Silversun Pickups Neck of the Woods
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
AtavanHalen
May 19th 2012



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

shut up

no-one cares


cliiint
May 19th 2012



457 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

only hipsters have opinions

paxman
May 19th 2012



4083 Comments


Just read this review, but goddamn it doesn't make
any sense.

Knott-
Emeritus
May 19th 2012



10194 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm pretty sure it does.

paxman
May 19th 2012



4083 Comments


Eh, it made more sense the second time I read it. But the summary doesn't make sense and the fact that you say this album is deeper and less structurally formulaic than Swoon and Carnavas and then go on to say that this album is more enjoyable "from a distance" (which means, to me, a shallow level of cognitive investment) just doesn't gel for me. But it's just semantics, I suppose.

Knott-
Emeritus
May 19th 2012



10194 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'll grant the word "deep" can be confusing in that sense because I'm using it to describe how "musically interesting" this is, a trait which makes it easy to like from a detached perspective but less potent emotionally than Carnavas & Swoon.

MeatSalad
May 19th 2012



13400 Comments


Does this album still have awesome ass songs like Panic Switch?

Knott-
Emeritus
May 19th 2012



10194 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I mean Panic Switch is my favourite SSPU song so I'll say nothing quite that good but it's got some great songs on it. Busy Bees rules, as does The Pit.

paxman
May 19th 2012



4083 Comments


Yeah, I'm probably just reading it the wrong way; I'm always analytical to the point of belligerence. Nevertheless, even your post above just doesn't work for me. Deep being, as you suggested, the central word here--how can one listen to something so deep, so interesting, in a detached or uninterested level of commitment?

My aim isnt to be combative, I just enjoy discussions.

Knott-
Emeritus
May 19th 2012



10194 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's not that. Don't you have records that absolutely drag you into their atmosphere and "philosophy" so much that they're difficult to describe? My point is that this isn't immersive, like (particularly) Swoon was. It has "more to it", musically, in terms of variety and ambition (and in this regard I'd call it "deeper") but it's the kind of brilliance that makes you go, "Cool!" rather than "OH MY GOD THIS IS HITTING ME REALLY HARD EMOTIONALLY."

AtavanHalen
May 19th 2012



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

what's going on guys

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
May 22nd 2012



23667 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm giving this a 4.5 I don't even care. Can't stop listening. They're getting better with each album.

Digging: Trophy Scars - Holy Vacants

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
May 22nd 2012



23667 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

None

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
May 22nd 2012



23667 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"I sentence anyone over 21 to the guillotine"

Best part

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
May 22nd 2012



23667 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hahaha

Graveyard
May 22nd 2012



5395 Comments


"They're getting better with each album."

ugh

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
May 22nd 2012



23667 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hey man that's just uncalled fer

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
May 22nd 2012



23667 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

*I like each successive album more than its predecessor

Sorry

toolpeth182
May 25th 2012



190 Comments


Bloody Mary's intro definitely took some inspiration from m83's Run Into Flowers.

Waior
May 29th 2012



11421 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Skin Graph, Make Belief, Busy Bees, Simmer, The Pit and Out of Breath are above and away my favourite things this band has done.

Very pleasantly surprised by this album



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy