DIIV Oshin
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Knott-
Emeritus
July 11th 2012



10194 Comments


filtering jangly summertime pop through Instagram


gold

ZedO
July 11th 2012



1096 Comments


best summary ever..

chambered49
July 12th 2012



1727 Comments


this is sickkkkkkk

deepintheorchard
July 12th 2012



644 Comments


This is so boring. This band just plays the same recycled, cold, reverb-drenched style that so many bands are obsessed with these days. There's really nothing original or substantial here, they replace originality with atmosphere and washed out sounds. :/

808muzik
July 15th 2012



916 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Even though I 3.5'd and really like this release, the problem I find with most dream-pop is that all the songs kind of blend together, save for maybe Beach House. This will probably drop for me, because all the songs do sound the same.

Digging: MO - No Mythologies To Follow

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
July 15th 2012



7234 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Awesome review as ever. Pretty much summed up how I feel about this, only I don't like it as much as you (yet).

klap
Staff Reviewer
July 16th 2012



10000 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i was in the diveiest of dive bars yesterday afternoon and this was available on the jukebox...amazing what the internet can do

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
August 4th 2012



15693 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

more like diiviest of diiv bars holy shit how did i not think of that sooner

Digging: Nmesh - Dream Sequins® [AMDISCS]

robin
Emeritus
August 4th 2012



4221 Comments


i was in the diveiest of dive bars yesterday afternoon and this was available on the jukebox...amazing what the internet can do


don't act like it wasn't a club rudy we know you



chambered49
August 4th 2012



1727 Comments


ruylkes

Fckdfromthestart
October 5th 2012



21 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

This album is ridiculously good. From the guitar play to the light backgroundish vocals I love everything this album did. It flows so well from beginning to end...I'm very impressed.

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
December 18th 2012



14884 Comments


my school's headmaster person's son is in this band

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
January 4th 2013



23643 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

the title/cover made me think this was something completely different. I had no idea it was shoegaze/dream pop (I would have if I read the review, step off). Listening now and liking quite a bit.

Digging: Trophy Scars - Holy Vacants

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
January 14th 2013



20204 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Digging: YG - My Krazy Life

Fckdfromthestart
January 15th 2013



21 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Air Conditioning has to be one of my favorite tracks of 2012. Great review Great album.

ImmortalPaper
February 11th 2013



96 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think repetition is almost important (but not quite) to the atmosphere of this kind of music, as it
is to overall consistency in some situations. It's a lot like meditation in the sense that you can
just lose yourself in it; it feels open, as though you could explore it and yet it's not all that
complex.

At any rate though I absolutely adore this record and think it accomplishes the above quite well, and
I think that though very, very typical in sound, these guys did what everyone else did - except
better.

Digging: CunninLynguists - Strange Journey Volume Three

Ire
February 26th 2013



41453 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

onlyyy heatherrrrrr

oh wait wrong band

Point1
September 7th 2013



197 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Doused" is an amazing track but this is too repetitive.

alabasterjones
October 2nd 2013



46 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

A nice, refreshing take on shoegaze, chillwave, or whatever you wanna call this.

This guy is pretty much a clown, if you've ever read any interview of his. Or read the story about his recent arrest. But I don't think about that when I'm listening to this.

Wadlez
October 2nd 2013



3358 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yes it's very repetitive and samey.. But it hits that shoegaze kick I enjoy

Digging: Anacrusis - Screams and Whispers



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy