Metric Synthetica
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
PistolPete
June 12th 2012


3629 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

My brother's a HUGE metric fan and he warmed up to that song too. To me "Lost Kitten" reminded me of everything that used to make Metric a sub-par three-hit band, not necessarily a terrible song but a step backward. Iunno I can see why ppl would like it though for sure, it's upbeat

Digging: O'Brother - Garden Window

HelplessnessBlues
August 3rd 2012


59 Comments


how does this stack up to fantasies? I liked that album a lot.

PistolPete
August 4th 2012


3629 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Fantasies is my favorite album from them and honestly their best to date. This one is both a natural continuation of Fantasies and a slight return to their older sound.

It's not as good as Fantasies but you will still find a lot you should like, don't write it off.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
November 3rd 2012


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

On 5th LP 'Synthetica', Canadian indie-rockers Metric search for the consistency which has so far eluded them during their productive career... And while it can be argued that they found it, they have unfortunately done so without retaining the quality of past highlights. The familiar - almost too mechanical - combination of new-wave & glam-rock returns, as does the beguilingly ambivalent voice of Emily Haines. While well-crafted & produced, only a fraction of 'Synthetica' ultimately engages or sticks in the mind. It's getting a bit frustrating stating that Metric are clearly capable of better. Recommended Tracks: Speed the Collapse, Synthetica & Youth Without Youth.

Hopelust
November 30th 2012


1082 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Metric should hire someone to simply arrange/order the tracks on their albums. This album has some great songs, but the overall flow of it is downright frustrating at points.

Acanthus
December 14th 2012


9543 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Just learned about this album, giving it a listen now.

Digging: The Knife - Deep Cuts

Acanthus
December 17th 2012


9543 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Annnndddd this is awesome.

Ire
December 30th 2012


41795 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i liked this yea fk u guys

chambered99
January 15th 2013


812 Comments


^

PistolPete
January 15th 2013


3629 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"beguilingly ambivalent"

what a way to describe emily haines' voice, I can't even say that properly without fucking a syllable up somewhere

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
February 17th 2013


23909 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ugh this is so fucking good. I don't know why I put it off for so long, or why I doubted that I would love it. They basically went in the exact direction I wanted them to following Fantasies, which was one of my favourite records of 2009. Lyrically, this is kind of like a companion piece to that album.

Emily Haines is the bestttttttttttttt

Digging: RATKING - So It Goes

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
February 17th 2013


8010 Comments


I still haven't lstened to this despite loving their previous album

Digging: Beach Slang - Cheap Thrills On A Dead End Street

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
February 17th 2013


23909 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

dude I did the same thing until tonight and I'm on my third straight listen. I let the mongs here deter me.

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
February 17th 2013


8010 Comments


god damn hivemind

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
February 17th 2013


23909 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

bro i'm leavin the hive behind it is restrictive

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
February 21st 2013


23909 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I LOVE THIS ALBUM

4.2 fo sheeeeeeeeeez cant 4.5 it but I wanna.

drds89
April 7th 2013


11 Comments


I'm still afraid to dive into this album after Fantasies, which was the first poppy album in eons that I really paid attention to, let alone dug EVERY single track on it. I like Grow up.. and Live it out >> Old World Underground (too political), but ironically is the only one I own on vinyl (yet).

One of these days I'm going to dive in... head first.

demigod!
April 7th 2013


44722 Comments


never got that into Metric, they def rule live tho

Digging: Weezer - Everything Will Be Alright in the End

PistolPete
April 7th 2013


3629 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@drds89: ah, you'll be fine just give it a few listens, you might not like it the first time but it's good

they do rule live, fun fact

Nikkolae
March 28th 2014


4860 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

well, they're not that diferent from what i remember

Digging: Cursed Graves - Western Blood



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy