The Clash Sandinista!
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
September 16th 2012


2389 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This album is good but it goes on for way too long. The influences are also more than a little prominent here, but I feel as if it takes away from The Clash's signature sound, that they created on their first few albums.

Digging: Impetuous Ritual - Blight Upon Martyred Sentience

Oceania
March 17th 2013


18 Comments


This looks like the kind of album that requires a serious commitment. The review was good, and it makes me curious to listen to it. Unfortunately, it seems that no review can do such a long album justice.

Seriously, a triple album??

clercqie
March 18th 2013


6519 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

As the review says, split up into 6 parts it really makes sense.

Sleaper
June 25th 2013


3480 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

hoooooooly crap, i just discovered this. junco partner is fucking amazing.

pshowisitto
June 23rd 2015


7 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sort through all the rubbish and there is about 1 1/2 sides of classic Clash.

doctorjimmy
June 12th 2016


385 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

incrediblyoverlyoverlonglylongly long but a great release at the same time. I would have it at a 4 but the 6th side (Living In Fame-Sepherd's Delight) really sucks ass. It's mostly a bunch of uninteresting jams, plus two re-recordings of already released songs (Junco's Partner, Career Opportunities, to be exact) Not to mention some filler found on the other sides as well. Could have been fuckin' amazing. Instead it feels somewhat bloated :/

Maco097
August 27th 2016


2291 Comments


Don't click on the tracklist.

Jeffrulesyou
December 8th 2016


1839 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sandanista! is a gold mine. Once you're familiar with the record, break it into parts. Then you take the best parts and make a great album.

cor22222
April 15th 2017


147 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Overproduced album. Couple songs are good, rest of them are crap and summary this during over 2,2 hours.

Digging: Lorde - Melodrama

butcherboy
April 15th 2017


1945 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It'll take you a dozen committed listens over three years to boil this mess down to its six good track.. Charlie Don't Surf is a helluva tune though..

Jeffrulesyou
April 15th 2017


1839 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You ain't wrong.. takes time.. but hey it's been 20 years 0.0

1.Mag Seven

2.Junco

3.Bullets

4.The Call Up

5.Kingston

6.Murdered

7.One More Time

8.Police

9.Heaven

10.Corner Soul

11.Charlie

12.Watlz

13.Sinners

14.England

15.Version Pardner (the only dub version I think is necessary)

Some of these can be cut, but that's how I've been listening to it for a long time.

Source
April 15th 2017


1375 Comments


Yeah this has always been pretty much impossible for me to get through all the way.

Jeffrulesyou
April 15th 2017


1839 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This should have been a single disk..the clash didn't want that.. they wanted to stick it to the man; while I can appreciate that, but it's really hard to sit through every side. There are quite a few great a+ clash tunes on here imo

butcherboy
April 15th 2017


1945 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'd trim a couple more, but yea, that's very very solid.. cheers!

Jeffrulesyou
April 15th 2017


1839 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

No problem!

I'm being a little generous with my list, but in reality you're probably best capping at 12 tracks.. I think. I know there's a few songs that people are on the fence about 'the call up' etc, but I dig a little extra.

butcherboy
April 15th 2017


1945 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I don't know.. I realise that this band has objectively a very very spotty catalog.. but at the same time, I'm always willing to cut them a little slack..

Jeffrulesyou
April 15th 2017


1839 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Gotcha, for me; It only gets spotty after London Calling.



onionbubs
April 15th 2017


5710 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i don't think it should've been a single disc but i wouldn't complain if the reversed and dub versions were gone tbh



there was a promo thing called sandinista now that djs and reviewers got i think that was basically a single disc version

Digging: Captain, We're Sinking - The King of No Man

Jeffrulesyou
April 16th 2017


1839 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ya I saw that, pretty cool!

It's just a very hard record to approach if you're not fully familiar with it and honestly after listening to it for years.. I'm clocking in at an hour roughly. For the life of me I never could justify 2 hours of Sandinista. The dubs are unnecessary numbers (almost as if they had a checklist of every single sound/style they wanted to do here) maybe too ambitious y'know?.. and it's weird because if you break it down you have a very very good album with I want to say at least 10 awesome cuts. I love the Clash and I've been a fan since the 80s, but I have a tough time here.

onionbubs
April 16th 2017


5710 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

to get in what i did was listen to each side and hen take a short break before diving into the next one giving myself more time to process what i'd heard making it a slightly less overwhelming listen



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy