Torche Harmonicraft
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Tyrael
April 18th 2012



20707 Comments


I asked for this to get featured for obvious reasons

CaptainDooRight
April 18th 2012



28296 Comments


"Stoner rock always wins!"

:] hopefully this holds true to the presumed expectations

Digging: IQ - The Road of Bones

Cerbyrus
April 18th 2012



568 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Definitely going to get this. Torche rules.

WeepingBanana
April 19th 2012



10035 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is so awesome so far

deathofasalesman
April 19th 2012



5808 Comments


I think you may as well be one of the best reviewers on this site man.

Awesome work, will probably check this one out.

SteelErectedb4you8er
April 19th 2012



2613 Comments


Awesome review, greg. I couldn't agree more. And also, deathofasalesman is right, you have become such a great reviewer.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
April 19th 2012



7305 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks everyone for your kind words. Much appreciated.

Kiss Me Dudely has to be the new anthem for brocore movement. ;)

Digging: Dog Fashion Disco - Sweet Nothings

Photon
April 19th 2012



1292 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah you can tell they were really having fun making this record when you listen to that song. As mentioned before, this review needs to be featured.

MalleusMaleficarum
April 19th 2012



13572 Comments


haha thats cool

this album is pretty fuckin awesome

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
April 19th 2012



7311 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Is it just me or does their vocalist sound quite a bit like Chris Cornell (that's a compliment)?

First listen, really enjoyed this.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
April 20th 2012



7305 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I don't think their vocals are all that alike despite quite similar register. The music, on the other hand, resembles Superunknown era Soundgarden at times.

deathofasalesman
April 20th 2012



5808 Comments


"When we demo the vocals the way it works is that Steve feeds off of the music and sings wordless melodies. Then we listen to it over and over and write words based on what it sounds like Steve is saying" - SPIN track by track

Now it's starting to all make sense.


That's exactly what The Mars Volta does. I find it pretty silly and a bit uninspired but I guess it works.

Funeralopolis
April 20th 2012



10980 Comments


Hmm this sounds like it would be right up my alley.

Digging: Islander - Violence and Destruction

Funeralopolis
April 20th 2012



10980 Comments


Yea I know Linkin Park also does that.

DrGunther
April 20th 2012



184 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I thought the upbeat vocals were going to put me off this, but it's pretty good on first listen, really enjoying it. Soundgarden mixed with stoner rock sounds like my cup of tea. Pos'd as usual Greg, keep 'em coming.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
April 20th 2012



7305 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks mate. That's a really cool album you're digging.

Also check out the self-titled album by Floor. It's the previous band of Torche. Both LPs share the same approach to songwriting. Floor is much heavier though.

DrGunther
April 20th 2012



184 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah, the Lowrider album is great, but not many ratings for it on here! Also been listening to the Lowrider/Nebula Split EP which is also worth trying out.

I'll have to get into the habit of writing reviews for some of these, it's a shame to see so few ratings for the likes of Fu Manchu, Nebula, Lowrider and Solace.

Cheers, I'll give Floor a go at some point as well.

lucazade22
April 22nd 2012



531 Comments


tight call but I think this is better than Meanderthal!

bloc
April 22nd 2012



34649 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I love how catchy and melodic this is

Digging: Anberlin - Lowborn

Wizard
April 22nd 2012



19206 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

realm of stoner rock.

I don't see how fuzzy guitars = stoner. That is the only connection I could make with stoner rock/ metal concerning these guys. In my mind, they're in a league of their own.

I like the review though. I think you could have focused more on the fact they lost their main songwriter last year, yet somehow managed to tighten up an already tight sound minus the inclusion of a key player. Oh well, that's just tid bit factual stuff. Your reviews are still always good to read Greg.

Digging: Merzbow - Dust of Dreams



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy