Gojira L'Enfant Sauvage
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
June 20th 2012


2135 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Good review, Xeno. I pretty much agree. Also I don't really see anything that great about Mouth of Kala. Yeah, I said it.



This album is similar to The Link in that it's just raw. Though The Link had some cool tribal instruments thrown in for good measure, whereas this just feels a bit flat at points. That's what happens with the Gojira groove, though. It monotones out well before the album's over. With the exception of From Mars to Sirius.



Was thinking about reviewing this, but idk now that there's two good reviews already.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
June 20th 2012


16780 Comments


This band is decent but I've never really been amazed by anything I've heard by them, so I will likely skip this. Great review Xeno.

Manic_
June 20th 2012


447 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I cannot fathom where you hear this 'complexity.' While this record is indeed more complex than the rest of their discog, I would never say that it is inherently complex.


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b0zcMUQM3hg



the opening riff is in 13/16 the verse alternates between 8ths and 16ths with four 8ths and four 16ths thats 12/16 or 6/8. I cant be bothered to count the instrumental part but the tremolo picking section alternates between 2 different timings and ends in 4/4 then goes back to the 12/16 riff. Its no Meshuggah but the complexity is there when compared to most metal.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
June 20th 2012


7517 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

^Exactly. From the perspective of a guitarist, many parts of this disc are mindblowingly difficult to play.

Digging: Clarence Clarity - No Now

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
June 20th 2012


2135 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

I don't really see this as more complex than anything they've done previously, to be quite frank.



And I say that as a guitarist.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
June 20th 2012


7517 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@AtomicWaste:

Yeah, but it doesn't negate the fact this stuff is (still) complex progressive metal. The point that was argued by the reviewer.



@Xenophanes:

Ah. Really? Come on. Complexity = weird time signatures in this case.



AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
June 20th 2012


2135 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Well, to be honest, this is pretty stripped down for Gojira. I would have made the same point.

Listening to From Mars to Sirius and The Way of All Flesh makes it overly abundant.

The Link is sort of on the fence. Again, that album was really kind of raw, just like this one,

but it had a lot of those weird tribal instruments peppered in.



I just don't feel like this is on par with the complexity of either of those albums. The time

signatures are there in all of their stuff, so it doesn't really change things.

Manic_
June 20th 2012


447 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

In which sputnik users once again mistake complexity with weird time signatures.


so odd groupings and changes of notes aren't complex? I doubt anyone in the academia world would say they agree but along with the polyrhythms and Meshuggah-esque drum syncopation ideas in their music I'd like to know how it isn't complex.

zaruyache
June 20th 2012


9255 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

4.1/5? I listened through a good deal of this record casually and didn't find it that great at all. Should probably try that again.

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
June 20th 2012


2135 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

There's nothing complex about time signatures.



Syncopation and polyrhythms, maybe, but time signatures any monkey with a 7th grade level conception of math can work out.

Manic_
June 20th 2012


447 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

There's nothing complex about time signatures.


never said it was, all music is in some type of time. its the usage of many different time signatures, odd meter changes and unusual note groupings that make it complex. Isn't Meshuggah considered complex for the same reason?

Kole
June 20th 2012


205 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Not as good as their last albums, They tried to take away the heaviness in order to change up their sound. Although Gojiras combo of grove and heaviness is what they had going for them. Album still good though.

YankeeDudel
June 21st 2012


9335 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Didnt like it as much as their last 2 but still a fun listen.



Def get an Anders vibe too Capt.

Digging: A Certain Ratio - To Each...

W477ZY
June 21st 2012


67 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I was just sold the special edition at my local store (didn't think it was officially out yet, not going to complain). For anyone tossing up between the two, the bonus tracks are better than most tracks on the standard.

BigPleb
June 21st 2012


41688 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Why does everyone bash the title track? It rules.

NonApplicable
June 21st 2012


2142 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

So MUCH wrong in the first paragraph...

BlackLlama
June 21st 2012


1762 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm going to agree with the reviewer on this one. The album is certainly well done, but there are a few moments where I was dying for a absolutely balls out solo. Something bluesy and soul piercing and at the end, I was just left wanting. It's still good stuff, but there's only so many arpeggio pick sweep harmonics a man can take.



Also, excellent review, have a pos!

MO
June 21st 2012


19734 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"4.1/5?"



don't blow your load it won't stay at that

MyWife
June 21st 2012


367 Comments


this ones a grower this might overtake sputnik charts one day

Emyay
June 21st 2012


6156 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I can't remember which track it is (maybe mouth of kala), but there's these few instances of muted power chords (i guess) and shit stops for a second and gets fast again. Sounded so damn good in my car this morning. Shit was so boomy and bassy. And sexy. Its weird, I've always considered myself a gojira fan, but then i'm looking at some of these comments...And yeah, i've never really been able to sit through an entire album from them. Gojira has always been about the jamz for me.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy