Dirty Projectors Swing Lo Magellan
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
July 16th 2012



15332 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

smug doesn't define the quality of the music though

Digging: Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds - Abattoir Blues/The Lyre of Orpheus

plane
Staff Reviewer
July 16th 2012



6085 Comments


Very listenable. Bitte Orca seems their one to beat?

I mean come on guys Temecula Sunrise. Great band.

kingsoby1
Emeritus
July 16th 2012



4940 Comments


glad someone finally reviewed this. loved bitte orca.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
July 16th 2012



15332 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Temecula Sunrise is phenomenal. I like this about the same as Bitte Orca.

AggravatedYeti
July 16th 2012



7684 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Bitte Orca I'd personally give the nod if only for how ass-backwards the song composition is yet somehow it all comes together so pleasantly.

This is a lot more "traditional" if we can really refer to Swing Lo Magellan as such.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
July 16th 2012



15332 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Holy shit I just can't get over how awesome "Impregnable Question" is

Lucid
Contributing Reviewer
July 16th 2012



7021 Comments


that's the only one that gets stuck in my head

Digging: Shabazz Palaces - Lese Majesty

klap
Staff Reviewer
July 16th 2012



10258 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

same

Digging: The Bilinda Butchers - Heaven

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
July 16th 2012



15332 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

C'mon Klappy a 3.

C'mon.

Underflow
July 16th 2012



2526 Comments


It's a 2.5 at best, let's be honest.

klap
Staff Reviewer
July 16th 2012



10258 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

not a huge fan of this band man, although this is probably the most palatable thing they've done. it's good!

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
July 16th 2012



15332 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's a 2.5 at best, let's be honest.

While we're being honest, you suck. ;)

BaconCopter
July 16th 2012



9 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Just saw them on Friday, gotta say they performed the album pitch perfectly. All of the haters are deaf and dumb.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
July 16th 2012



15332 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yes it is.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
July 16th 2012



15332 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's alright I'm not offended ;)

plane
Staff Reviewer
July 16th 2012



6085 Comments


Checking out one song by Dirty Projectors doesn't really work. Took a few listens of a complete work to get the nuances present in each particular song. Otherwise it kind of sounds like gibberish.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
July 16th 2012



15332 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^yeah, and this

The main reason I'm able to enjoy them individually probably stems from the fact that I already enjoy the album as a whole so much

plane
Staff Reviewer
July 16th 2012



6085 Comments


"Stillness in a Move" was a really terrible representation of the band when it came out but in context it was kinda oh-shit.

cryMore
July 17th 2012



469 Comments


I should listen to this at some point

SwayzeFaced
July 17th 2012



349 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yes you should.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy