Ne Obliviscaris Portal of I
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
zxlkho
June 2nd 2012



3424 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

But seriously, in this review, you just sound like you listened to it once and said "yeah these songs are really long, but I can't remember anything therefore 2.5"

In my experience with this album it takes more than a few listens man. Shit, I've listened to it maybe 10 times and I still don't quite get it.

Dashy
June 2nd 2012



421 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"Slayer is shit. This band is better"

Lol. And there goes your credibility.

Cyan1d3
June 2nd 2012



137 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I had complaints outside of it being nonmemorable, think before you neg.

And lmao if you are 5'ing this if you "don't quite get it". So stupid.

Dashy
June 2nd 2012



421 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Cyan, you forgot, he doesn't like your opinion so neg. It doesn't matter about the actual writing.

MO
June 2nd 2012



17364 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"And lmao if you are 5'ing this if you "don't quite get it". So stupid"
yep

Digging: Soundtrack - Turok 2: Seeds of Evil OST

Philalethes
June 2nd 2012



244 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is one of the most over rated albums I think that I have ever seen on this site. Its not bad, but certainly over rated. I find it to be trivializing the elements that I like about the genres of progressive, metal and black metal.

It really comes down to what I think of any time I hear a band that would be considered "core" music. These bands - be it metal core, deathcore, djent, etc.- essentially take the effects of the original genre (guttural vocals, blast beats, 8 string polyrhtymic guitars, what have you) and then strip the songs of their unique harmonic and thematic content, instead replacing them with a more straight forward pop progression.

Take the song As Icicles Fall for instance. This song essentially spends 9 minutes going back and forth between two chords. They do a great job of using interesting effects to create different moods, but ultimately it is just a simple pop progression that bludgeons you for 9 minutes, while the guitars and violins take turns noodling around. There is little musical substance here. A band like Opeth, on the other hand, also writes extremely long songs, but their songs actually present challenging harmonic material, and develop interesting themes that travel through different keys as the song progresses.

This band is clearly talented, and has the opportunity to grow into something special. This album however, just doesn't seem to be deserving of the praise that say Amia Venera Landscape had when they burst on to the scene a couple years back. There is really nothing unique about them, and for now, they are making a genre (progressive music) that in the past has been used for exploring the fringes of musical expression, a little dumber.

Storm In A Teacup
June 2nd 2012



12688 Comments


I was gonna buy a couple songs off of itunes from this but only the first two songs are available for sale and I don't want those two the others sound better but I can't buy a whole album right now damn.

MichaelSnoxall
June 2nd 2012



12163 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

lol this Core? Core music is usually labelled 'core' because it derives from Hardcore.

Cyan1d3
June 2nd 2012



137 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Just listen to the songs on youtube, they're easily available

And nice comment Philalethes, yeah it definitely loses the essence of the genres it is influenced by. The violin noodling is pretty bad too

Scoot
June 2nd 2012



17486 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

it's their first album

how many debuts sound as accomplished as this does? hardly any that i've heard

the issues will sort themselves out as this band goes forward

Cyan1d3
June 2nd 2012



137 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Aspid - Extravasation
Integrity - Those Who Fear Tomorrow
Morbid Angel - Altars of Madness
Celtic Frost - Morbid Tales
Entombed - Left Hand Path
Iron Maiden - s/t
Led Zeppelin - s/t
Jimi Hendrix - Are You Experienced?
Megadeth - Killing is my Business...
Agalloch - Pale Folklore
Candlemass - Epicus Doomicus Metallicus
Mogwai - Young Team
GYBE - debut
The Chameleons - Script of the Bridge
Joy Division - Unknown Pleasures


Some debut albums in my library that all blow this album out of the water. There are plenty more too

MichaelSnoxall
June 2nd 2012



12163 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Fun note: Zeppelin's debut was compiled of lots of stolen material.

Philalethes
June 2nd 2012



244 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"lol this Core? Core music is usually labelled 'core' because it derives from Hardcore"

lol at reading comprehension. I think I made it pretty clear what I think "core" music means. In my opinion its not just break downs. It more importantly is watered down music that was derived from a more extreme genre. This is mainly because of its use simple poppy chord progressions. We have seen popular music get progressively heavier over the years, as distortion and even screaming has become more acceptable. This is where all your Van's Warped tour and Hot Topic bands come in. This band is doing a very similar thing by presenting elements of black metal and progressive music, but underneath is essentially just basic pop structures.



conesmoke
June 2nd 2012



4914 Comments


"This is also fairly new, and therefore has a lot less exposure. Those two albums have been subjected to a lot of listens by people that wouldn't typically frequent the genre. This one is still fairly underground, so for the most part, only people that are looking for these kinds of albums will find it, and they're more likely to enjoy it more"
^ Well fucking said.

And agreed, this is an outrageously well thought out piece of music as a debut LP.



MichaelSnoxall
June 2nd 2012



12163 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

"lol at reading comprehension. I think I made it pretty clear what I think "core" music means. In my opinion its not just break downs. It more importantly is watered down music that was derived from a more extreme genre. This is mainly because of its use simple poppy chord progressions. We have seen popular music get progressively heavier over the years, as distortion and even screaming has become more acceptable. This is where all your Van's Warped tour and Hot Topic bands come in. This band is doing a very similar thing by presenting elements of black metal and progressive music, but underneath is essentially just basic pop structures. "


You're a silly, silly man.

Cyan1d3
June 2nd 2012



137 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"Fun note: Zeppelin's debut was compiled of lots of stolen material."

Yeah, I know

Philalethes
June 2nd 2012



244 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"it's their first album how many debuts sound as accomplished as this does? hardly any that i've heard"

This is a great point. I think that as a debut album, this band has a lot to be proud of. It is a good album, that does put most bands first releases to shame. I just don't understand holding this up anywhere near the standards that some of the other greats of progressive metal have produced yet. Its just not ground breaking enough, or does it contain enough substance.


Cyan1d3
June 2nd 2012



137 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"lol at reading comprehension. I think I made it pretty clear what I think "core" music means. In my opinion its not just break downs. It more importantly is watered down music that was derived from a more extreme genre. This is mainly because of its use simple poppy chord progressions. We have seen popular music get progressively heavier over the years, as distortion and even screaming has become more acceptable. This is where all your Van's Warped tour and Hot Topic bands come in. This band is doing a very similar thing by presenting elements of black metal and progressive music, but underneath is essentially just basic pop structures."

check out this song: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sdHJrg1W7Q0

proves that metalcore can have some balls and sound good

MichaelSnoxall
June 2nd 2012



12163 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Humanity is the Devil is one of my favourite Metalcore albums.

Lambda
June 2nd 2012



2335 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Superb album.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy