Death Grips The Money Store
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Archelaos
April 25th 2012


241 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

carouse: Very fair point. See, that's why I was confused a few pages back when someone said that the
review reads more like a 2/5, because I actually gave it quite a bit of praise. Aside the vocals
(which really are the largest detractor for me (and a big one at that)) I'm most bothered by the
scatterbrained nature of the album. I think the lyrics are brilliant for the most part, but it's hard
to enjoy them when I only really like Burnett's voice when it's being manipulated and contorted.
Whenever the user panel gets fixed I'll probably go back and spruce this up a bit, maybe add another
paragraph fleshing out a few of my criticisms. Thanks for the input.

Wolfhorde
April 25th 2012


13293 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Damn it, so I can't be all over it making fun of Tyr. :[

carouse
April 25th 2012


300 Comments


Fair enough; and trust me, it doesn't bring the review down very much at all, I was more just curious than anything. As for the vocals- I think it's pretty obvious that they are what creates a sharp divide, as (even though this may sound like a copout, it seems to hold true for the most part) those not accustomed to a more raw or aggressive aesthetic in the vocal department tend to enjoy this much less. I have to admit that they put me off originally, too.


MalleusMaleficarum
April 25th 2012


14327 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Blackjack

plane
Staff Reviewer
April 25th 2012


6094 Comments


Great review! From the songs I've listened to, this seems to be the more correct opinion around these parts. I especially like your final sentence.

Wolfhorde
April 25th 2012


13293 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

"those not accustomed to a more raw or aggressive aesthetic in the vocal department tend to enjoy this much less. I have to admit that they put me off originally, too."
Please define "raw or aggressive aesthetic in the vocal department". I've been listening to music with "harsh/raw/aggressive" vocals for 5 years and I still don't like the vocals here for the most part.

Tyrael
April 25th 2012


20876 Comments


When I hear someone say 'raw vocals' I think of Garm's vocals on Borknagar's s/t

Digging: Darkspace - Dark Space III I

Fugue
April 25th 2012


7353 Comments


cool review, correct rating.

carouse
April 25th 2012


300 Comments


"Please define "raw or aggressive aesthetic in the vocal department". I've been listening to music with "harsh/raw/aggressive" vocals for 5 years and I still don't like the vocals here for the most part."

Obviously it was a generalization with exceptions.

iFghtffyrdmns
April 25th 2012


7047 Comments


awesome
POS

Archelaos
April 25th 2012


241 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

planewreck: Thank you kindly =]

carouse: I'm accustomed to and predisposed to liking heavier, or 'grittier' stuff, I just feel like the vocals on The Money Store are a little forced and exaggerated at points. I get what you're saying though, it's something that people will either welcome or be put off by. Even though I don't think my rating will climb any higher than this, this album still has its moments, and I've certainly been playing it a lot to see what sticks with me and what doesn't. Thankfully, I'm able to enjoy a few tracks from the experience.

Wolfhorde
April 25th 2012


13293 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

"Obviously it was a generalization with exceptions."
Idk, it seems pretty far fetched since usually people don't have the same criteria for different styles of music. I definitely don't wanna hear someone rap in growls. (as much as I don't give shit about death metal lyrics) Also, as already implied - it's pretty vague. You could mean punk, you could mean hardcore, you could mean certain styles of metal, you could even mean EBM/industrial and whatnot. Or all of them, which would kinda lead back to the question of criteria.

Archelaos
April 25th 2012


241 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Wolfhorde: Haha, you just gave me a pretty amusing mental image.

Wolfhorde
April 25th 2012


13293 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

You would not want to know what happens in rehearsel rooms when everyone is too drunk to play actual songs.

kitsch
April 25th 2012


5107 Comments


This record cover has been all over what are you listening to threads.

For someone that usually finds even the most "quality" or "groundbreaking" hiphop boring, is this even worth hearing?

kitsch
April 25th 2012


5107 Comments


Lol planewreq "correct opinion"? Do you realize how douchey that makes you sound?

Polymath
April 25th 2012


3836 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

This is pure energy, it's sort of a love/hate. You should check it out though.

chambered69
April 25th 2012


1253 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

pure awesome

BewilderedLemon
April 25th 2012


123 Comments


Anyone who says an album is overrated in a review summary should be banned from reviewing.

Gyromania
April 25th 2012


15706 Comments






You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy