Sigur Ros Valtari
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Tyrael
May 30th 2012


20971 Comments


hahahaha so good holy shit

balcaen
May 30th 2012


3183 Comments


The review was ((at least for me)) pretty hard to read through. I'm not a professional english reader and I had to concentrate a lot to understand all these intelligent words you used.


I don't want to rip on this guy, but these kinds of comments are so funny. No one admits this, ever. Also is there such a thing as a "professional english reader" or is that just a mistranslation from your native tongue? hehehe

Reviews rarely seem to get to the point without being pedantic about words, imo.

Tyrael
May 30th 2012


20971 Comments


Eh

I have a hard time reading through Eli's reviews too for example

when he uses words like 'exacerbated'... Those are head scratching moments for me

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
May 30th 2012


16922 Comments


I hope you guys are joking

Who faults a writer for being good at writing

Digging: Low Roar - 0

Tyrael
May 30th 2012


20971 Comments


I'm not faulting anyone

If I can't understand something it's purely my own fault

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
May 30th 2012


16922 Comments


As long as people admit that

I've seen reviews before where the writing was so advanced I had to read it 2-3 times before I knew what was being said...but usually, they also have the most to say and they say it in the best way possible.

Tyrael
May 30th 2012


20971 Comments


The only reason I write stuff is cause I wanna improve my knowledge of the english language

it hasn't worked out that well so far ;]

Xenophanes
Emeritus
May 30th 2012


10663 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

The best reviews are the ones where you have no issues. If I use a word like 'exacerbated' it's only because it's easier than "this is made worse because of this." We aren't write pulitzer worthy prose here, plain english is what should typically be employed so your review reaches more people.

Digging: Blut Aus Nord - Memoria Vetusta III - Saturnian Poetry

chaseguitar
May 30th 2012


736 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

don't you ever talk shit about refinement of the decline

Knott-
Emeritus
May 30th 2012


10198 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I DIDN'T TALK SHIT ABOUT IT!

I'm going to ask someone to fucking edit that sentence because I love that album and when I said it feels painful I was talking about the emotional response I get from it, in a sorrowful way, not implying the album is bad.

And I disagree Xeno, in that I think when I use round-about phrases like "this is made worse because of this" it devalues what I'm writing. It's too lengthy. Specific words exist to express specific ideas. If you want incisive, accurate and interesting analysis, you should want the right words to be used, not the easiest ones.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
May 30th 2012


16922 Comments


Yeah...Concise and Verbose > Long Winded and Dumbed Down

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
May 30th 2012


24098 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

We aren't write pulitzer worthy prose here


magnificent

Digging: Mitski - bury me at makeout creek

Knott-
Emeritus
May 30th 2012


10198 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

hahahaha missed that : D

Xenophanes
Emeritus
May 30th 2012


10663 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Hahaha, great catch Adrian I fucking hae you

Xenophanes
Emeritus
May 30th 2012


10663 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

hate*



fuck

Ignimbrite
May 30th 2012


5499 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

That is literally the greatest summary I have read in my 4-ish years of being on this site.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
May 30th 2012


16922 Comments


I love the summary and the review.

usefulbattery
May 30th 2012


4 Comments


Appreciate the Minutemen reference.

qwe3
May 30th 2012


21368 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

"While I understand your frustration (being multi-lingual myself)"

hahaha talking yourself up a bit

qwe3
May 30th 2012


21368 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

"The review was ((at least for me)) pretty hard to read through. I'm not a professional english reader and I had to concentrate a lot to understand all these intelligent words you used. "

yeah as strikey said you should kinda probably learn english more if youre going to read english reviews of things. or else just read reviews in your native language



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy