Paradise Lost Tragic Idol
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
bloc
April 25th 2012



34780 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Paradise Lost have finally completed their transition away from the electro-rock influences

WHOA WHOA WHOA

Electro-rock? I looove electro-rock! What album in particular has this sound, so I can make sure you ain't lying.

Digging: Interpol - El Pintor

Willie
Moderator
April 25th 2012



15914 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

One Second, Host and Believe in Nothing (to a lesser extent).

Digging: Nero Di Marte - Derivae

TrephineArtist
April 25th 2012



187 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great review (and very cool avatar!).

I haven't bought the album yet but from the few tracks i've heard I thought something was missing. The keyboards, varied vocals & electronics are such an important part of the PL sound. Still, I'm looking forward to hearing the whole album.



bloc
April 25th 2012



34780 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Thanks my man, I'll check out a few tracks from each on Youtube. But it's funny because those three albums are their lowest rated ones :P

Willie
Moderator
April 25th 2012



15914 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I haven't bought the album yet but from the few tracks i've heard I thought something was missing. The keyboards, varied vocals & electronics are such an important part of the PL sound. Still, I'm looking forward to hearing the whole album.
It's still a good album, but it has definitely lost an entire dimension of its sound.

Thanks my man, I'll check out a few tracks from each on Youtube. But it's funny because those three albums are their lowest rated ones :P
Of course they are. The band went from doom to electronics without any warning, and all the metalheads shit their pants.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
April 25th 2012



21791 Comments


The most noticeable problem created by the lack of electronic elements is that a whole undercurrent of melody is missing, and nothing is present to make up for it.

agree hard

Digging: Gesaffelstein - Aleph

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
April 25th 2012



21791 Comments


@Bloc, Host and Believe in Nothing are their synthrock albums (Believe in Nothing's heavier though) but more recently, Symbol of Life, their ST and In Requiem blend the catchy vocals and electronics from that era with the gothic metal/doom metal of their old stuff. So it's kinda dark, atmospheric and catchy at the same time. My favourite of their music is from those albums. Check them all out if you're into that stuff. I probably need to give their back catalogue a more thorough listen too tbh

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
April 25th 2012



6011 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Electro-rock? I looove electro-rock! What album in particular has this sound, so I can make sure you ain't lying.

One Second, Host and Believe in Nothing (to a lesser extent).

Add Symbol Of Life too bloc.



Edit: Oh wait, AnarchistFish mentioned that already, cool.

Digging: Troldhaugen - Obzkure Anekdotez For Maniakal Massez

bloc
April 25th 2012



34780 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Thanks for the info guys. Holy hell this band is appearing to have one hell of a roller-coaster discography. Will get into it asap.

Willie
Moderator
April 25th 2012



15914 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Report back. I'm interested to hear what you think of those albums as you check them out. Yeah, Symbol of Life, their ST and In Requiem blend the electro stuff with more of a metal edge and Symbol of Life & In Requiem are easily in my top five (maybe three) PL albums.

bloc
April 25th 2012



34780 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Will do

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
April 25th 2012



6011 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

One thing I would like to add is that the album works for me much better when heard during the small hours of the night.

Not sure why this holds, though...

Dreamflight
April 25th 2012



1760 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm also curious to hear his opinion about those albums. I like them, but again I've come to know this band during that specific era. Permanent Solution was the song that got me into them.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
April 25th 2012



21791 Comments


Erased got me into them and is still one of my favourites

Darkwatch025
April 25th 2012



174 Comments


Great review man. You stated everything perfectly. Although I really like Tragic Idol, I still prefer the use of clean vocals and electronics periodically. My favorite albums are actually Symbol of Life and the following Self-Titled record. I hope they go back in that direction again at some point. Those albums had the most memorable songs in my opinion. No Celebration, Redshift, Mystify, Erased, Shine, etc..

Apollo
April 26th 2012



10298 Comments


fantastic review Willie, I am inclined to rate this a 3.5 but a few more listens are in order

BallsToTheWall
April 26th 2012



44196 Comments


electro rock

Digging: My Chemical Romance - Three Cheers for Sweet Revenge

Tyrael
April 26th 2012



20828 Comments


'I doubt it.'

Screw you -.-

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
April 26th 2012



6011 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I expect Paradise Lost to play the whole album live track-by-track.

Its flow is really magnificent.

Willie
Moderator
April 26th 2012



15914 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

electro rock
Have to use the easiest-to-understand terms in order to reach the most people.

Screw you -.-
Ha ha, I meant that I doubt any of the staff would do it, but looking back I can see how that comment could be taken differently. I actually like Mechanical Animals.

I expect Paradise Lost to play the whole album live track-by-track.

Its flow is really magnificent.
That would upset a lot of people.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy