Blind Guardian A Night at the Opera
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
IAmLegend
September 4th 2006



15 Comments


[quote=Werny] And Then There Was Silence still has yet to grow on me, it's a lot to take in.[/quote]

indeed it is, but it always seems to find its way onto my playlist. I have always been a fan of Unseeing Protecters, and this album is an epic master piece in the way of power metal.

If you are a fan of power metal you should do yourself a favor and pick up some Sightless Sentinal.


polaris737
October 13th 2006



1 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This is only my second blind guardian album, but it is absolutely amazing... great review by the way

Altmer
March 27th 2007



5652 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I find this album a little too much to digest sometimes, I have real trouble getting myself to listen to it in one sitting.

...And Then There Was Silence is the best thing since sliced bread however.

TheHamburgerman
April 7th 2007



1286 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't understand why that 14 minute track is so much loved. I find it incredibly dull, and it goes nowhere. Blind Guardian's style (alternating the riffs within a mere seconds) and a mighty long song don't go well together.

Altmer
July 4th 2007



5652 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Those twists and turns are captivating

This is a killer album, but I prefer Imaginations to this still.

Ayashi
August 5th 2007



267 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I love this album so much!! It's definitely underrated. 'And then there was silence' is simply one of the best epic songs ever. It took me like 10 times before it started sounding good but damn it did!

JumpTheF**kUp
September 12th 2007



2710 Comments


And Then There Was Silence is killer.

Yazz_Flute
September 13th 2007



18770 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I reallly, really want this album now. I've heard "Precious Jerusalem," "The SOulforged," "Punishment Divine," and the first five minutes of "And then There was Silence" via youtube. I can't stop listening to The SOulforged and Punishment Divine right now, both are sooo good.

I'm deciding that this, and probably Somewhere Far Beyond (the title track on that album is probably even better thaqn the songs i've heard on this album) will be my next BG albums.

Digging: Eskaton - 4 Visions

Yazz_Flute
September 23rd 2007



18770 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is absolutely fantastic, does not disappoint in any aspect. Everything is near perfect here. Maybe my favorite power metal album of all time now, though I still need more BG albums (this is only my second from the band)

And Then There was Silence and The Soulforged are godly tracks.

rthomps6
January 23rd 2008



53 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Wow, I just can't get enough of this album. I've read some reviews on other sites that completely bash the symphonic elements of the album, but I'm glad that Blind Guardian tried it. It works beautifully. I can't get enough of Punishment Divine right now

Yazz_Flute
January 23rd 2008



18770 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good man.

Poet
January 24th 2008



5922 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is Blind Guardian's best album by far. It may be over the top, but that is a good thing.

BludgeonySteve
September 10th 2008



558 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sickness.

SgtPepperInTheSky
December 1st 2008



9 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Most underrated album of all fucking time

OllieS
June 24th 2009



2030 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Agh people rating this low when they have other BG albums rated high irk me

OllieS
September 27th 2009



2030 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

4:00 - 5:00 of 'And Then There Was Silence' is just the most balls-out piece of music I've ever heard.

Yazz_Flute
October 19th 2009



18770 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ugh this is so fucking good. I've been weeding out my 5/5 ratings during the past few days and this is one of the few albums i've had for a few years that i've kept at a 5. Truly deserves it.

AnEpicDeath
October 19th 2009



189 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

As a drummer, I'm a bit irritated at your overvalue of Stuach. He's a very good drummer, but in metal (and especially in power and progressive metal) circuits, he's just a small margin above average. And none of his fills are reminiscent of death metal (though power and death are less disconnected regarding drums than most think). Not that I would've minded an occasional triplet blast in there ;). Andre's leads top Stuach's drums any day. Anyway, if you're on the lookout for great drummers, check out Aquiles Priester of Angra (now ex, unfortunately). His other band, Hangar is both more restrictive and less interesting; I would recommend Angra's "Temple of Shadows" (one of my all time favorite albums) if you want to see his brilliance. He's technical as hell, and his creativity is unrivaled to my experience. And then, of course, there's Mike Portnoy of Dream Theater, and though he's often quite restrained, he's the king of technicality if perhaps not creativity. Just check out "Train of Thought" for his technicality, and "Images & Words" for his creative side. On the other side of the spectrum, I should probably give a shout out to August Burns Red's drummer, Mike Greiner, as the king of breakdowns. Anyway... now that I've got that mini-rant out of my system, who agrees, disagrees, or knows other great drummers? (in bands, not pros like Thomas Lang)

OllieS
October 24th 2009



2030 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I find Portnoy's drumming just lacks character (I mean yeah I appreciate he can do it all but that makes him unidentifiable) and the ABR guy isn't much special - just in Metalcore Mike Justain (ex-Unearth) and the guy from Misery Signals are better.

Thomen is the best Metal drummer I've heard...whether it's because he has the opportunity in Blind Guardian to do such craziness (I mean listen from the solo in 'The Soulforged' to the end of the song, f*ck!) and other drummers who are equally good don't in their bands will always be an unknown to me.

Listen to 'Battlefield'. Only the other day did I realise the bass drum patterns in it are incredibly one dimensional (straight 16ths the whole way through) which I think is a testament to his skill as I'm always floored by the drumming in that song. You've got the superb percussion opening, the furious first verse (with some odd-time), the march to start the second verse, a really groovy section, insane comping at the end of the second verse, nice slower work for the solo, a ridiculous beat for the 'minstrelsy' part and inhuman fills in the last chorus.

That's only one song...I could go through every song and point out a similar number of highlights (and they're all different in each song). The man does so much compared to other drummers, that's why I think he's the best. Also his kit sound is 100% flawless on this (and really good from Imaginations... onwards).

In terms of other drummers Markku from Kiuas (not the most diverse but is perfect at what he does), Aaron from Isis (only IToT and after), Janne from Kalmah (my favourite DM drummer), Kenneth from Tristania (such a unique feel), Jesse from Daylight Dies (magical slow playing) are all fantastic.

ugh this is so fucking good. I've been weeding out my 5/5 ratings during the past few days and this is one of the few albums i've had for a few years that i've kept at a 5. Truly deserves it.


Good man. The effort that went into this album always astounds me.

14 minute song...I find it incredibly dull, and it goes nowhere.

I think you need to read the lyrics/understand the story if you think the song 'goes nowhere'. Simply put: Greeks are coming to f*ck up Troy, Cassandra warns the Trojans in vein, things get awful as war happens, the Trojans suddenly leave and everyone thinks the war is over, they bring in the horse and everyone gets killed, it goes back to ten years before when Cassandra is sad at the sorrow that beckons. The song progresses as the story does; the chorus just ties it all together (in an amazing fashion, may I add).

AnEpicDeath
October 27th 2009



189 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thomen really does nothing special. Most metal drummers do at least as much as him. Have you listened to Temple of Shadows? Also, I didn't bring it up since it's not really my style, but some of the death/grindcore guys are straight-out ridiculous (especially when playing solo; check out youtube on these guys). As far as straight technicality goes, grindcore is pretty close to the top. Again, though, not my style.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy