In Mourning The Weight of Oceans
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Ending
April 14th 2012


1914 Comments


I expected you'd review this. A 4 seems just right for this right now.

chambered69
April 14th 2012


1253 Comments


did someone say shiny paper

Acanthus
April 14th 2012


9542 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

First review I actually read all the way through in quite some time, this sounds really appealing.

Digging: Falls of Rauros - The Light That Dwells in Rotten Wood

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
April 14th 2012


16390 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks man, definitely check it out.

Digging: Spectral Lore - III

Acanthus
April 14th 2012


9542 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah the stream is reminding me of Opeth's "Leper Affinity" but without the cleans (so far). Really liking this.

CaptainDooRight
April 14th 2012


29131 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

good album, I've listened to it straight through 3 times already, may grow though.

Digging: Kangding Ray - Solens Arc

Pebster49
April 15th 2012


2992 Comments


This album is outstanding, the first song blew me away.

Nifkin
April 15th 2012


90 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Solid album, a couple of weak tracks, but nothing too bad. Nothing beats their first album.

Lethe
April 15th 2012


19 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Normally I avoid catchy songs like the plague as anything I get tired of anything that's too saccharin sweet. But, I doubt "Collosus" would be topped by any other band for the metal track of 2012. An amazing feat by In Mourning.

Keyblade
April 15th 2012


14835 Comments


Great review. Heard Celestial Tear the other day and was pleasantly surprised. Gonna give it a spin now, and if it's anything like Shrouded then studying for this lame quiz should be a breeze.

Digging: Strawberry Switchblade - Strawberry Switchblade

Wolfhorde
April 15th 2012


13300 Comments


Is this as good as their debut ? Because Monolith was a bit of a downer for me.

Wizard
April 15th 2012


19402 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I think the fact that you are missing the technicality is a large part of why you dislike this so much, but I think that it really is not a big deal because this band was never overly technical in the first place.

Their technicality was highlighted in their heavier sections, usually in the form of some off-beat chugging with a cool melody lingering over the riff. As generic as that sounds, they did it well on those albums and now they've just seemed to forget the heaviness and totally forgot how to write interesting little sections within their songs in favour of some generic melo-death. If only they could have written an album as great as this review though : ).

Digging: Khonsu - Traveller

XfingTheSullen
April 15th 2012


2616 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I might check this out, these guys are pretty interesting for prog/melodeath

Digging: Kalisia - Cybion

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
April 15th 2012


16390 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Is this as good as their debut ? Because Monolith was a bit of a downer for me.


It's close. Certainly better than Monolith.

Motiv3
April 15th 2012


8932 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'd say Monolith and this are about the same if im honest. I liked Monolith better than some people though.

Digging: Punch - They Don?t Have To Believe

XfingTheSullen
April 15th 2012


2616 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Monolith was quite cool but the melodies weren't too pleasant to listen to in the long run.

bloc
April 15th 2012


34848 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This isn't that great...

Digging: Interpol - El Pintor

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
April 15th 2012


1992 Comments


Yeah, I wasn't too impressed. I was sorta bored by it. First track ruled hard, but then the second kicked in and...

Meh.

Dimor
April 15th 2012


1758 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Its pretty allright
3.0 - 3.5 at the very most though

buddhaabdi
April 15th 2012


103 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

these guys fucking kills, 3rd album in a row that kicks fucking ass. Their debut is still the best though.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy