Future of the Left The Plot Against Common Sense
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
imjustthatcool
June 27th 2012


43 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

but I like my bombastic crap!

Kingdok
July 6th 2012


33 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The more I hear the Billy Corgan line, the funnier it gets. Made me laugh out loud driving home today!

DuMont
July 15th 2012


84 Comments


Bumping for the Nathan Barley reference. Great review, great album. Keep it dense yeah.

cumverg
July 26th 2012


35 Comments


This was an outstanding review.

TMobotron
Contributing Reviewer
November 19th 2012


7133 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

They absolutely destroyed live tonight.

ButteryBiscuitBass
November 19th 2012


10049 Comments


They destroyed it when I saw them in 2010 and I met Falco! CUM FACE.

RosaParks
December 18th 2012


14927 Comments


i hope this isn't the future of liberalism

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
December 21st 2012


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Pretty good, if not as strong as 'Travels With Myself And Another'. Then again, if you take just the best 33 minutes, it might be.

After adding a 2nd guitarist, Welsh rockers Future of the Left concerned fans with a haphazard teaser EP in late 2011... Thankfully, only 1 of those tracks has made it to the quartet's strong 3rd LP 'The Plot Against Common Sense'. Carrying a fuller sound with an infusion of synths, this is the band's most diverse record, if a little unfocused for it. The throbbing riffs & bass-lines return, as does Andy Falkous' cynical & humorous battering of pop culture. Unfortunately, the relentless intensity gets a little exhausting over the 50 minute duration. Recommended Tracks: Notes on Achieving Orbit, I Am the Least of Your Problems, Polymers Are Forever & Failed Olympic Bid.

Cygnatti
December 21st 2012


21353 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

agreed

roverspun
February 4th 2013


18 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Best Falkous since Do Dallas.

jefflebowski
May 29th 2013


8253 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

http://www.pledgemusic.com/projects/futureoftheleft

pledge pledge fucking pledge

Cygnatti
May 29th 2013


21353 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Great album, man.

Havey
July 3rd 2013


9711 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

eh

Cygnatti
July 3rd 2013


21353 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Dam.

sulkenigma
July 3rd 2013


62 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I was very pleasantly surprised to see a Nathan Barley reference for a change! I've only just heard of these guys when I read an interview with Mike Vennart from Oceansize. I tracked down that hilarious blog post after reading the pitchfork review before even finishing the first paragraph of this review (notwithstanding, my attention span is neither low nor fruitcake splenda mildew.)

After hearing 'Sheena is a T-Shirt Salesman' and 'Robocop 4...', it seems that this sort of music is sincerely intelligent without having any 'thinking man's rock band' attachments due to perceived fatuitous philosophical ambiguity in the lyrics (and yes, I wanted to use the word fatuitous in a vain attempt to sound more intellectual.)

As I've never listened to FotL or Mclusky, at which of their albums would you recommend beginning?

deathschool
January 14th 2014


9072 Comments


A failed olympic bid leaves some kids so upset, they can't forget.

Digging: Look What I Did - Zanzibar III: Analog Prison

deathschool
January 14th 2014


9072 Comments


Damn. I'm trying to not form an opinion so fast, but this might be the best band ever.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy