DIIV Oshin
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Knott-
Emeritus
July 11th 2012


10195 Comments


filtering jangly summertime pop through Instagram


gold

ZedO
July 11th 2012


1096 Comments


best summary ever..

chambered49
July 12th 2012


1727 Comments


this is sickkkkkkk

deepintheorchard
July 12th 2012


644 Comments


This is so boring. This band just plays the same recycled, cold, reverb-drenched style that so many bands are obsessed with these days. There's really nothing original or substantial here, they replace originality with atmosphere and washed out sounds. :/

808muzik
July 15th 2012


941 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Even though I 3.5'd and really like this release, the problem I find with most dream-pop is that all the songs kind of blend together, save for maybe Beach House. This will probably drop for me, because all the songs do sound the same.

Digging: Interpol - El Pintor

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
July 15th 2012


7333 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Awesome review as ever. Pretty much summed up how I feel about this, only I don't like it as much as you (yet).

klap
Staff Reviewer
July 16th 2012


10405 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i was in the diveiest of dive bars yesterday afternoon and this was available on the jukebox...amazing what the internet can do

Digging: Literature - Chorus

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
August 4th 2012


15737 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

more like diiviest of diiv bars holy shit how did i not think of that sooner

Digging: Ricky Eat Acid - Three Love Songs

robin
Emeritus
August 4th 2012


4248 Comments


i was in the diveiest of dive bars yesterday afternoon and this was available on the jukebox...amazing what the internet can do


don't act like it wasn't a club rudy we know you



chambered49
August 4th 2012


1727 Comments


ruylkes

Fckdfromthestart
October 5th 2012


21 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

This album is ridiculously good. From the guitar play to the light backgroundish vocals I love everything this album did. It flows so well from beginning to end...I'm very impressed.

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
December 18th 2012


15034 Comments


my school's headmaster person's son is in this band

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
January 4th 2013


23814 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

the title/cover made me think this was something completely different. I had no idea it was shoegaze/dream pop (I would have if I read the review, step off). Listening now and liking quite a bit.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
January 14th 2013


21904 Comments


zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Fckdfromthestart
January 15th 2013


21 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Air Conditioning has to be one of my favorite tracks of 2012. Great review Great album.

ImmortalPaper
February 11th 2013


107 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think repetition is almost important (but not quite) to the atmosphere of this kind of music, as it
is to overall consistency in some situations. It's a lot like meditation in the sense that you can
just lose yourself in it; it feels open, as though you could explore it and yet it's not all that
complex.

At any rate though I absolutely adore this record and think it accomplishes the above quite well, and
I think that though very, very typical in sound, these guys did what everyone else did - except
better.

Digging: Azizi Gibson - Backward Books

Ire
February 26th 2013


41762 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

onlyyy heatherrrrrr

oh wait wrong band

Point1
September 7th 2013


197 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Doused" is an amazing track but this is too repetitive.

alabasterjones
October 2nd 2013


62 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

A nice, refreshing take on shoegaze, chillwave, or whatever you wanna call this.

This guy is pretty much a clown, if you've ever read any interview of his. Or read the story about his recent arrest. But I don't think about that when I'm listening to this.

Wadlez
October 2nd 2013


4037 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yes it's very repetitive and samey.. But it hits that shoegaze kick I enjoy



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy