Regina Spektor What We Saw from the Cheap Seats
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
May 21st 2012


16922 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

whaa

there's at least 6 tracks that grabbed me first time around, now I love the whole thing

Digging: Low Roar - 0

Athom
Staff Reviewer
May 21st 2012


17231 Comments


It's all pretty and nice but substance wise theres a drop off from her last three. Some of these songs sound like they were written for commercials

robin
Emeritus
May 21st 2012


4261 Comments


yeah this is okay. not slight enough for this idiot

someguest
May 21st 2012


21390 Comments


lol

It feels less poppy. I don't know.

Digging: Pet Shop Boys - Please

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
May 21st 2012


16922 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

yeah this is definitely a step away from far and closer to her earlier stuff

AtavanHalen
May 21st 2012


17927 Comments


BEEN OUT A DAY

5/5

LOL

REGINA FUCK MY FACE

Dreakon
May 21st 2012


369 Comments


Shit, I know too many people that mimic this style. Not musically, just in that short hair, polka-dot dress and french-for-the-sake-of-french way...

Might listen to this though. Haven't heard much from her, but I like Samson and Better a lot.

Athom
Staff Reviewer
May 21st 2012


17231 Comments


The thing with far is that it was mostly a great pop record while having this darker edge in its best songs. The thing with begin to hope is that its so ridiculously bubbly and cute. The thing with soviet kitsch is that its brimming with unique personality. This feels like a not quite as good amalgam of all three that doesnt separate itself from better things from her past. You can slap this with a classic rating after 15 seconds if you want but I'd rather listen to Bobbing for Apples on a loop

Athom
Staff Reviewer
May 21st 2012


17231 Comments


Plus its missing all of her wit that helped make her so endearing

someguest
May 21st 2012


21390 Comments


I don't think he'll hold onto his five either. It's definitely an enjoyable record though.

Xenophanes
Emeritus
May 21st 2012


10663 Comments


I like when staff hands out 5's because it goes a long way in changing the notion that a 5 means ABSOLUTE PERFECTION. A 5 merely means the highest recommendation possible. So kudos, nice review man.

Digging: Blut Aus Nord - Memoria Vetusta III - Saturnian Poetry

Athom
Staff Reviewer
May 21st 2012


17231 Comments


Oh yeah, it totally is.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
May 21st 2012


16922 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I don't think it's missing her wit and charm, I mean just listen to Small Town Moon, Ballad of a Politician, Open, or The Party. I'd concede that tracks like Firewood are a little hallmark-y, but (strictly in my opinion) that is the prettiest song on the album. I'm okay with her going in a pop direction, as long as it brings back those quirks and eccentricities that were abundant on Soviet Kitsch. I feel like this does that, thus making it an ideal blend of what was so great about Far and SK.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
May 21st 2012


16922 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

And thanks, Xeno!

Maniac!
May 21st 2012


26257 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Let's just sign this Sputnik Pact that requires all staff members to automatically 5 all quirky and charming female singer-songwriters.

Sowing gets the first signature.

Maniac!
May 21st 2012


26257 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

halfway through the album and so far there isn't a song anything less than excellent. If it stays consistent, it's a very strong 4 for me.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
May 21st 2012


16922 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Where do I sign?

Seriously though, I don't think it is a big deal to 5 something without giving it years to sink in. I give out a 5 like every 1-2 years and last time I did it (Simple Math) I never regretted my rating. And everyone fussed about how fast I 5'd that too.

someguest
May 21st 2012


21390 Comments


I think "All The Rowboats" is my favorite. I really like the tempo and the piano.

Maniac!
May 21st 2012


26257 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

ratings are pretty pointless in the grand scheme of things anyway


SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
May 21st 2012


16922 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

^true



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy