Storm Corrosion Storm Corrosion
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
KILL
May 1st 2012


73037 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

and billz

Digging: Sandrose - Sandrose

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
May 1st 2012


16138 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Did I ever tell you I found original copies of Los Angeles and New Day Rising?

Wizard
May 1st 2012


19791 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Holy hell did this ever suck. I mean, I love atmospheric/ folk stuff but fuck, this went absolutely nowhere. And is it just me or did Mikael's vocals suddenly just start to suck? They sound so flat compared to his stuff with Opeth.



I love the review Angel but this is nothing to praise dude. Different strokes for different folks I guess.

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
May 1st 2012


16138 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Are you serious? His singing is better now than it's ever been.

zxlkho
May 1st 2012


3482 Comments


...are we listening to the same album??

drewcordova
May 1st 2012


705 Comments


Where the fuck did the voice from Ljudet Innan come from? I don't have perfect pitch, and can't pick out the notes that somebodies voice can hit. Can anybody tell me what notes he hits here compared to, say, Bleak?

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
May 1st 2012


16138 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Akerfeldt or Wilson?

IMZA1793
May 1st 2012


843 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I really don't get the hate for Grace For Drowning. I loved that album.

SpiritCrusher2
May 2nd 2012


3552 Comments


boring album

Wizard
May 2nd 2012


19791 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Are you serious? His singing is better now than it's ever been.



He had so much more soul to his voice on albums like Blackwater Park and Still Life. It just sounds like he struggles to make his notes ring out, especially when it's just him singing with no instruments. I notice it the most in those sections. And what the fuck were they on when they decided to put the music together? This is just a bunch of random folk licks and "Oh shit, watch me put my finger on the keyboard to create atmosphere". Really getting tired of both these guys, they used to be creative and amazing song writers.

SpiritCrusher2
May 2nd 2012


3552 Comments


"This is just a bunch of random folk licks and "Oh shit, watch me put my finger on the keyboard to create atmosphere"."

lol so true!

KILL
May 2nd 2012


73037 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

hans agrees

joplinpicasso
May 2nd 2012


427 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

The beginning of Ljudet Innan sounds like the title track on Kayo Dot's Gamma Knife, in my opinion.

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
May 2nd 2012


16138 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

He had so much more soul to his voice on albums like Blackwater Park and Still Life.






Lol. He has more soul in his voice in the beginning of Ljudet Innan than those two albums put

together. I mean, you may prefer the types of vocal melodies he was doing back then, but his range is

so much better now than it used to be. The vocals on here and on Heritage blow away everything else

he's done.



Just sounds like you wanted a more typical guitar/bass/drums album. I'm personally glad they did

something like this. Also probably didn't help going into the album with low expectations.

MO
May 2nd 2012


19403 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It is different from anything they've done before which is a nice change.

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
May 2nd 2012


16138 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hush, sweetie. The grown-ups are talking.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
May 2nd 2012


3575 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

As much as I like Wilson's work (I haven't listened to Opeth), this is boring. The better songs here are the title track and Ljudet Innan, but even those don't help much the album.

Digging: Ufomammut - Ecate

johnnydeking29
May 2nd 2012


9885 Comments


Listen to Opeth

Digging: Sleepytime Gorilla Museum - Of Natural History

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
May 2nd 2012


3575 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah but from what I read they're nowhere near Storm Corrosion. I'll give it a shot though, my friends are listening to them. Which album should I pick first ?

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
May 2nd 2012


16138 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ghost Reveries.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy