Periphery Periphery II: This Time It's Personal
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Progger6009
January 16th 2014


1130 Comments


Periphairy

TheMoreira
January 17th 2014


7183 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Perrphruies

SitarHero
January 17th 2014


4857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Purrfurry.



Wait, is it weird that I'm suddenly horny?

BigPleb
January 17th 2014


39675 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Debut is still ok but this is boring dweedle overdjenty trite.



Misha needs to actually focus on his overall songwriting as opposed to 'dwangdwangjunjunsgsisjskjs' all the time.

SitarHero
January 17th 2014


4857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Trite is an adjective, not a noun. The word you were looking for may have been 'tripe'.



And it sounds like you're equating your dislike of their riffs with bad songwriting.

BigPleb
January 17th 2014


39675 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Bad riffs = bad songwriting



Tripe or whatever the word is then, you going for contrib or something dude?

SitarHero
January 17th 2014


4857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm going for 'Speak English or die". :D



Riffs aint bad, they're just probably not your thing. I think the real problem on this album is songs don't develop. They often just go from Point A to Point B without any rhyme or reason. That's where the songwriting suffers. It's something that Åkerfeldt does too from time to time, but he's just better at developing a mood or melodic theme than Periphery has been (so far).

Vakarian12
January 17th 2014


3962 Comments


"It's something that Åkerfeldt does too from time to time"

prepare to duel

BigPleb
January 17th 2014


39675 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Don't ever bring Sir Akerfeldt up in a Periphery thread again dude! Misha has been sucking the Swedish cock for years trying to get that proggy juice from Mikael.



But yeah, its not really my 'thing' and the piss poor vocals don't help either :D

SitarHero
January 17th 2014


4857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's true though. Åkerfeldt has a shitload of cool riffs for sure, but they don't always add to the song. His songwriting occasionally(!) devolves into heavyheavyheavy->softsoftsoft->heavyheavyheavy->different heavyheavyheavy. I'm not saying it's bad. I'm just saying it's sometimes rather headscratching.



And there's plenty of sweet riffs on PII. But if you don't like frantic fretboard gymnastics then you're probably not going to like them.I still don't get why people think the vocals are piss poor though.

BigPleb
January 17th 2014


39675 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

All of his riffs when being heavy worship Morbid Angel hard and rule. Bet Misha and co haven't even heard Altars damn :[



There are a couple of times where I'm like 'nice', but then Spencer comes in with his "HIGHHHH PITTTCHHHEDDD ANNOYINGGG VOICCCEE" and disgraceful lows and I'm left feeling empty.

SitarHero
January 17th 2014


4857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fair enough. But I don't think 'the notez themselves are gay' is really a criticism.

Diglett
January 17th 2014


1525 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

its not, but every user's opinion on this site should be taken with a shitton of salt anyway

CalculatingInfinity
January 17th 2014


1998 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

It is Sput after all.

TheMoreira
January 17th 2014


7183 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

MY OPINION IS VALID



inb4 4.5 asking alexandria lol yea right faget

Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
January 17th 2014


15738 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

4.5 asking alexandria lol yea right faget

Digging: Vril - Portal

titanslayer
January 17th 2014


2167 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

4.5 asking alexandria lol yea right faget [2]

Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
January 17th 2014


15738 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Ah-ah, only I can diss Moreira.

TheSlenderMan
January 17th 2014


606 Comments


Who wants to fuck?

titanslayer
January 17th 2014


2167 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Ah-ah, only I can diss Moreira. [2]



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy