Arctic Monkeys Whatever People Say I Am, That's What...
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DFelon204409
Emeritus
March 24th 2006



3995 Comments


Zesty, reviews and other things do pick up on the general opinion versus an opinion of quality. In many reviews for summer blockbuster movies, a reviewer will admit that the movie is just a summer blockbuster but then qualify the movie within that paradigm. Saying "it's good for a mindless action movie" let's people know what kind of quality set we're dealing with. Mindless people are probably going to think it's a good movie and people with a brain are going to probably think it's good for a mindless action movie.

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
March 24th 2006



15732 Comments


Of all the debates at Sputnik, DFelon, I give you props for being the best at supporting your opinion.This Message Edited On 03.24.06

Two-Headed Boy
March 24th 2006



4527 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Damn, this was fun to read.

Zesty Mordant
March 24th 2006



1196 Comments


Well that's what I was getting at.
Now I'm just confused as to what I should be arguing about.

Liberi Fatali
Emeritus
March 24th 2006



1588 Comments


His pedigree is his self-education and what he has accomplished. You're citing a 1/1000000 case in all of drop outs. Citing one example contrary to the norm doesn't excuse all the cases of drop outs failing. It's only for people like Steve Jobs and Bill Gates who are going to establish their worth outside of education that you can make the assertion that it doesn't matter.

Well now that is a hyperbole if I've ever seen one. The most famous poet in my country, Hone Tuwhare, was a high school drop out. Furthermore he worked in a steel mill for half his life. Yet his works would easily diminish that of any university graduates. There are many more success stories like him out there.

As such I hold everybodies opinions in equally high regard, unless the repeatedly prove to be an idiot.

Anyway this isn't the place to argue, so back to the Arctic Monkies.This Message Edited On 03.24.06

DFelon204409
Emeritus
March 24th 2006



3995 Comments


It was about lyrics at first. I'm asserting that because I have certain qualifications to be able to understand the quality of creative writing that my opinion is closer than Mr. Amsterdam's to being accurate. I'm not saying he's not entitled to his opinion on the lyrical quality and he may even have superior qualifications we don't know about, but I'm trying to argue that my opinion is better on the giving information at hand, as dick as that is. That initial assertion spawned a lot of tangential arguments about the nature of opinion.

DFelon204409
Emeritus
March 24th 2006



3995 Comments


[quote=liberi]Well now that is a hyperbole if I've ever seen one. The most famous poet in my country, Hone Tuwhare, was a high school drop out. Yet his works would easily diminish that of any university graduates. There are many more success stories like him out there.[/quote]

Success stories like his are glorified and romanticized so that their prevalence is inflated in the eyes of the public. I did a study where I worked last year to investigate investor bias. One of the typical questions to test for this is to ask "what is the more likely cause of death? shark attack or dying in the bathtub." Nationally, in this study, people typically choose shark attack because when a shark attack occurs it turns into a large source of news reports and there are even movies like Jaws that popularize the notion that sharks are man eaters. Dying in the bathtub isn't something a whole nation gets fascinated by so it is underrepresented in the news and in the mind of the public, which leads most people to incorrectly pick shark attacks. You're citing success stories whose frequency are greatly inflated. The fact of the matter is that you have a better chance of succeeding in life if you were to have a college degree versus not. It's a proven fact.

Two-Headed Boy
March 24th 2006



4527 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

DFelon's right. Can't we all just get along?

DFelon204409
Emeritus
March 24th 2006



3995 Comments


Don't worry we are getting along. It's just a debate.

Two-Headed Boy
March 24th 2006



4527 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Certainly more exciting than Canada's PM debate in January.
Zing!

Two-Headed Boy
March 24th 2006



4527 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Just call me Rick Mercer.

Liberi Fatali
Emeritus
March 24th 2006



1588 Comments


Success stories like his are glorified and romanticized so that their prevalence is inflated in the eyes of the public. I did a study where I worked last year to investigate investor bias. One of the typical questions to test for this is to ask "what is the more likely cause of death? shark attack or dying in the bathtub." Nationally, in this study, people typically choose shark attack because when a shark attack occurs it turns into a large source of news reports and there are even movies like Jaws that popularize the notion that sharks are man eaters. Dying in the bathtub isn't something a whole nation gets fascinated by so it is underrepresented in the news and in the mind of the public, which leads most people to incorrectly pick shark attacks. You're citing success stories whose frequency are greatly inflated. The fact of the matter is that you have a better chance of succeeding in life if you were to have a college degree versus not. It's a proven fact.

In such a subjective and creative artform, you seem to put a lot of weight behind education. Success stories aren't common place, but they certainly are around. My point is that straight away you tried to dismiss his opinion, because we don't know his education. When he could quite easily have a a wealth of knowledge in that field.

Who will be the better prime minister is often a subjective decision. Yet we give everybody the same amount of say in who will be elected. As such I will hold his opinion in equally high regard to yours.

Now stop dragging me back into this. >.This Message Edited On 03.24.06

DFelon204409
Emeritus
March 24th 2006



3995 Comments


How democratic of you. I agree to end it. On the condition that you write another Game OST review n00b. Mwahahah

CharmlessMan
March 25th 2006



169 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is a wicked album, I heard the hype surrounding these young blokes and they were touted as the new Oasis and all that, so I grabbed the album and was not dissapointed at all. Speaks unbelievable amounts of truth.

victums_77
March 26th 2006



3 Comments


This cd's rilly awsome.. but i wus really distracted by the doobies on the cd and on the back cover..

Two-Headed Boy
March 26th 2006



4527 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Those aren't doobies. Those are cigarettes.

El_Goodo
March 26th 2006



1008 Comments


I've listened to a few of their songs and this may one day go down as one of the most over-rated albums of all time

Two-Headed Boy
March 26th 2006



4527 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

So... apparently you only have to listen to a few songs to call this an over-rated album now. What have I been doing?

yatesy
March 27th 2006



3 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Lol good comments, im surprised most reviews of this album on itunes are either one extreme or the other, people swearing theyre the saviour of british rock or there an awful three chord band (we all know no one can take status quo's title). Personally i dont see why they cant just be excepted as very good. Which they are, musical they may not be the most orginal thing but their lyrics are such a breathe of fresh air, especially in the days of the subways. be my, be my, rock and roll queen!? now there is one over rated band... anyway less of the bitching session. summary. dont believe the hype, just enjoy the band....

Knoxvillelives
March 27th 2006



342 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I love the album, but the cover is absolutely awful
I think the lyrics (as a 16 year old British lad from up norf) are the best I've ever heard. Everyone I know loves the album, it speaks to us and that's what it was meant to do.
The fact that it's become the fastest selling Britisih debut album is just ace.




You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy