mewithoutYou Ten Stories
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
cliiint
October 22nd 2014


1056 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

hit AND miss? at the same time?!

WatchItExplode
October 22nd 2014


4170 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The more one listens to mwY the better they become. I think Cardiff Giant is the most accessible song they have ever released.

treos777
November 10th 2014


206 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is truth. The first time I heard them I thought "huh weird". Now I'm wearing a shirt with their name emblazoned on it.

Rowan5215
Contributing Reviewer
November 10th 2014


34763 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Interesting, it only took me a few listens to decide Brother, Sister was a 5

And I'm glad Cardiff Giant got mentioned, catchiest fucking song EVER

Digging: Andy Hull - Swiss Army Man OST

SowingSeason
Moderator
November 10th 2014


21129 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

This and Brother, Sister are both classics

Rowan5215
Contributing Reviewer
November 10th 2014


34763 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

B, S definitely, this one not quite

Although Nine Stories is one of the top 5 MwY jams

that tempo change

VheissuCrisis
Emeritus
March 25th 2015


1329 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

They seem to be playing some new songs live - Blue Hen, Magic Lantern Days, and Watermelon Ascot. I'm sure grainy youtube videos will soon follow.

Rowan5215
Contributing Reviewer
April 16th 2015


34763 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I've only just been delving into the story of this album and it's possibly as interesting as Brother Sister (although not nearly as emotional or affecting), initially I didn't think to take it quite as seriously because IT'S ABOUT A BUNCH OF ANIMALS RUNNING AROUND but really I was just being a fucking idiot and there is so much more here

Weiss really is the lyricist of a generation, the layers and metaphors he employs are just so far ahead of almost every other writer operating right now that its unfair



"Lord, for sixty-so years I've surrendered my love,

to emblems of kindness, and not the kindness they were emblems of"

Artuma
April 16th 2015


23941 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Weiss really is the lyricist of a generation, the layers and metaphors he employs are just so far ahead of almost every other writer operating right now that its unfair"



he's awesome but dude let's not get carried too far away

Rowan5215
Contributing Reviewer
April 16th 2015


34763 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Name me one other who can tell stories the way Weiss does and I'll concede, otherwise I stand by that

Artuma
April 16th 2015


23941 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

jordan dreyer

Rowan5215
Contributing Reviewer
April 16th 2015


34763 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

admittedly I haven't had much contact with their music

from what I do know, he's got the imagery and narrative structure for sure but he can't pull disparate threads into a satisfying narrative the way Weiss does so fucking flawlessly so I'll pass on that one

Artuma
April 16th 2015


23941 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

lol ok

Rowan5215
Contributing Reviewer
April 16th 2015


34763 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

what I'm talking about is the ability to write self-contained songs which work perfectly in their own context and yet still contribute something to the larger whole of the narrative

every song on this, Brother Sister and arguably every mwY album is perfectly placed and written to add cohesion to the whole just so without diminishing its own worth as a song and piece of writing

I've never come across any other artist who can do this as successfully as Aaron Weiss, hence my claims earlier

but if you're just gonna be sarcastic and not actually discuss it then I won't bother

Artuma
April 16th 2015


23941 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"what I'm talking about is the ability to write self-contained songs which work perfectly in their own context and yet still contribute something to the larger whole of the narrative"



dreyer can do that too, just jam wildlife

cliiint
April 16th 2015


1056 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

"I haven't listened to it but it's probably not as good so... dismissed"



His 'lol ok' was not sarcastic, it was a perfect response to your reply. Wildlife does exactly what your saying just less pretentious, and that's saying a lot



Rowan5215
Contributing Reviewer
April 16th 2015


34763 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

way to completely misinterpret my comment

I said I hadn't had much contact, not "I haven't listened to it at all"

I made a judgement on what he said based on what I'd heard

don't act like I dismissed it out of hand completely

chinesewhispers
April 16th 2015


3351 Comments


C'mon guys

Cliiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiint, that's not exactly what he said. He said that from what he'd heard, Jordan wasn't quite up to the same standard as Weiss, not "I haven't listened to it but it's probably not as good so... dismissed"

Rowan, don't write off Dreyer so quickly, especially if you haven't spun Wildlife. Jordan is a lyricist to be reckoned with, and they're (we're) not steering you wrong

Rowan5215
Contributing Reviewer
April 16th 2015


34763 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

fair points, good peacekeeping skills



I definitely should listen to Wildlife soon, but for now I stand by what I said

Funeralopolis
April 27th 2015


13699 Comments


new single: https://soundcloud.com/runforcoverrecords/mewithoutyou-red-cow

Digging: Patti Smith - Horses



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy