmesh - Dream Sequins®

Gyromania
July 21st 2012



14652 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I get really annoyed by people (especially white people)

exactly. surprised i didn't address that earlier, i thought i had.

Inveigh
July 21st 2012



24190 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

exactly and therefore the best white people don't like it

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
July 21st 2012



30298 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Still don't like "cloud rap"

Gonna face some wrath

Digging: L'Orange - The Orchid Days

Blaizend
July 21st 2012



647 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

my aoty

plane
Staff Reviewer
July 21st 2012



6073 Comments


Cloud rap as a whole is hip-hop's chilwave, yeah, bunch of artists circling a drain, but the hallmarks (808s & Dark Grapes II, mind) are seriously so good and transcend the dumb moniker. I know Sobhi rolls with Main Attrakionz, but that album deserves its fucking due as a modern classic.

Diff'rent strokes and all that, though, and to be fair Sobhi definitely backs himself up well (and the albums he likes are usually v good), I would just like to enter a conversation on good music without the year being a factor/genre as stagnating/in redemption/progression or whatever. We were excited in 2011 and for good reason (such good reason), no need for the critical hindsight wrist slap. The album is good; why?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy