Ahab The Giant
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Tyrael
June 3rd 2012



20394 Comments


Yep

this is a lot more varied and melodic

Digging: Lantlos - Melting Sun

CaptainDooRight
June 3rd 2012



26404 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Awesome review bro loved it. A few grammar errors but nothing that killed the flow of the read. In fact, your review was well
thought out and gave a good representation of what good things one should expect from this album. A few more negative
comments would have been nice to explain why it's not a 5 per say. I'd rate your review between a 4-4.5 which is saying a lot.
I hope this furthers your ability as one of my favorite writers on this site. Either way, POS hard bro. :]

Digging: Deniro Farrar - The Patriarch II

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
June 4th 2012



8581 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thanks! could you point out any grammar mistakes? :]

also just because there are no inherent flaws doesn't necessarily make it a 5. doesn't quite work like that. [:

Digging: Triptykon - Melana Chasmata

CaptainDooRight
June 4th 2012



26404 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I understand. I remember you telling me once that you rate solely based off of enjoy ability levels rather than the level of impact or importance of an album. So I was kinda referring to that. But can you explain what you mean because I feel that if an album has many flaws, that's what keeps it from a 5 for me. Show me the mind of Noctus.

And I'll copy and paste the mistakes ina moment sir.

CaptainDooRight
June 4th 2012



26404 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Fixes*

Not sure why "the" isn't capatilized in the summary.(not sure if that's your style or common practice)

And would you know that I read you review over twice more and couldn't find what I saw the first time. Not sure if you already corrected them or I'm just out of it due to this strenuous workout I just completed. Oh well that's how it goes.

Anyways I really need to hear this full album rather than crappy snippet album previews on YouTube.

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
June 4th 2012



8581 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

well to be a 5 it doesn't mean it doesn't have flaws, i 5'd all of agalloch's albums and each one of them has flaws. it's all based on whether the material on there evokes me in such a way that i HAVE to give them a 5 - nothing here comes close to that. it's excellent, but not that, at least for me. i mean if you want to press me for flaws i guess that i don't like the production on this one as much as the last one and it's not quite as atmospheric to me. :]

oh and the non capitalization of the summary is something i just got into and never got out of, kind of weird. [:

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
June 4th 2012



8581 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

oh and *fixes ?

and i didn't fix any because editing reviews is broken, i'd have to get all the fixes all at once and ask a mod to for me [:

CaptainDooRight
June 4th 2012



26404 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"oh and the non capitalization of the summary is something i just got into and never got out of, kind of weird. [:"

That's Noctus for ya.

Yeah that's it in reference to your ratings and reviews. Since ratings are all opinions anyways it's always nice to get your opinion as to why this isn't a 5 so the audience really grasps the reviewers outlook. You actually said it perfectly. Mentioning that the production wasn't as crushing, which you actually did to a certain degree and the lack of "evoking" would have really tied this in for me. Also maybe expounding a little more on those thoughts as well would have been fair game.

I'm not sure if you requested a feature on this yet but if you're too humble I'd be more than happy to make supplication.

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
June 4th 2012



8581 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i think someone already did and it wasn't heeded, perhaps the album isn't quite new enough since it's been out like a fortnight now. it would be great if it could though :] thanks for the help and compliments, feel free to try, thank you!!

CaptainDooRight
June 4th 2012



26404 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You're very welcome :] and done.

CaptainDooRight
June 11th 2012



26404 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This album does little to hold my attention. The emotions feel too predictable and the typical boring structure of expected riff after expected riff is exhausting. The execution of what this is is fine but the compositional choices are pathetic. The number of interesting moments are far too slim. The dynamics are poorly executed as well. Again, it all falls on the compositions. In our day and age, or at least mine, I expect so much more out of the music I listen to.

Apollo
June 11th 2012



10083 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

need to hear this...especially if they have expanded the funeral doom sound, you can only do so much with funeral doom

BeyondOsiris
October 2nd 2012



12 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Love this album, was surprised how well the transition between sounds/styles was from Divinity of
Oceans and Call of the Wretched Sea to this. The clean vocals sound great and are a welcoming
addition. It's hard to top Call of the Wretched Sea, but this is close.

CaptainDooRight
October 12th 2012



26404 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

so guess what, this grew on me quite a bit

I may wana see these guy's live.

anyone here seen them before? and do they put on a good show?

CaptainDooRight
October 16th 2012



26404 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

the opening minutes to Further South feels like the sways of the ocean

Tyrael
October 16th 2012



20394 Comments


yea

CaptainDooRight
October 16th 2012



26404 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

it's funny I actually had this at a 2.5 for while, wtf was I thinking, shit grew on me to point where I'm craving a live show from these guys

Apollo
December 1st 2012



10083 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is very different from the first album, fucking awesome though

Dodecahedron
January 31st 2013



970 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This album has such a great, haunting atmosphere. I love the clean sound it has too, kind of refreshing.

CaptainDooRight
January 31st 2013



26404 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

agreed really good album that has grown on me over time.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy