Purity Ring Shrines
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
plane
Staff Reviewer
July 19th 2012


6094 Comments


i reserved playing the pre-release track too much so i wouldn't be bored of em come lp time. fineshrine is just as good tho imo

It might sound like I'm being critical of the album, but I like it for its small aspirations. I got exactly what I expected, which was initially disappointing (save for "Grandloves" male counterpoint, listening to the album in full never matched the surprise of the first listen and subsequent months overturning Ungirthed/Lofticries for great lengths) but they are really skilled and covering all their bases here in satisfying ways. Big budget pop music thoughtfully done. Lots of room to grow, so consider this a very objective love.

chambered49
July 19th 2012


1727 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

idk

chambered49
July 19th 2012


1727 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

this is catchy and sweet as cotten candy but idk

conradtao
Emeritus
July 20th 2012


2090 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Lofticries" and "Fineshrine" are the two obvious highlights for me, and the rest is all nice but a little bit forgettable. I love their production style so much that I don't mind it being samey – after all, having a tight aesthetic is really important – but the songwriting leaves something to be desired, I think..

JSSwaffy
July 23rd 2012


5 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Im in love with this one

BallsToTheWall
July 24th 2012


44360 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Obedar is going ham. I need this album.

Digging: Pharmakon - Abandon

ADAMWD
July 25th 2012


93 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Grandloves is the best song on this easily.

BallsToTheWall
July 25th 2012


44360 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Obedar is my favorite.

chambered49
July 26th 2012


1727 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

same

YankeeDudel
July 26th 2012


9313 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This gets really samey when you listen to the whole thing. Kinda lost me.

Digging: Walknut - Graveforests And Their Shadows

SYLover
July 27th 2012


4 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

*40 outstanding minutes

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
August 5th 2012


6448 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I don't see why this is so special. I like Grimes' record way better, for example. It's more inventive.

Digging: Interpol - El Pintor

conradtao
Emeritus
August 5th 2012


2090 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

There's something about how beautifully executed these tracks are, and how nicely it ties together a lot of the sounds we've been hearing recently, that makes this record supremely enjoyable...

...but not quite as a whole. Plus, there's the issue that their songwriting falls apart a little once they expand their compositions. Every prerelease song was really tightly constructed, and for me tracks like "Cartographist" don't work nearly as well. Instead of having propulsion, they float along aimlessly.

It's not nearly as striking as Visions, nor is it nearly as original, but when it succeeds – like on "Lofticries", still my favorite song of 2011 – it hits all the right spots.

plane
Staff Reviewer
August 5th 2012


6094 Comments


You gotta admire them for trying @ Cartographist

chambered49
August 5th 2012


1727 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

obedear and thats about it

someguest
August 15th 2012


20563 Comments


Why the low rating Deviant?

Kiran
Emeritus
August 19th 2012


6001 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i'm a believer

FelixCulpa
August 19th 2012


1240 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Did you catch them live at WoW Kiran? Or did you even go this year?

chtrenne
August 20th 2012


75 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Gosh... there was a LOT going on in your review and it was a little overwhelming. Your simile-to-sentence ratio was through the roof.

chtrenne
August 20th 2012


75 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Love the album, though. One of my favs of '12.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy