Marilyn Manson Born Villain
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Tyrael
April 26th 2012



20394 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

^^^

And lol that You're So Vain cover is so much fun

Digging: Lantlos - Melting Sun

WhiteNoise
April 26th 2012



2874 Comments


Wow "Murderers" is a fuckin' awesome song!

Digging: Eagulls - Eagulls

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
April 26th 2012



20199 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

take back what I said about No Reflection sucking, it does actually have quite a groove.

not sure about the rest of the album though. I think I still by far prefer THEOL

Digging: YG - My Krazy Life

BassDemon333
April 26th 2012



3291 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This shits all over High End though

Digging: Chevelle - La Gargola

Tyrael
April 26th 2012



20394 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I like how this album (finally) finds them putting more emphasis on the rhytm section

some tracks have really great bass for example (such as The Gardener)

Four Rusted Horses was my fav track off of THOL too so yea

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
April 26th 2012



3155 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Twiggy in general is putting more emphasis on the rhythm section, he doesn't have many solos on this or THEOL.

Digging: Amplifier - Echo Street

BassDemon333
April 26th 2012



3291 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I always thought Twiggy was a better bassist than guitarist, although some of the bands most famous riffs were written by him

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
April 26th 2012



3155 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Well, I am happy he can actually play the songs well live on guitar, unlike in 2009 when he missed a lot of notes. For example, Rock Is Dead at RockAmRing.

Tyrael
April 26th 2012



20394 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Also... how good are marilyn's vocals in Lay Down Your Goddamn Arms' chorus? Damn!

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
April 26th 2012



20199 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This shits all over High End though

yeah except no

Tyrael
April 26th 2012



20394 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

AF I liked THOL too but come on

this is like the perfect blend of old and new

except for the part where it's not really perfect

goddamn
April 26th 2012



4 Comments


Ive heard it all on youtube now-its a VERY average album aside from a couple of great tracks (goddamn arms+murders). You can tell goddamn arms has been over produced to the max to make him actually sound like he can sing, LOL, but it works! ..and murders is fast and hard rock. Great. The rest however is just not memorable enough, and some of the better tracks I would even say could have been re-sung or re-produced to sound far better. I liked the NIN sounding pistol whipped, and slow-motion), but with the rest, even compared to the last couple of albums, this is simply not as good. It sounds like he is either trying too hard, or not enough. There are far too many tracks, it would have been a much stronger album without all the tracks that sound like b-sides. The last two albums were more laid back, but the song writing and choruses there were more memorable-apart from the 4 tracks above, the rest of this album is boring. The first time I heard no reflection I had to turn it off half way through. The first time Ive ever done that to a MM track, and on a re-listen not much has changed. Dull.

A disappointment. The band needs a far better guitarist to get mansons songwriting skills on a constant level, as with MA and HW, not ex-NIN chris vrenna to use manson as his personal on the side experiment. This does not sound like an album-it doesnt have much of an overall feel compared with the rest-and they need to do better with those current album covers too, lol.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
April 26th 2012



20199 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

AF I liked THOL too but come on

this is like the perfect blend of old and new

except for the part where it's not really perfect

To be fair, I'm probably biased since THOL was the first album he released after I got into him.
But this is really boring. I like the industrial guitar tone, but everything else...

BassDemon333
April 26th 2012



3291 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

High End has some good tracks but hes done so much better, compared to the three albums hes known most for its horrid. This is the best hes done since Holy Wood imo.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
April 26th 2012



20199 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

nah, no way. Out of all the albums I've heard by him (all of them except parts of EMDM and Portrait...) this is my least favourite so far. And actually, there's more I enjoy from those parts of EMDM than from this as a whole.

Holy Wood and Mechanical Animals are definitely his best

bloc
April 26th 2012



34489 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Guys guys guys....

Golden Age is EASILY top gun.

Digging: Gamma Ray - Empire of the Undead

Acanthus
April 26th 2012



9506 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Holy Wood and Mechanical Animals are definitely his best

Mech. is a snooze-fest for me, it can't hold my attention.

This is, like the interview I linked on the first page said, Manson going back and creating an album that soundwise fits before his others; he's going back to the basics, and in a way recreating who he is for this new non-shock-rocker age.



Digging: Symphony X - Paradise Lost

Acanthus
April 26th 2012



9506 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Golden Age is EASILY top gun.

Fuck yes!

BassDemon333
April 26th 2012



3291 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

golden age is easily his most industrial, which is part of why its so awesome

bloc
April 26th 2012



34489 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

For sure man. I listened to it like a madman during my last year in high school.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy