The Smashing Pumpkins Oceania
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Apollo
June 13th 2012



10263 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

good review, great album...my rating will change btw but I had to give it a 5 because

SCREAMorphine
June 13th 2012



1751 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Can't wait to give this a listen, Billy and his new gang sound great both live and in the studio.

Got my hands on a ticket for a show in August.

Review wasn't bad, I'd believe everything you wrote.

Good job, Pos.

Storm In A Teacup
June 13th 2012



12687 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

finding a way to make a loss seem new

WhiteNoise
June 13th 2012



3037 Comments


Love what I've heard from this but the review reads far too fanboy...

Digging: Dot Hacker - How's Your Process? (Work)

DoctorNurse
June 13th 2012



475 Comments


It's also up far too early. Album has been out for less than a day.

oWhoadYo
June 13th 2012



1224 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've been listening to it a lot. Your point?

Tyrael
June 13th 2012



20724 Comments


This is not too bad

floateruk
June 13th 2012



1 Comments


Special K is a term for the drug Ketamine. I'm on my first listen now so I don't know what the premise of the song is, so it may not be....

sublimefan1991
June 13th 2012



753 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

i think all this talk of a new lineup is overrated. i mean, yea the drumming will be perhaps noticeably different and they'll sound different live, but billy corgan's still the sole creative force in the band, as he was for all their critically-favored records (with the exception of some b-sides and the rare lp track written by another band member). so, yea, they have a new guitarist, but i guarantee billy recorded all the guitars himself on this record, and likely a good portion, if not all, of the bass, as he has in the past. so i don't see how a new live lineup should somehow lead people to believe that it's some whole new band on this record.

ThroneOfAgony
June 13th 2012



3485 Comments


Great review. I love these guys and need to check this out

ThroneOfAgony
June 13th 2012



3485 Comments


hey bby

SiameseInfinity
June 13th 2012



20 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Great review, can't wait to hear it.
X

DoctorNurse
June 13th 2012



475 Comments


I've been listening to it a lot. Your point?


point being that even if you listened to it 100 times since the stream it still seems like such a short space of time to properly form an opinion

oWhoadYo
June 13th 2012



1224 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Rise, Love is here"

RosaParks
June 13th 2012



14592 Comments


some of these songs are really good and some of them are just awful idk what to do

Two-Headed Boy
June 13th 2012



4527 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review man. Ol' Corgie's been hit and miss since Adore (liked the Machinas, tolerated Zwan and TbK, hated ZG and
TFE), but this is truly a return to form. I'm proud to be a Pumpkins fan again. Love it

Panopticon, The Celestials (yes, even with the Special K line), and the last four tracks are fantastic, easily my favorite
things that Corgan has done in 14 years. And, shockingly, there really isn't a bad tune in the bunch.

Storm In A Teacup
June 13th 2012



12687 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"bass is noticeably better, almost as if a bassist wrote and recorded the parts"

This

JohnnyBiggs
June 13th 2012



61 Comments


Sorry to say, but this album isn't doing it for me. There are some highlights here and there, but I truly believe Billy has lost it. The line-up change doesn't matter, this was always BC's show. And am I the only one that noticed how low-rent this album sounds? Normally I wouldn't care but the Smashing Pumpkins are known for being grandiose and big. Oceania is a disappointment for me. Good review nonetheless.

Graveyard
June 13th 2012



5595 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

decent review

cinaedus
June 13th 2012



26297 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this just keeps getting better

Digging: Anberlin - Lowborn



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy