Memphis May Fire Challenger
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
NonApplicable
June 19th 2012


2012 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This reminds me of the hype train "The Flood" had last year.

Anyone giving this a 5/5 had better check themselves.

YankeeDudel
June 19th 2012


9313 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Well its the same with every new album. The ratings are always higher in the beginning because most of the big fans rate first and they obviously tend to overrate. Then over time some people will naturally lower their ratings if the album grows off them or doesnt have much replay value. I mean I cant see this album being a grower or anything. You either like it or you dont.

Digging: Taj Mahal Travellers - August 1974

NonApplicable
June 19th 2012


2012 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I'm not a fan of this particular execution of metalcore but... I gave this album a 3 because I can
appreciate what they are doing musically. I stray from giving UTTERLY generic albums anything above a
3.5 because, I can get the same experience elsewhere. I'm not saying generic is an automatic failure,
but the best bands provide something that no other group can. People tend to overate in general
because they don't understand the weight/quality behind an album that deserves a 4/5(or higher).

ChuckyTruant
June 19th 2012


15725 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Album art alone warrants minus .5 from your original rating

vakuola
June 19th 2012


276 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Challenger by Knut is way better.

Devastator
June 19th 2012


2513 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Awesome album, awesome review.

Toadstool
June 19th 2012


136 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

MMF is the perfect "generic" metalcore band in my mind. Great singing, well-executed screams, catchy/techy/melodic guitar patterns, sexy bass tone, tight drumming, and they can all pull it off LIVE!! Who said generic is always a bad thing? I know for a damn fact that AC/DC never gave a shit about what people portrayed generic as!

Shiduba
June 19th 2012


424 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Toadstool is spot on.

The Hollow was the PERFECT risecore album in my opinion, and my expectations were sky high. I'm not sure if Challenger met those expectations, but there's no denying this album also destroys.

taxidermist
June 19th 2012


7212 Comments


Lmao

BurnedBlack606
June 19th 2012


408 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

First song was boring as fuck...hope this gets better

TBliss2
June 19th 2012


504 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Just finished my first listen. First impressions is this is nowhere near The Hollow.

BurnedBlack606
June 19th 2012


408 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I honestly had to fast forward through a few songs. Boring boring boring. Vessels was my favorite. 2.5-3/5

I'm also pretty sure I didn't miss anything on those few fast forwards, when every single track followed the exacct same verse-chorus-verse-chorus-BREAKDOWN structure.

wacknizzle
June 19th 2012


13683 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This review is too long for what it is, you spent way too much time talking about genericism and trying to defend this album by admitting the song structures are generic but well done; which you could have plainly said without the useless overworded first paragraph. The rest of the review is pretty good though.

Digging: Phobocosm - Deprived

ChuckyTruant
June 19th 2012


15725 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

the bass tone is nice

Scoot
June 19th 2012


17914 Comments


boring

Digging: Renounced - The Melancholy We Ache

ChuckyTruant
June 19th 2012


15725 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

enjoyable

wacknizzle
June 19th 2012


13683 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I've listened to a couple tracks so far, the dude's singing voice is really good and there were a couple sick riffs. Not sure if it's my thing tho, I might download it for the hell of it, if it's not good ill just delete.

ChuckyTruant
June 19th 2012


15725 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah just download it anyway wack. MMF is a good band, just pure fun

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
June 19th 2012


22047 Comments


if this is anything close to a 4.5 I'll be amazed

Digging: Andy Stott - Faith in Strangers

wacknizzle
June 19th 2012


13683 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Ughhhhhhhhhhhh, this is weak sauce but ill give it a try, I usually listen to a song or 2 from these kind of bands on occasion.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy