Gojira L'Enfant Sauvage
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Xenophanes
Emeritus
June 20th 2012



10585 Comments


" just feel like their drums / guitars have a sludge vibe to them. this doesn't sound like what i would expect from progressive death metal

@greg, i listened to the title track, and is definitely within the same bpm realm as guys like high on fire. it's definitely not atmospheric sludge / post-metal if that's what you're thinking i'm saying.




aka Staff Musings About Metal, Part I"


Fucking dying



Digging: United Nations - The Next Four Years

greg84
Staff Reviewer
June 20th 2012



7317 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yep. Groove metal seems more appropriate (aside from prog metal tag).

Digging: Dog Fashion Disco - Sweet Nothings

kingsoby1
Emeritus
June 20th 2012



4940 Comments


i dont know about that

Parallels
June 20th 2012



6640 Comments


indie metal

rofl

YankeeDudel
June 20th 2012



9305 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Gojira transcends labels

Digging: Bedhead - WhatFunLifeWas

Emethyst
June 20th 2012



25 Comments


"This isn't sludgy at all, it's groove metal."

One of the better descriptions in my opinion from what I have heard of it so far.

MO
June 20th 2012



18257 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

progroosive

Digging: Immolation - Dawn of Possession

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
June 20th 2012



1981 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Good review, Xeno. I pretty much agree. Also I don't really see anything that great about Mouth of Kala. Yeah, I said it.

This album is similar to The Link in that it's just raw. Though The Link had some cool tribal instruments thrown in for good measure, whereas this just feels a bit flat at points. That's what happens with the Gojira groove, though. It monotones out well before the album's over. With the exception of From Mars to Sirius.

Was thinking about reviewing this, but idk now that there's two good reviews already.

Digging: Rx Bandits - Gemini, Her Majesty

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
June 20th 2012



16263 Comments


This band is decent but I've never really been amazed by anything I've heard by them, so I will likely skip this. Great review Xeno.

Digging: Ulver - Bergtatt

Manic_
June 20th 2012



447 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I cannot fathom where you hear this 'complexity.' While this record is indeed more complex than the rest of their discog, I would never say that it is inherently complex.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b0zcMUQM3hg

the opening riff is in 13/16 the verse alternates between 8ths and 16ths with four 8ths and four 16ths thats 12/16 or 6/8. I cant be bothered to count the instrumental part but the tremolo picking section alternates between 2 different timings and ends in 4/4 then goes back to the 12/16 riff. Its no Meshuggah but the complexity is there when compared to most metal.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
June 20th 2012



7317 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

^Exactly. From the perspective of a guitarist, many parts of this disc are mindblowingly difficult to play.

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
June 20th 2012



1981 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

I don't really see this as more complex than anything they've done previously, to be quite frank.

And I say that as a guitarist.

Xenophanes
Emeritus
June 20th 2012



10585 Comments


In which sputnik users once again mistake complexity with weird time signatures.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
June 20th 2012



7317 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@AtomicWaste:
Yeah, but it doesn't negate the fact this stuff is (still) complex progressive metal. The point that was argued by the reviewer.

@Xenophanes:
Ah. Really? Come on. Complexity = weird time signatures in this case.


AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
June 20th 2012



1981 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Well, to be honest, this is pretty stripped down for Gojira. I would have made the same point.
Listening to From Mars to Sirius and The Way of All Flesh makes it overly abundant.
The Link is sort of on the fence. Again, that album was really kind of raw, just like this one,
but it had a lot of those weird tribal instruments peppered in.

I just don't feel like this is on par with the complexity of either of those albums. The time
signatures are there in all of their stuff, so it doesn't really change things.

Manic_
June 20th 2012



447 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

In which sputnik users once again mistake complexity with weird time signatures.

so odd groupings and changes of notes aren't complex? I doubt anyone in the academia world would say they agree but along with the polyrhythms and Meshuggah-esque drum syncopation ideas in their music I'd like to know how it isn't complex.

zaruyache
June 20th 2012



5891 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

4.1/5? I listened through a good deal of this record casually and didn't find it that great at all. Should probably try that again.

Digging: Sunwolf - Beholden To Nothing And No One

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
June 20th 2012



1981 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

There's nothing complex about time signatures.

Syncopation and polyrhythms, maybe, but time signatures any monkey with a 7th grade level conception of math can work out.

Manic_
June 20th 2012



447 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

There's nothing complex about time signatures.

never said it was, all music is in some type of time. its the usage of many different time signatures, odd meter changes and unusual note groupings that make it complex. Isn't Meshuggah considered complex for the same reason?

Kole
June 20th 2012



169 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Not as good as their last albums, They tried to take away the heaviness in order to change up their sound. Although Gojiras combo of grove and heaviness is what they had going for them. Album still good though.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy