Tigers on Trains Foundry
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
July 21st 2012


16453 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Atlas Cedars is really starting to win my approval too. Easily my second favorite behind Mont Venoux.

Thanks Omaha, I'm glad this review inspired you.

Digging: Zella Day - Zella Day

Blaizend
July 21st 2012


647 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Brilliant follow up album, really.

When you consider Grandfather is a masterpiece of folk, it was always going to be hard to top. They almost did, but falls a little short.

Still an AOTY contender so far though.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
July 22nd 2012


16453 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Agreed.

EaglesBecomeVultures
July 23rd 2012


5255 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Is this as awesome as the first?

Digging: Iceage - Plowing Into the Field of Love

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
July 23rd 2012


16453 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's close

barcafan21
July 27th 2012


1924 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

TDAG in recs = downloading asap

Digging: Modest Mouse - The Lonesome Crowded West

Iamthe Nightstars
August 4th 2012


2286 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I kind of want to 5 this just because every song on here is as good as the last. I think as an album this is better than Grandfather in that it's more consistent, but Grandfather has a couple of songs that are a bit better than anything on here.

barcafan21
August 13th 2012


1924 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this sounds nothing like TDAG. at all

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
August 13th 2012


16453 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The vocalist sounds a lot like Jesse. The music is way more stripped down, not to mention happier.

barcafan21
August 13th 2012


1924 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

huh, i didn't notice that, but you're right. yeah, TDAG is really dense and stuff, and this is quite the opposite. also, this isnt quite as good. but almost nothing's as good as TDAG.

barcafan21
August 13th 2012


1924 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

also, i see that you also agree atlas cedars is a highlight. good boy

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
August 13th 2012


16453 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

atlas cedars is great, as is "a chain"

mont ventoux or whatever it's called is the best though.

barcafan21
August 13th 2012


1924 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Mont Venoux, and it's a higlight, but not as good as Atlas Cedars

LifeAsAChipmunk
August 13th 2012


4854 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

bump

barcafan21
August 13th 2012


1924 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

needs more bumping

Lakes.
August 14th 2012


28433 Comments


"almost nothing's as good as TDAG."

lol maybe if you've only listened to 50 albums in your life

Digging: Scott Walker and Sunn O))) - Soused

blastOFFitsPARTYtime
August 14th 2012


1477 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

sex, drugs, sausage rolls.

barcafan21
August 25th 2012


1924 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"lol maybe if you've only listened to 50 albums in your life"

nah, it's got a special place in my heart. just like you, lakes :-)

loudasallgetout
August 26th 2012


14 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Joined this site because it's pretty much the only place people are talking about this album...

At first I thought nothing could be better than grandfather and after a few listens I didn't think it was.

Now I've listened to the record around 50 times and it's still getting better and better. This is incredible.

And not enough love for the last track 'Sawmill'. The very last words are so beautiful.

Iamthe Nightstars
September 3rd 2012


2286 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The chorus of "The Chain" gets me every time.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy