The Smashing Pumpkins Oceania
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
oWhoadYo
June 18th 2012


1242 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Jviney is pretty much the best writer on the site

I'd give that to Adam Downer... I've always really liked his reviews, because he actually talks about the music and informs people about the album's style.

Apollo
June 18th 2012


10336 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

stop being a little bitch because someone wrote a better review than you OWhoadYo

oWhoadYo
June 18th 2012


1242 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Don't believe I am. Just have always thought Adam does a very nice job with his reviews. No need to use profanities, Costanza certainly doesn't deserve that.

I find it sad that 2 people negged my review just because they are sticking up for JViney. I'm not complaining about being negged, I don't mind, but the fact that they did it without stating a reason for their distaste. I really like criticism, as does everyone, anything to make my reviews better I suppose. So whoever negged my Oceania review, please tell what you didn't like about it. Thank you.

Samizdat
June 18th 2012


301 Comments


LOL

I agree with Costanza in that Mr. Downer is pretty consistently entertaining with his reviews. Lots of allusion and self-aware shiiiiiit.

Y'all niggas got chips on yo's shoulders. This review isn't that special. It's Staff. And there's a time and a place to bow to the Man, yeah, but it's not on the goddamned internet, and especially not on a goddamned music review website so far past its peak that the collective energy of its members reeks of pimple juice and pizza.

oWhoadYo
June 18th 2012


1242 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hahaha.


Why isn't Samizdat staff? This guy's awesome. He speaketh the truth and junk. Just because Jviney's staff, doesn't mean all his reviews are great, but I'm sure some have been. To be honest, His Oceania review is the worst out of the three. The best is AShoegazer's. It's actually really good. I advise people to read it. Mine of course being second best.... :D

Oh and I've now received a 3rd neg without reason.

Samizdat
June 18th 2012


301 Comments


In a past life I actually wanted to go for Staff, or Contributor, or something. I wrote reviews on a regular basis. Now I'm just a bored itinerant summer lurker-alt.



bandontherum
June 18th 2012


5 Comments


My review can beat up your review!!!!!!!!!!1

Wizard
June 18th 2012


19524 Comments


You hardly even reviewed the album. All you did was talk about the band, how does that summarize or help people understand the album? It doesn't. Plus everyone already knows the shit you said, that's why they are here. Plus, you said practically the same things I said, but my review went into more
detail.


Actually, you have this backwards. You see, talking about the band actually helped me realize that I will most likely hate this album like I have the past few by SP. Your review is too nitty-gritty with the detail and thus brings to mind the abbreviation TL,DR or Too Long, Don't Read.



Digging: Godflesh - A World Lit Only By Fire

oWhoadYo
June 18th 2012


1242 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thank you Wizard for the criticism. So I should stop talking about the music and talk more about the
band's history, while shortening my reviews? Sounds pretty stupid but I will consider it while writing
my next review. Thank you.

And it's actually To Long, DIDN'T Read...

joesmoe4000
June 18th 2012


371 Comments


don't believe the hype this isn't bad by any means but nothing special pumpkins have been dead since
after adore.is it me or do some of these songs sound to poppy/happy that really turned me off about
this album.


Digging: Cozz - Cozz & Effect

vkissas
June 19th 2012


1 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i am a pumpkins fun for more than 10 years i am 24 now and oceania is a descent follow up to adore this album is a straight 3.5 not more not less some old writing techniques here and there siamese dream esque...corgan deserves a chance but he needs to understand where he stands now and how the music industry has changed he is important to alternative music history and pumpkins deserve a place in hall of fame for their first 4 records..you can compare oceania to the new silversun pickups record the latter one is darker

TheMilQ
June 19th 2012


57 Comments


this high rated for a SP album? checking it out this week.

ElMusiScience
June 19th 2012


20 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Liked it a lot more than I expected to. Very good album in my opinion.

D41V30N
June 19th 2012


949 Comments


This is unexpectedly good.

omnipanzer
June 19th 2012


21621 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I need to listen again but I don't think it's as good as some are saying. I do however think it is a pretty good album.

Digging: We Were Promised Jetpacks - Unravelling

Thane
June 19th 2012


2173 Comments


after hearing violet rays i'm actually interested in this. you could say i'm surprised.

Digging: John Galm - Sky of No Stars

PuddlesPuddles
June 19th 2012


4786 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Zeitgeist had, at least, interestingly awesome drumming that warranted playback. This is too weird for me to revisit often. I can't place why, exactly. Would be great if he just went solo and put out material like Adore and acoustic Disarm-y type things.



xfearbefore
June 19th 2012


1245 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

So this is pretty awesome actually. The second half slays in particular. The title track or "Pale Horse" might be my favorite.

Hopelust
June 20th 2012


1083 Comments


I've only heard half the album at this point and it's glorious.

so glorious.

Hopelust
June 20th 2012


1083 Comments


"Zeitgeist had, at least, interestingly awesome drumming that warranted playback. This is too weird for me to revisit often. I can't place why, exactly. Would be great if he just went solo and put out material like Adore and acoustic Disarm-y type things."

...did you not hear Corgan's solo album?

Not so glorious.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy