Aesop Rock Skelethon
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Inveigh
July 16th 2012



24196 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

good review man, can't say I agree with most of it though

Digging: Symptom - Caverns Of Katabasis

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
July 16th 2012



9521 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9 | Sound Off

Rudy, my schedule was so tight I wasn't sure how much I could get away with. I'll come and see you next time, bud :]

Thanks Sobhi. I definitely know what you mean. I focus on the music more with his stuff, but he certainly takes a very outside-the-box method with his lyrics that can be a little hard to relate to. You think you're gonna write a review for this one?

Apollo - thanks for the kind words. And I know less about hip-hop than I'd like, so the recommended section was more or less an estimation.

Aids, thanks dude. It's definitely a fun album, exceeding my expectations. x)

And thanks guys, really appreciate it.

Digging: Koan Sound - Dynasty

kingsoby1
Emeritus
July 16th 2012



4835 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

i signed up to do it, but i'm finding it difficult to write about.

Digging: Nmesh - Dream Sequins®

daIceman
July 16th 2012



381 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

nice review omaha!

I've been listening this for a week and still I am not sure about rating... It's between 4.5-5 I think it's best Aesop LP so far even better than my favourite "None Shall Pass" plus CD cover is absolutely amazing, pure art for example I love Cancer for Cure even more than this but CD cover is neglected. This LP has
No fillers (only ZZZ Top I found a little bit boring), almost every track is unique, production is great! I am not gonna lie I was affraid because best beats on None Shall Pass were produced by Blockhead but after firstfew listens of "Skelethon" I had to admit Aesop rise as a producer during time.
Overaly superb LP this and Cancer for Cure are biggest aoty contenders for now

Emyay
July 16th 2012



4738 Comments


what came first the chicken (Aesop Rock) or the egg (A$AP Rocky)? I guess I don't really care who came first, its just annoying how similar their names are. Stupid.

Digging: Twelve Foot Ninja - Silent Machine

dnpnts
July 16th 2012



63 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

^well according to birthdates, aes is over a decade older... so I think that should answer itself

good review omaha, I agree with you. Also found this was his first album I could listen to front to back without having to return a few songs at a time just because his lyrics are so dense.. or maybe I am.



Omaha
Staff Reviewer
July 16th 2012



9521 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9 | Sound Off

Sobhi if you do get a chance to write a review for this one it would be fun to read, to offer some varying opinions on the album. :]

Thanks Iceman! Honestly I'm surprised that ZZZ Top is one of your least favorites. Honestly I don't care for its chorus at all but the verse is so memorable that I don't hold it against the song. What are a couple of your favorites?

what came first the chicken (Aesop Rock) or the egg (A$AP Rocky)? I guess I don't really care who came first, its just annoying how similar their names are. Stupid.

Rofl, this is classic.

And thanks dnpnts. It feels more focused, more concise (about 15 minutes shorter than his others) and more enjoyable overall for me. I'm glad you like it as much as I do.



Gyromania
July 16th 2012



14653 Comments


Good shit dude. Have a pos.

FromDaHood
Contributing Reviewer
July 16th 2012



8963 Comments


Damn gurl, your reviews are dope

Digging: Waxahatchee - Cerulean Salt

Inveigh
July 16th 2012



24196 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

what came first the chicken (Aesop Rock) or the egg (A$AP Rocky)?


A$AP Rocky named himself that in 2007, the same year Aesop Rock was releasing his 5th full length album...

daIceman
July 16th 2012



381 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

you're welcome omaha...

first of all I have to say I like more or less all songs but couple of my favourites are
"Cycles to Gehenna", "Leisureforce" "Ruby '81", "Crow 1 and 2" and 3 best songs are "Gopher Guts", "Tetra" and "1000 o'clock"

peace!

Emyay
July 16th 2012



4738 Comments


@Inveigh So yeah, guess that solves that one lol.

I might check this out. Sounds intriguing to say the least. I've never heard of this guy. But I don't keep my ear to the streets (signed eminem, he's triple platinum...) in hip hop these days, (i mean i just quoted Dr. Dre from like 2000) so its not really surprising.

bloc
July 16th 2012



34502 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Not the biggest fan of this dude, but this album was enjoyable.

Digging: He Is Legend - I Am Hollywood

Wolfhorde
July 16th 2012



11799 Comments


Good review. Kinda agree on the main points. Pos'd.

Xenophanes
Emeritus
July 16th 2012



10556 Comments


Very nice read. Thorough as well : )

Digging: Saintseneca - Dark Arc

Makemebad35
July 16th 2012



696 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

really liking this.

zentatonic
July 16th 2012



14 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Excellent review. Album is the tits.

Maniac!
July 16th 2012



26187 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hey guys, I'm here to overrate things some more!

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
July 16th 2012



7762 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Brandon you won't be alone NOT ON MY WATCH

Maniac!
July 16th 2012



26187 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I had this at a 4 initially


then I started liking it more



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy