Sigur Ros Valtari
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
qwe3
May 30th 2012



21154 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

"The review was ((at least for me)) pretty hard to read through. I'm not a professional english reader and I had to concentrate a lot to understand all these intelligent words you used. "

yeah as strikey said you should kinda probably learn english more if youre going to read english reviews of things. or else just read reviews in your native language

Knott-
Emeritus
May 30th 2012



10194 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Haha no qwe I just wanted to clarify why I understand his frustration. But when I read a review of something in French and I find it hard I don't think, "This dude should write in a simpler way so I can understand it."

soyeh

wabbit
May 30th 2012



6747 Comments


I'm curious as to whether the minutemen quote is intentional or a coincidence.

qwe3
May 30th 2012



21154 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

yeahyeah sure adam sure

i agree with you about things like that i mean if people expected reviewers on an english language website to write somethign that caters to esl people that would severely limit the variability of language etc and reviews would be even more boring

MeatSalad
May 31st 2012



13392 Comments


I always thought he was saying "you sat along the fire"

GuanoBumbershoot
May 31st 2012



1127 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I always thought he was saying "you sat along the fire"


It does sound like that.

Knott-
Emeritus
May 31st 2012



10194 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Haha. He's not singing either. It's Hopelandic; you probably know this. But there was a thread somewhere with everybody saying what English words formed in their heads when he sang that line. I found that fascinating.

Sucks that I don't find such intrigue in this record.

Tyrael
May 31st 2012



20416 Comments


Hey Knott I'm multi-langual too let's start a club

I know four languages what about you

Digging: Lantlos - Melting Sun

Archelaos
May 31st 2012



241 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

langual

Tyrael
May 31st 2012



20416 Comments


typo

lingual*

thanks bro

Dimor
May 31st 2012



1738 Comments


It sure is fascinating. I always think he says "You sigh alone, you sigh"

BigTuna
May 31st 2012



5151 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

album rules

Digging: EMA - The Future's Void

thebhoy
Emeritus
May 31st 2012



4459 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

WooooooOOOOOooooah for the longest time

demigod!
June 1st 2012



40970 Comments


person with the Franklin Bluth pic i fucking love you

So have Sigur Ros "lost it"?

patrickfannon
June 1st 2012



884 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Excellent review, especially this sentence:

"And the comparative looseness of this album is refreshing; it floats through a heavy atmosphere with a beauty reminiscent of the band's best moments, sounding both helpless and commanding in the same moment."

There is something about this album which makes it almost existential in tone; it's not overtly joyful, yet not overtly mournful either. It sort of flows in the same way that time does, and it reaches for something beyond itself whilst at once acknowledging that there may not be anything for which to reach. It stikes me as a record which seeks to mirror the absurdity of life, and I think it does so very, very well.

It's like Mersault says at the end of The Stranger: "As if that blind rage had washed me clean, rid me of hope: for the first time, in that night filled with signs and stars, I opened myself to the gentle indifference of the world. Finding it so much like like myself--so like a brother, really--I felt that I had been happy and that I was happy again."

AtavanHalen
June 1st 2012



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this is kinda pretty but such a letdown after the last record

want to like this more but it's too... idk, floaty or some shit

Knott-
Emeritus
June 1st 2012



10194 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

basically agree

Xenophanes
Emeritus
June 2nd 2012



10553 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

"want to like this more but it's too... idk, floaty or some shit"

floaty because it lacks the substance to be held down

Digging: Saintseneca - Dark Arc

ilikesexpauseNOT
June 2nd 2012



105 Comments


cigar roll

fuckthatnoise
June 2nd 2012



1479 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

alright, settled on a rating for this.

might be my 2nd favorite Sigur Ros album behind ( ).



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy