Radiohead OK Computer
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DarthMann
June 9th 2012



13612 Comments


Ok here we go

You - One of the heaviest songs on the album, this song gets the album started off with a bang...The song is built around Selway’s drum loops

Med - This is one of the heavier songs on here musically, with the track being heavily based over Phil Selway's cut up drum loops.



You - Some people call it a modern day “Bohemian Rhapsody”,

Med - Although many songs have been described as a "modern day Bohemian Rhapsody",




You - Mellow and relaxing after the heavy ending of “Paranoid Android”

Med - Far mellower than the previous 2 songs,




You - was actually on the soundtrack for the movie Romeo and Juliet


Med - This is featured on the Romeo and Juliet soundtrack, and is perfect for this role

You - At around the 2:45 mark, the band comes in, with a fuzzy bass-line being the loudest instrument.

Med - However, it's at about 2:45 that the song takes off, when Phil Selway enters followed by electronic distortion over the vocals.

You - The lyrics make very little sense, which serve a precursor to the odd lyrics we would get on Kid A, and are also very dark, in comparison to the cheerful music

Med - The vocals are some of the least understandable on the album, although they are far darker, with lines such as "Don't talk sentimental, it always ends up drivel" coming over the top of another more cheerful musical backing

You - This is a true live anthem that everyone and anyone can like,

Med - It's a true live anthem, and a fan favourite

You - which is less of a song and more of a list-poem being read by an automated voice over random piano notes

Med - It's not a song, so much as a list poem read through a computer programme to remove all emotion from it.


DarthMann
June 9th 2012



13612 Comments






You - It serves its purpose perfectly, but as a song on its own it can only get 2.5/5.


Med - and gets 5/5 for fulfilling it's purpose, but only 2/5 for existing as a song.




You - The most straightforward song on the album,


Med - he most straightforward rock song on here



You - The song is about politicians running for office and saying whatever is necessary to get themselves elected. It features some good lyrics, as Thom snarls, “I trust I can rely on your vote,”


Med - he lyrics attack politicians, and their inability to stick to any principles, with lines such as "I trust I can rely on your vote".






You - can be attributed to the man many call the 6th member of Radiohead, Nigel Godrich


Med - credited to Nigel Godrich, the producer, who is often described as the 6th member of Radiohead.





You - The lyrics deal with mental illness, and are quite depressing.


Med - The lyrics are truly horrible, and deal with mental illnes


You - almost like a lullaby.

Med - this is a Radiohead-style lullaby

There is most likely more, but i cant be fucked looking.
thats an awful lot of coincedences

jefflebowski
June 9th 2012



7548 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

that's pretty damning

Digging: Flying Lotus - Cosmogramma

auberginedreams
June 9th 2012



6028 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

first of all darthmann, calm down. second, radiohead are fine, i actually have a decent amount of
respect for what they do musically, it's just not really my thing. like i said earlier, i do really
like fitter happier, and idioteque is a great song too. but for the most part i don't get as much out
of their music as a lot of people seem to. it's not like i hate this either, i gave it a 2.5, not a 1.
it just doesn't do that much for me outside of fitter happier.

auberginedreams
June 9th 2012



6028 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

there's been a pretty crazy amount of plagiarism lately. this one, that nevershoutnever news article, and all all of those captaindooright reviews as well.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
June 9th 2012



49955 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

post trancestep


Digging: Empire! Empire! (I Was a Lonely Estate) - You Will Eventually Be Forgotten

wacknizzle
June 9th 2012



12863 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

post-electronic blackened dance music with a sample as the backdrop. duh

Digging: Plebeian Grandstand - Lowgazers

auberginedreams
June 9th 2012



6028 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"what genre is idioteque"

http://bit.ly/MX4S5g

DarthMann
June 9th 2012



13612 Comments


i dont remember giving u permission to speak aspergine

DarthMann
June 9th 2012



13612 Comments


i dont remember giving u permission to speak aspergine
but good im glad ure not retarded enough to think they suck hard

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
June 9th 2012



49955 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Rating Doolittle a 3 should get you permabanned

DarthMann
June 9th 2012



13612 Comments


circle takes the gay

facupm
June 9th 2012



7285 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

it's impossible to imagine that paranoid android could ever be better than Bohemian Rhapsody

AGuyIsWatchingYou
June 10th 2012



907 Comments


"I disagree, when they are done right track by track reviews are a lot better and fun to read than the walls of pseudo intellectual text you all enjoy reading so much. "

I agree with this statement.

barcafan21
June 10th 2012



1914 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

whoa darth, chill out man. i read a lot about radiohead and i forget where i learn these facts. i've read that review before and clearly i retained some of it, and when i wrote the review i guess i unknowingly used its info in my own review. i feel terrible that this happened, and i'll definitely make sure i don't accidentally plagiarize another review.

auberginedreams
June 10th 2012



6028 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

dude come on, i'm not a big fan of darthmann either but he's clearly right in this situation. if it were one or two lines i would believe you, but just about every other line here is practically directly lifted from that other guy's review. if you just come clean about if you might not get banned.

barcafan21
June 10th 2012



1914 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

but i'm being serious. ban me if you want, but i'm not gonna lie just to not get banned. i've written 16 reviews before this one and none of those have been plagiarized, and those have been, for the most part, pretty good (i like to think). so why would i start now?

IMZA1793
June 10th 2012



843 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i like you just because you like barca

barcafan21
June 10th 2012



1914 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

hah, half of the people say that and the other half neg me just for liking barca

IMZA1793
June 10th 2012



843 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

just like in real life then hahaha. Review was good but this album really didn't need a new review.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy