Dead Sara Dead Sara
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
PuddlesPuddles
April 12th 2012



4765 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I didn't think it would be so JET-like given the dark and moody artwork, I thought it would be a bit heavier and ballsier... and I don't know, "weatherman", her voice sounds like its always in danger of going sour

Irving
Staff Reviewer
April 12th 2012



7143 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I didn't think it would be so JET-like given the dark and moody artwork

Eh wut.

pizzamachine
April 12th 2012



12571 Comments


Nice review! I sort of like this, but the singer irks me.

NateT
April 12th 2012



185 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think she's damn sexy haha

iswimfast
April 12th 2012



1260 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Oh wow. This is awesome so far.

farglesnuff
April 12th 2012



241 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

im very intrigued.

Funeralopolis
April 12th 2012



11025 Comments


"On their very first studio outing, Dead Sara have created a record that people will be talking about for years to come; perhaps even on a scale that rivals other debuts of myth and legend such as Arcade Fire’s Funeral and The Strokes’ Is This It. When viewed through such a prism, the achievement seems all the more remarkable; hell, it’s almost as if the band have created the perfect debut through sheer force of will alone."

4/5

Digging: RATKING - So It Goes

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
April 12th 2012



15332 Comments


After hearing a few songs I'm pretty excited about this.

Pos'd

Digging: Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds - Abattoir Blues/The Lyre of Orpheus

Funeralopolis
April 12th 2012



11025 Comments


damn this is energetic

LifeAsAChipmunk
April 12th 2012



4854 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Pretty awesome stuff.

theacademy
April 13th 2012



28240 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

im actually pretty surprised you compare her to THAT michelle and not the WAY MORE FUCKING OBVIOUS COMPARABLE (REDACTED (but quoted below anyway...))... lol



Irving
Staff Reviewer
April 13th 2012



7143 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"On their very first studio outing, Dead Sara have created a record that people will be talking about for years to come; perhaps even on a scale that rivals other debuts of myth and legend such as Arcade Fire’s Funeral and The Strokes’ Is This It. When viewed through such a prism, the achievement seems all the more remarkable; hell, it’s almost as if the band have created the perfect debut through sheer force of will alone."

4/5


Yeah...I recognize the incongruousness in labeling an album "perfect" and then giving it a less-than-perfect score. I did it because the album is, despite its obvious awesomeness, objectively really a 4 (arguably even a 3.5), despite being just about perfect on an operational level. Even if all the songs are tightly composed and well arranged - and I'd be lying if I came out and said that I didn't derive at least some degree of enjoyment from each of the pieces - is it worth slapping a 5/5 on? No; at least not yet. That only comes with transcendentalism, which in turn only comes with time and repeat listens.

Haha, I hope that that explanation was a bit clearer than an Atlantic fog at midnight.

theacademy
April 13th 2012



28240 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i mean i love branch but i just don't hear it

Irving
Staff Reviewer
April 13th 2012



7143 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

im actually pretty surprised you compare her to THAT michelle and not the WAY MORE FUCKING OBVIOUS COMPARABLE michelle lol

Which one? o.O I racked my brains for a second there and came up with nadda. Who're you referring to?

theacademy
April 13th 2012



28240 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

wow never mind my retarded comment

i just spent like 40 seconds searching wikipedia/youtube for "michelle etheridge"

i really need some sleep lol... regardless

http://youtu.be/Ckt0TuK0qv0



Irving
Staff Reviewer
April 13th 2012



7143 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

After hearing a few songs I'm pretty excited about this.

Pos'd


Ily.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
April 13th 2012



7143 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

wow never mind my retarded comment

i just spent like 40 seconds searching wikipedia/youtube for "michelle etheridge"

i really need some sleep lol... regardless

http://youtu.be/Ckt0TuK0qv0


I actually can't remember what Etheridge sounds like. I'll give it a listen and decide whether I want to change my review (probably won't though, cause I totally hear Branch on "Dear Love"; maybe it's just me).

theacademy
April 13th 2012



28240 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i wouldn't say you'd have to change it but the etheridge comparison hit me like a brick wall

theacademy
April 13th 2012



28240 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

http://youtu.be/5HcKt1XpvzQ

theacademy
April 13th 2012



28240 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

damn i can't make that clickable but it's "Let Me Go"



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy