Atoma Skylight
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Willie
Moderator
April 12th 2012



15876 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm not trying to make a direct comparison, more of a if you like this you'll like that kind of thing. Obviously Streams Inwards still has more metal and the growls... but as far as the atmospheres, the big melodic sections, and the way they use the keyboards in an atypcial way for metal -- the albums even kind of transition from heavy to more abstract as they go on.

I enjoyed reading this review so much that I decided to join up and comment on it. 10/10 on the review, mate. I know very well what it feels like to search after that sense of amazement and not finding it. After your description of this album I thought I had to check it out.

After hearing it, I also think it's a great album. It surprised me since I never really heard anything like it. I was quite pleased when 'Bermuda Riviera' came on. The mood got really dark and the electronic tunes accentuated it so well! I think that's my favorite track. The only thing I did not like, and I know it's nitpicking, is the transition between this song and Resonance. I felt like I could've used a pauze or something quiet in between. Other than that, I really enjoyed the post-rocky vibe of Saturn & I and the female vocals in Cloud Nine.
Well, cool. I'm glad you liked the review and the album. I don't know if I have a favorite song on this because it all works so much better as one cohesive unit. If you haven't heard anything else like this, you might check out the bands/albums in the 'reccomended' section to the right of the review.

Digging: Emperor - In The Nightside Eclipse - 20th Year Anniversary

Wizard
April 12th 2012



19208 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Compositionally, this is amazing. The keys and riffage and beautiful production, I feel like I'm listening to what Amorphis should have turned into (minus the vocals of course).

Digging: Monarch - Sabbracadaver

BallsToTheWall
April 12th 2012



44164 Comments


Yeah this is pretty fucking cool.

Apollo
April 13th 2012



10264 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"I'm not trying to make a direct comparison, more of a if you like this you'll like that kind of thing. Obviously Streams Inwards still has more metal and the growls... but as far as the atmospheres, the big melodic sections, and the way they use the keyboards in an atypcial way for metal -- the albums even kind of transition from heavy to more abstract as they go on."

Fair enough dude, bottom line, this is really good. Thanks for turning me onto this. As always, anything you review seems to capture my attention ;)

TheNotrap
April 13th 2012



7978 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Very nice review.

One of the most enjoyable 2012 releases so far.

If they manage to evolve their identity around songs like Atoma, Hole In The Sky or Bermuda Riviera and skip the dispensable harsh vocals, Atoma will be one of the finest bands of the decade.


Nagrarok
April 13th 2012



8169 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah this is great.

cagedescending
April 13th 2012



4124 Comments


Was totally expecting this to wear off a bit on the next few listens. It got BETTER

TheNotrap
April 13th 2012



7978 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

^
That's the difference between good and great music.

Yazz_Flute
April 14th 2012



18764 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Just gave the title track a listen.

Do want.

Digging: Cormorant - Dwellings

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
April 14th 2012



16242 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Think I'd dig this?

Hawks
April 14th 2012



34344 Comments


I wish my fucking download for this would've finished last night. Gonna have to try again tonight after work.

Digging: Equilibrium - Erdentempel

RunOfTheMill
April 14th 2012



1424 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This sounds pretty cool. Will check it out.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
April 14th 2012



16242 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

this is.... different

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
April 14th 2012



8317 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

Hey Crysis, you know my taste damn well, think I'd dig this?

greg84
Staff Reviewer
April 14th 2012



7306 Comments


This is very post-rockish. I don't like it a lot after my first listen.

Digging: Dog Fashion Disco - Sweet Nothings

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
April 14th 2012



8317 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

Is it more post-rockish or post-metalish? Because if it's the latter, I think I'd dig.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
April 14th 2012



7306 Comments


There are also elements of shoegaze, ambient and gothic rock for sure. Very hard to categorize. This is not heavy though.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
April 14th 2012



16242 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Hey Crysis, you know my taste damn well, think I'd dig this?


I don't even know if I dig it yet. It oscillates between being post-metal-ish, post-rock-ish, and
weird.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
April 14th 2012



8317 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

Might give this a shot out of curiosity

BallsToTheWall
April 14th 2012



44164 Comments


post-metal pretty much sucks so I'm happy that it isn't quite so prevalent here.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy