Trioscapes Separate Realities
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Omaha
Staff Reviewer
May 10th 2012


10482 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

But...



Dan Briggs...

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
May 10th 2012


4472 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

... Is a good man.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
May 10th 2012


10482 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Heck yes.



His parents were at the BTBAM show in Atlanta a couple years back. Or it may have been Tommy's parents. *shrugs* still, though. They were so cute, jamming along to Alaska.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
May 10th 2012


4472 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Wow, as a parent watching your son on stage performing in concert.

Must have been a proud moment.



Omaha
Staff Reviewer
May 10th 2012


10482 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I know it, man. Makes me happy.



And happiness just radiates from Dan - it's evident he loves everything he does, and that type of inherent joy is so refreshing from any musician these days. Sure, there are some that are obviously passionate, but Briggs is different.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
May 10th 2012


4472 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

He's very talented. He's a great Bassist, but i'm really loving everything he's doing. I'm a BTBAM fan, I love Orbs more and this album is just fantastic.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
May 10th 2012


10482 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I still have yet to check it out. I have a feeling I won't be quite as keen on it as you are, so perhaps I'll be able to expound on that in a review.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
May 10th 2012


4472 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@Omaha

Go for it, mate. You could probably find things that I overlooked or have a completely different opinion on it since you havent heard it. Anyway, I'd love to read your take. I enjoy reading the work of good writers like yourself ;]

bloc
May 10th 2012


35427 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Dunno guys, this is still pretty BTBAM-ish to me.

saucy
May 10th 2012


342 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I enjoy the slower songs / sections more than the frantic sections.



That said, album is great.

Wolfhorde
May 11th 2012


13821 Comments


The song streaming here didn't sound too bad and forunately(/surprisingly?) not too BTBAM-like, will probably check this out later.

Motiv3
May 11th 2012


8957 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

bloc, are you on crack? This sounds nothing like BTBAM at all. No offense dude.

dcha
May 11th 2012


990 Comments


They look like a couple of fucking dorks in that ad up there. One guy looks like he really needs to shit and the other has his mouth open.

bloc
May 11th 2012


35427 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's more of the fact that they use plenty of the same ideas, but they just execute them differently since there's no guitars, keys, etc. and instead there's a saxophone.

livingisland
May 11th 2012


527 Comments


The song I heard reminded me of some stuff off of Roxy & Elsewhere, if anyone is curious as to where the Zappa comparisons come from

balcaen
May 11th 2012


3183 Comments


This doesn't sound like BTBAM, but you'd have to be retarded to not notice the same patterns in
composition style and structure. Just because they aren't noodling away at a guitar with some dude
wailing away in the background doesn't mean THIS IS COMPLETELY DIFFERENT FROM BTBAM

something their fans don't seem to understand is that not everyone thinks complexity is the pinnacle
of music.

regardless, kind of an enjoyable listen, I guess.

bloc
May 11th 2012


35427 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'd probably take a BTBAM song over anything on this in the end.



I feel like there's only so much you can do with a sax, bass, and drums versus an entire band.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
May 11th 2012


4472 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@livingisland

good catch, Island. There is definitive Zappa-esque fusion influence in this album (Which is never bad).



@balcaen

You have a point. There is an enthusiasm for progressive elements that are very reminiscent to BTBAM specially Colors with

some cosmic synth that comes straight out of Orbs as well. But it's a good album i think.

Motiv3
May 11th 2012


8957 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

In terms of sound they are definitely different from btbam. The only thing at times which is really similar is Brigg's bass lines and thats natural because it is Brigg's playing style after all. Some of the progressive leanings you can suggest nods to BTBAM influence but thats only really because its Briggs who is part of the songwriting process. Fact is this is a jazz fusion project, BTBAM have no jazz fusion in their sound whatsoever.



"Just because they aren't noodling away at a guitar with some dude

wailing away in the background doesn't mean THIS IS COMPLETELY DIFFERENT FROM BTBAM"



That is not what I meant by that at all.



"something their fans don't seem to understand is that not everyone thinks complexity is the pinnacle

of music."



I don't think that either if that was directed towards me. Btw sorry Bloc for saying that you were on crack was a bit harsh haha.









bloc
May 11th 2012


35427 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

No worries man.



Think about a song on Colors or The Great Misdirect but replace almost all the guitars with a saxophone. It would sound a lot like this, no?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy