Sigur Ros Valtari
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
May 30th 2012


19341 Comments


As long as people admit that

I've seen reviews before where the writing was so advanced I had to read it 2-3 times before I knew what was being said...but usually, they also have the most to say and they say it in the best way possible.

Digging: FKA Twigs - M3LL155X

Tyrael
May 30th 2012


21003 Comments


The only reason I write stuff is cause I wanna improve my knowledge of the english language

it hasn't worked out that well so far ;]

chaseguitar
May 30th 2012


745 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

don't you ever talk shit about refinement of the decline

Knott-
Emeritus
May 30th 2012


10198 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I DIDN'T TALK SHIT ABOUT IT!



I'm going to ask someone to fucking edit that sentence because I love that album and when I said it feels painful I was talking about the emotional response I get from it, in a sorrowful way, not implying the album is bad.



And I disagree Xeno, in that I think when I use round-about phrases like "this is made worse because of this" it devalues what I'm writing. It's too lengthy. Specific words exist to express specific ideas. If you want incisive, accurate and interesting analysis, you should want the right words to be used, not the easiest ones.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
May 30th 2012


19341 Comments


Yeah...Concise and Verbose > Long Winded and Dumbed Down

Aids
May 30th 2012


24184 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

We aren't write pulitzer worthy prose here




magnificent

Knott-
Emeritus
May 30th 2012


10198 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

hahahaha missed that : D

Ignimbrite
May 30th 2012


5759 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

That is literally the greatest summary I have read in my 4-ish years of being on this site.

Digging: Rivers of Nihil - Monarchy

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
May 30th 2012


19341 Comments


I love the summary and the review.

usefulbattery
May 30th 2012


4 Comments


Appreciate the Minutemen reference.

qwe3
May 30th 2012


21383 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

"While I understand your frustration (being multi-lingual myself)"



hahaha talking yourself up a bit

qwe3
May 30th 2012


21383 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

"The review was ((at least for me)) pretty hard to read through. I'm not a professional english reader and I had to concentrate a lot to understand all these intelligent words you used. "



yeah as strikey said you should kinda probably learn english more if youre going to read english reviews of things. or else just read reviews in your native language

Knott-
Emeritus
May 30th 2012


10198 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Haha no qwe I just wanted to clarify why I understand his frustration. But when I read a review of something in French and I find it hard I don't think, "This dude should write in a simpler way so I can understand it."



soyeh

wabbit
May 30th 2012


7057 Comments


I'm curious as to whether the minutemen quote is intentional or a coincidence.

qwe3
May 30th 2012


21383 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

yeahyeah sure adam sure



i agree with you about things like that i mean if people expected reviewers on an english language website to write somethign that caters to esl people that would severely limit the variability of language etc and reviews would be even more boring

MeatSalad
May 31st 2012


16145 Comments


I always thought he was saying "you sat along the fire"

GuanoBumbershoot
May 31st 2012


1571 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I always thought he was saying "you sat along the fire"





It does sound like that.

Knott-
Emeritus
May 31st 2012


10198 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Haha. He's not singing either. It's Hopelandic; you probably know this. But there was a thread somewhere with everybody saying what English words formed in their heads when he sang that line. I found that fascinating.



Sucks that I don't find such intrigue in this record.

Tyrael
May 31st 2012


21003 Comments


Hey Knott I'm multi-langual too let's start a club

I know four languages what about you

Archelaos
May 31st 2012


241 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

langual



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy