In Mourning The Weight of Oceans
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
KILL
May 29th 2012


71955 Comments


hey143

Digging: Exodus - Blood In, Blood Out

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
May 29th 2012


8371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0


They will never come close to Shrouded Divine. That was a nice, concise album. A standard time for a Melo-death album should be 40 mins; no more, no less.
Oh don't get me wrong, I also prefer Shrouded Divine, I just happen to like this a lot as well.

JizzInMyPants
May 29th 2012


2371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this album >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> SD

Emyay
June 1st 2012


5968 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

first track is the tits. other tracks have their memorable moments as well. looking forward to listening to this more. need like 3 more listens before i rate. lookin like a 3.5 so far though.

D41V30N
June 1st 2012


949 Comments


Those growl hooks in Colossus. Jizz.

XfingTheSullen
June 7th 2012


2714 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Haven't heard shrouded divine, but this album is much better than monolith. That one simply had that distinct quality to their riffs which was simply tiresome. The melodies sucked all the energy out of the listener. Weight of the Oceans doesn't do that, it does the opposite. Oh, and Colossus beats Black Lodge by a mile.

Digging: Scar Symmetry - The Singularity (Phase 1 ? Neohumanity)

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
June 7th 2012


8371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Black Lodge is from Shrouded Divine, dude. You know, the album you said you hadn't heard.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
June 7th 2012


16437 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I like "Black Lodge" better as the band's best song, but "Colossus" is very, very close.

Digging: Swallowed - Lunarterial

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
June 7th 2012


8371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

In a weird way, Black Lodge isn't even my favorite off Shrouded Divine haha.

XfingTheSullen
June 7th 2012


2714 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Um... weren't you referring to "The Final Solution (Entering the Black Lodge)"? That one's off Monolith O_o and yeah, it's worse than Colossus

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
June 7th 2012


8371 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nope, the song that everyone are referring to is the Black Lodge off Shrouded Divine (hint: these guys have a grand total of 3 songs with the name "Black Lodge" in the title)

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
June 7th 2012


16437 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah I'm referring to the one from their debut, track 7.

trilogique21
June 14th 2012


422 Comments


yeah this is too long, but some songs are solid

Michichachi
June 15th 2012


37 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Amazing album!

Acanthus
June 19th 2012


9543 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Heard this through headphones for the first time, so much better than through my laptop speakers.

The bass work on this is surprisingly fun, had to bump the rating up.

Digging: The Knife - Deep Cuts

Popabubb
July 2nd 2012


61 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The more I listen to this the more I absolutely fucking love this album. Definitely a AOTY contender with Koloss at this point.

D41V30N
July 3rd 2012


949 Comments


Opening track is one of the best this year. The rest is meh.

NonApplicable
July 15th 2012


1989 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This kinda bored me. Although not really my genre.

Emyay
July 16th 2012


5968 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah first track is the only truly good track here. The rest of the tracks have their moments, but overall don't come together that well. I still enjoy it as an album, but I just feel like it could have been better.

NonApplicable
July 27th 2012


1989 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I change my mind. This really grew on me. I however agree, that certain moments steal the show rather
than songs being consistent throughout.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy