Squarepusher Ufabulum
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
asaf
May 16th 2012



885 Comments


This is great writing. You should be praised and have a column in a published journal. Although the review is a bit tedious and bombarded with detail, your music terminology and vocabulary is spot on. This certainly goes beyond any standard album "review," but it's certainly a well written piece regarding shifting sands in a sub-genre's culture.

er... yeah. or something like that.

Yotimi
May 16th 2012



6457 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

So damn good

Digging: Millie and Andrea - Drop The Vowels

captaincrunch11
May 17th 2012



1198 Comments


Can dig this fa shooo

omnipanzer
May 17th 2012



21442 Comments


Well, if Timi likes it.

Digging: The Ettes - Shake the Dust

spirit
May 18th 2012



3 Comments


disagree entirely with the review and the score, but nice review nonetheless. i can see where you're coming from and all that.

Acanthus
May 18th 2012



9537 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The man wrote a track by track for this, kinda cool to see where the songs came from:

http://warp.net/records/squarepusher/ufabulum-track-by-track

Digging: The Cure - The Head on the Door

Kellerdeck
May 19th 2012



1881 Comments


Cool.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
May 19th 2012



31053 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

disagree entirely with the review and the score, but nice review nonetheless. i can see where you're coming from and all that.


Thanks man

Digging: Marcel Dettmann - Fabric 77

Archelaos
May 20th 2012



241 Comments


Very good review. This album is so god damn tacky.

qwe3
May 21st 2012



21355 Comments


squarepusher has sucked for awhile

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
May 21st 2012



6397 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Maybe I'll go check out the live show to see what the fuss is all about. So gonna have a seisure...

Digging: Vessel - Punish, Honey

bloc
May 21st 2012



34735 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Maybe he will do that harder faster song when you see him

Digging: Messiah - Choir of Horrors

Phragmine
May 21st 2012



39 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm completely new to this guy/genre, so that might be why I liked this a little more.

Great review nonetheless.

To those who didn't like it, do you have any recommendations as to what would be similar but better?

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
May 21st 2012



31053 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yeah, they're on the first page

MassiveAttack
May 22nd 2012



2688 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I'm not surprised by this. I listened to his EP Estrobia and once again, it lacks everything that made Jenkinson so likeable and interesting. I'll probably listen to this to see where he pushes his idiocy. I hated Shobaleader One - D'demonstrator, even if it wasn't entirely his project, he still was very much in the process of making that album, and my, oh my was it horrible. The last relevant album under the Squarepusher moniker has been Hello Everything and it has been too long. His acid-jazz components are almost gone, and is everything that made him endearing. Even when he incorporates that sound, he doesn't embrace it as he has in the past and what a shame. It's quite difficult to reserve my judgement on this, but I'll try. Hopefully it is at least a shadow of the man.

Best tracks: 4001 (a decent opener), Drax 2,and Dark Steering. The latter two are superb, the rest of the album is really all over the place. It lacks any consistency. I'd be lying if I said I was disappointed because I'm not, didn't have high expectations.

jefflebowski
May 27th 2012



7568 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

still much, much better than shobaleader though

Digging: Tom Waits - Bone Machine

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
August 6th 2012



18242 Comments


this sucked its like listening to two completely different albums and they are both not good

Digging: Syndrone - Salmataxia

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
August 6th 2012



31053 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

^^^^

macadoolahicky
August 6th 2012



1835 Comments


Thought this said "Supersquasher"

mindleviticus
August 6th 2012



8200 Comments


Yeah it supersquashed my brain.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy