Icarus the Owl Love Always, Leviathan
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
loveisamixtape
July 8th 2012



5782 Comments


finally started listening to this. i'm on track 3

it kind of takes a second to get used to but it's cool, I guess. it's definitely catchy

D41V30N
July 10th 2012



949 Comments


great album, but the vocalist is fucking annoying at times with his over punkiness or whatever

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
July 10th 2012



9467 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2 | Sound Off

glad you guys enjoy it. It's funny, the reaction the singer's gotten - when I listened to this album a few times I didn't hear anything that I thought people would dislike. :P

Digging: Koan Sound - Dynasty

D41V30N
July 10th 2012



949 Comments


in some songs, he's quite great. like on "Love Always, Leviathan". but for example, in the opening track, he's kinda annoying.

ProjectFreak
July 11th 2012



1152 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i've heard people say they didn't dig the vocalist, i don't mind him at all. nothing to write home about but he seems like he fits the band well enough.

Digging: The Hotelier - Home, Like NoPlace Is There

LifeAsAChipmunk
July 11th 2012



4854 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I'm not huge on his vocals. I actually find it frustrating, the synergy between the instruments and vocals always seems shaky. The instruments themselves are also frustrating because they always seem like they should go out and do some awesome riff or solo, but they don't and in some of tracks they seem like they are repeating the same guitar lines.

Nomos
July 30th 2012



745 Comments


Still haven't stopped listening. Grows on you.

pappadj
August 3rd 2012



3 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

To me their previous album was a bit more accessible and had more catchy riffs.... however, it took me a few plays to realize the more I tried to contain them in what I'm used to and box them in some typical 4/4 sequence subconsciously, the more I wasn't paying attention to the music. Their style and harmonics is unique and fresh. It pairs well with Circa Survive, Into It Over It, Joyce Manor, even Minus The Bear. But once again, the more I wanted to know who they sounded like, the more I was missing the music. Sometimes it is difficult to hear something that may be considered pop, math, punk, et all and call it something between kick ass jams and melodic brilliance. Excellent review and awesome band. Saw them live at the Canal Club in Richmond and talked to many of the members for a while... I felt like an instant ITO Fanboy and couldn't help it.

Grab this album and the last and you won't be disappointed. The band is cool enough to let you snag these 2 and their LP on their site but chip in some money for these guys... they aren't sell outs and they have tons of talent (the show was brilliant).

Promote it if you dig it!

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
August 7th 2012



3005 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This album is fantastic. Only problems are the lyrics and the band trying too hard to have weird time signatures IMO

Digging: Todd Terje - It's Album Time

ProjectFreak
August 8th 2012



1152 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"still need to hear this if only because of the cover"
i love it, it's the wallpaper on my phone

trilogique21
August 10th 2012



340 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

same bro

Calc
August 19th 2012



10832 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

that one song....Love Always, Leviathan, is like the most nostalgia inducing song i've heard in a hot minute. Especially the intro

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
August 19th 2012



9467 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2 | Sound Off

It's funny that despite the first sentence here, I may very well end up majoring in marketing.

Spluger
August 31st 2012



1001 Comments


I've listened to Nuclear Towns and it's a REALLY good song but at the same time I really want to hate it for some reason even though I love it.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
August 31st 2012



9467 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2 | Sound Off

Well, I'm sorry about that...

Spluger
August 31st 2012



1001 Comments


lolol it's a great song though. It's in my head pretty constantly and I'm pretty much past that now.

Ecnalzen
September 13th 2012



5848 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Listening to the album right now. Holy crap, it's good.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
September 13th 2012



9467 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2 | Sound Off

I definitely agree with you guys about the band trying too hard to have weird time signatures, but even if it doesn't always flow well this album is so great.

MuhNamesTyler
September 23rd 2012



3003 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Wow, this is so good.

truekebabpower
September 23rd 2012



639 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yup



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy