mewithoutYou Ten Stories
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
loveisamixtape
October 20th 2014


6721 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

so upset that i slept on this album for so long

cliiint
October 21st 2014


841 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

you think that's bad, I started with it's all crazy when it was released and waited until after this was released and worn off before I listened to Brother, Sister.

Gameofmetal
October 21st 2014


6506 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I need to give this another listen. I made the mistake of jamming this first, which was jarring, and then I tried Brother, Sister and really dug it.

wacknizzle
October 21st 2014


13895 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Catch For Us The Foxes is the best place to start with mewithoutYou

Digging: Rune - The End Of Nothing

ABjordanMM
October 21st 2014


1502 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I started with Brother, Sister and I hated it at first, but now i love it. So I guess it's hit and miss.

cliiint
October 22nd 2014


841 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

hit AND miss? at the same time?!

WatchItExplode
October 22nd 2014


3516 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The more one listens to mwY the better they become. I think Cardiff Giant is the most accessible song they have ever released.

treos777
November 10th 2014


167 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is truth. The first time I heard them I thought "huh weird". Now I'm wearing a shirt with their name emblazoned on it.

Rowan5215
November 10th 2014


30078 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Interesting, it only took me a few listens to decide Brother, Sister was a 5

And I'm glad Cardiff Giant got mentioned, catchiest fucking song EVER

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
November 10th 2014


19019 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

This and Brother, Sister are both classics

Digging: mewithoutYou - Pale Horses

Rowan5215
November 10th 2014


30078 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

B, S definitely, this one not quite

Although Nine Stories is one of the top 5 MwY jams

that tempo change

VheissuCrisis
Staff Reviewer
March 25th 2015


1217 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

They seem to be playing some new songs live - Blue Hen, Magic Lantern Days, and Watermelon Ascot. I'm sure grainy youtube videos will soon follow.

Rowan5215
April 16th 2015


30078 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I've only just been delving into the story of this album and it's possibly as interesting as Brother Sister (although not nearly as emotional or affecting), initially I didn't think to take it quite as seriously because IT'S ABOUT A BUNCH OF ANIMALS RUNNING AROUND but really I was just being a fucking idiot and there is so much more here

Weiss really is the lyricist of a generation, the layers and metaphors he employs are just so far ahead of almost every other writer operating right now that its unfair



"Lord, for sixty-so years I've surrendered my love,

to emblems of kindness, and not the kindness they were emblems of"

Artuma
April 16th 2015


19355 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Weiss really is the lyricist of a generation, the layers and metaphors he employs are just so far ahead of almost every other writer operating right now that its unfair"



he's awesome but dude let's not get carried too far away

Digging: Titus Andronicus - The Most Lamentable Tragedy

Rowan5215
April 16th 2015


30078 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Name me one other who can tell stories the way Weiss does and I'll concede, otherwise I stand by that

Artuma
April 16th 2015


19355 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

jordan dreyer

Rowan5215
April 16th 2015


30078 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

admittedly I haven't had much contact with their music

from what I do know, he's got the imagery and narrative structure for sure but he can't pull disparate threads into a satisfying narrative the way Weiss does so fucking flawlessly so I'll pass on that one

Artuma
April 16th 2015


19355 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

lol ok

Rowan5215
April 16th 2015


30078 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

what I'm talking about is the ability to write self-contained songs which work perfectly in their own context and yet still contribute something to the larger whole of the narrative

every song on this, Brother Sister and arguably every mwY album is perfectly placed and written to add cohesion to the whole just so without diminishing its own worth as a song and piece of writing

I've never come across any other artist who can do this as successfully as Aaron Weiss, hence my claims earlier

but if you're just gonna be sarcastic and not actually discuss it then I won't bother

Artuma
April 16th 2015


19355 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"what I'm talking about is the ability to write self-contained songs which work perfectly in their own context and yet still contribute something to the larger whole of the narrative"



dreyer can do that too, just jam wildlife



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy