Dead Sara Dead Sara
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
PuddlesPuddles
April 12th 2012



4772 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I didn't think it would be so JET-like given the dark and moody artwork, I thought it would be a bit heavier and ballsier... and I don't know, "weatherman", her voice sounds like its always in danger of going sour

Irving
Staff Reviewer
April 12th 2012



7164 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I didn't think it would be so JET-like given the dark and moody artwork

Eh wut.

Digging: Ty Segall - Manipulator

pizzamachine
April 12th 2012



12571 Comments


Nice review! I sort of like this, but the singer irks me.

NateT
April 12th 2012



185 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think she's damn sexy haha

iswimfast
April 12th 2012



1288 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Oh wow. This is awesome so far.

Digging: A Sunny Day in Glasgow - Sea When Absent

farglesnuff
April 12th 2012



241 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

im very intrigued.

Funeralopolis
April 12th 2012



11215 Comments


"On their very first studio outing, Dead Sara have created a record that people will be talking about for years to come; perhaps even on a scale that rivals other debuts of myth and legend such as Arcade Fire’s Funeral and The Strokes’ Is This It. When viewed through such a prism, the achievement seems all the more remarkable; hell, it’s almost as if the band have created the perfect debut through sheer force of will alone."

4/5

Digging: Banks - Goddess

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
April 12th 2012



15859 Comments


After hearing a few songs I'm pretty excited about this.

Pos'd

Digging: Maybeshewill - Fair Youth

Funeralopolis
April 12th 2012



11215 Comments


damn this is energetic

LifeAsAChipmunk
April 12th 2012



4854 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Pretty awesome stuff.

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
April 13th 2012



28421 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

im actually pretty surprised you compare her to THAT michelle and not the WAY MORE FUCKING OBVIOUS COMPARABLE (REDACTED (but quoted below anyway...))... lol



Digging: Kimbra - The Golden Echo

Irving
Staff Reviewer
April 13th 2012



7164 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"On their very first studio outing, Dead Sara have created a record that people will be talking about for years to come; perhaps even on a scale that rivals other debuts of myth and legend such as Arcade Fire’s Funeral and The Strokes’ Is This It. When viewed through such a prism, the achievement seems all the more remarkable; hell, it’s almost as if the band have created the perfect debut through sheer force of will alone."

4/5


Yeah...I recognize the incongruousness in labeling an album "perfect" and then giving it a less-than-perfect score. I did it because the album is, despite its obvious awesomeness, objectively really a 4 (arguably even a 3.5), despite being just about perfect on an operational level. Even if all the songs are tightly composed and well arranged - and I'd be lying if I came out and said that I didn't derive at least some degree of enjoyment from each of the pieces - is it worth slapping a 5/5 on? No; at least not yet. That only comes with transcendentalism, which in turn only comes with time and repeat listens.

Haha, I hope that that explanation was a bit clearer than an Atlantic fog at midnight.

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
April 13th 2012



28421 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i mean i love branch but i just don't hear it

Irving
Staff Reviewer
April 13th 2012



7164 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

im actually pretty surprised you compare her to THAT michelle and not the WAY MORE FUCKING OBVIOUS COMPARABLE michelle lol

Which one? o.O I racked my brains for a second there and came up with nadda. Who're you referring to?

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
April 13th 2012



28421 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

wow never mind my retarded comment

i just spent like 40 seconds searching wikipedia/youtube for "michelle etheridge"

i really need some sleep lol... regardless

http://youtu.be/Ckt0TuK0qv0



Irving
Staff Reviewer
April 13th 2012



7164 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

After hearing a few songs I'm pretty excited about this.

Pos'd


Ily.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
April 13th 2012



7164 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

wow never mind my retarded comment

i just spent like 40 seconds searching wikipedia/youtube for "michelle etheridge"

i really need some sleep lol... regardless

http://youtu.be/Ckt0TuK0qv0


I actually can't remember what Etheridge sounds like. I'll give it a listen and decide whether I want to change my review (probably won't though, cause I totally hear Branch on "Dear Love"; maybe it's just me).

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
April 13th 2012



28421 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i wouldn't say you'd have to change it but the etheridge comparison hit me like a brick wall

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
April 13th 2012



28421 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

http://youtu.be/5HcKt1XpvzQ

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
April 13th 2012



28421 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

damn i can't make that clickable but it's "Let Me Go"



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy