In Mourning The Weight of Oceans
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Ending
April 14th 2012



1889 Comments


I expected you'd review this. A 4 seems just right for this right now.

chambered69
April 14th 2012



1253 Comments


did someone say shiny paper

Acanthus
April 14th 2012



9537 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

First review I actually read all the way through in quite some time, this sounds really appealing.

Digging: The Cure - The Head on the Door

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
April 14th 2012



16246 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks man, definitely check it out.

Acanthus
April 14th 2012



9537 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah the stream is reminding me of Opeth's "Leper Affinity" but without the cleans (so far). Really liking this.

CaptainDooRight
April 14th 2012



28321 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

good album, I've listened to it straight through 3 times already, may grow though.

Digging: IQ - The Road of Bones

Pebster49
April 15th 2012



2991 Comments


This album is outstanding, the first song blew me away.

Nifkin
April 15th 2012



90 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Solid album, a couple of weak tracks, but nothing too bad. Nothing beats their first album.

Digging: BYRTA - BYRTA

Lethe
April 15th 2012



19 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Normally I avoid catchy songs like the plague as anything I get tired of anything that's too saccharin sweet. But, I doubt "Collosus" would be topped by any other band for the metal track of 2012. An amazing feat by In Mourning.

Keyblade
April 15th 2012



14241 Comments


Great review. Heard Celestial Tear the other day and was pleasantly surprised. Gonna give it a spin now, and if it's anything like Shrouded then studying for this lame quiz should be a breeze.

Digging: Phlebotomized - Immense, Intense, Suspense

Wolfhorde
April 15th 2012



12070 Comments


Is this as good as their debut ? Because Monolith was a bit of a downer for me.

Wizard
April 15th 2012



19210 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I think the fact that you are missing the technicality is a large part of why you dislike this so much, but I think that it really is not a big deal because this band was never overly technical in the first place.

Their technicality was highlighted in their heavier sections, usually in the form of some off-beat chugging with a cool melody lingering over the riff. As generic as that sounds, they did it well on those albums and now they've just seemed to forget the heaviness and totally forgot how to write interesting little sections within their songs in favour of some generic melo-death. If only they could have written an album as great as this review though : ).

Digging: Monarch - Sabbracadaver

XfingTheSullen
April 15th 2012



2372 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I might check this out, these guys are pretty interesting for prog/melodeath

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
April 15th 2012



16246 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Is this as good as their debut ? Because Monolith was a bit of a downer for me.


It's close. Certainly better than Monolith.

Motiv3
April 15th 2012



8920 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'd say Monolith and this are about the same if im honest. I liked Monolith better than some people though.

Digging: Opeth - Pale Communion

XfingTheSullen
April 15th 2012



2372 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Monolith was quite cool but the melodies weren't too pleasant to listen to in the long run.

bloc
April 15th 2012



34669 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This isn't that great...

Digging: Anberlin - Lowborn

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
April 15th 2012



1981 Comments


Yeah, I wasn't too impressed. I was sorta bored by it. First track ruled hard, but then the second kicked in and...

Meh.

Digging: Rx Bandits - Gemini, Her Majesty

Dimor
April 15th 2012



1750 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Its pretty allright
3.0 - 3.5 at the very most though

buddhaabdi
April 15th 2012



102 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

these guys fucking kills, 3rd album in a row that kicks fucking ass. Their debut is still the best though.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy