Storm Corrosion Storm Corrosion
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
May 2nd 2012


3554 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Thanks, I'll be downloading Ghost Reveries immediately.

Digging: Elder (USA-MA) - Lore

johnnydeking29
May 2nd 2012


9812 Comments


And then Morningrise

Digging: Ulver - Perdition City

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
May 2nd 2012


16138 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cool. Hope you like metal.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
May 2nd 2012


3554 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I only know that Akerfeldt is good at both growl and clean vocals and his guitar skills seem really good. I like metal though it's not my main interest.

johnnydeking29
May 2nd 2012


9812 Comments


You'll probs dig Opeth then

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
May 2nd 2012


16138 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, and if you care about drumming at all, Lopez is the best.

johnnydeking29
May 2nd 2012


9812 Comments


Lopez is a total beast, Masters Apprenctices and Deliverance...holy fuck. Angel, you just convinced me to listen to the whole of Deliverance
Also, the bass on Morningrise is epic

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
May 2nd 2012


16138 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, probably the best thing about Morningrise, Advent especially.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
May 2nd 2012


3554 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah I'm into manic drumming. I hope it's not exhausting though

MO
May 2nd 2012


19303 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

funny too because the old bassist left because he wanted the bass to have more prominance in the music but akerfeldt thought fuck that

Imperial
May 2nd 2012


1742 Comments


Drag ropes was okay, does it get better?

johnnydeking29
May 2nd 2012


9812 Comments


Haha, that's a pity; if albums like BWP had him in, they would be ridiculous

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
May 2nd 2012


16138 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Lol. Not like it's buried or anything in their later albums. Plus, Mendez is quite talented.

Dimor
May 2nd 2012


1839 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Well the other songs on there will basically hold the same style as Drag Ropes. But theyre all quite varied, and id say some songs are better than Drag Ropes, yes.

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
May 2nd 2012


16138 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Drag Ropes is one of my favorite tracks, but yeah, there's plenty of variation from that. The title track and Ljudet Innan are definitely also highlights.

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
May 2nd 2012


16138 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Haha, well, I profess to like some gay music here and there, but I'll certainly back up my preferences in any account. But I'm always glad to turn others onto some good jams.

plane
Emeritus
May 2nd 2012


6100 Comments


This album is fantastic idk guys

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
May 2nd 2012


16138 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Lewis gets it.

Wizard
May 2nd 2012


19767 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Lol. He has more soul in his voice in the beginning of Ljudet Innan than those two albums put together. I mean, you may prefer the types of vocal melodies he was doing back then, but his range is so much better now than it used to be. The vocals on here and on Heritage blow away everything else he's done.



Just sounds like you wanted a more typical guitar/bass/drums album. I'm personally glad they did something like this. Also probably didn't help going into the album with low expectations.




I really don't hear this but that just comes down to personal taste I guess. I really find his vocals dry, escpecially on Heritage.



And you're right, I went into this with low expectations because I was so let down with Heritage and the last Porcupine Tree album, especially with Heritage that was a complete jerk off to Camel and yet, sucked so hard because it failed from a dull production/ lazy performance. That's why I have no faith in both of these artists because they've abandoned what they do best in favour of trying to be jaded fuckheads because "we hate where music is going these days and we want to plagiarize these obscure bands we grew up with cuz we're better than you". This attitude is reflected in Storm Corrosion to the highest degree, hence another reason why I went into this with low expectations.



I wanted this to be a song oriented album because THAT'S what these artists do best, not slapped together folky organ dirges that have no rhyme or reason. Thank you for not taking this as me just trying to spite your taste in music or anything of that sort. Your rec's still rip my ears a new one.

Digging: Leviathan - Scar Sighted

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
May 2nd 2012


16138 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

In a way, I actually agree with you. It's just that I think they've taken those influences and

incorporated their own sounds within them to make some pretty unique and enjoyable music, and above

all, I appreciate that they're making music for themselves and not the fans.



And be assured, it's all love on my end, too, Karl.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy