Atoma Skylight
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Wizard
April 12th 2012


19791 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Compositionally, this is amazing. The keys and riffage and beautiful production, I feel like I'm listening to what Amorphis should have turned into (minus the vocals of course).

BallsToTheWall
April 12th 2012


44805 Comments


Yeah this is pretty fucking cool.

Apollo
April 13th 2012


10379 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"I'm not trying to make a direct comparison, more of a if you like this you'll like that kind of thing. Obviously Streams Inwards still has more metal and the growls... but as far as the atmospheres, the big melodic sections, and the way they use the keyboards in an atypcial way for metal -- the albums even kind of transition from heavy to more abstract as they go on."



Fair enough dude, bottom line, this is really good. Thanks for turning me onto this. As always, anything you review seems to capture my attention ;)

TheNotrap
April 13th 2012


8252 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Very nice review.



One of the most enjoyable 2012 releases so far.



If they manage to evolve their identity around songs like Atoma, Hole In The Sky or Bermuda Riviera and skip the dispensable harsh vocals, Atoma will be one of the finest bands of the decade.



Nagrarok
April 13th 2012


8389 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah this is great.

cagedescending
April 13th 2012


4124 Comments


Was totally expecting this to wear off a bit on the next few listens. It got BETTER

TheNotrap
April 13th 2012


8252 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

^

That's the difference between good and great music.

Yazz_Flute
April 14th 2012


18910 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Just gave the title track a listen.



Do want.

Digging: Kendrick Lamar - To Pimp a Butterfly

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
April 14th 2012


16701 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Think I'd dig this?

Hawks
April 14th 2012


36189 Comments


I wish my fucking download for this would've finished last night. Gonna have to try again tonight after work.

Digging: Galar - De Gjenlevende

RunOfTheMill
April 14th 2012


1698 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This sounds pretty cool. Will check it out.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
April 14th 2012


16701 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

this is.... different

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
April 14th 2012


8470 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

Hey Crysis, you know my taste damn well, think I'd dig this?

Digging: Unearth - Watchers of Rule

greg84
Staff Reviewer
April 14th 2012


7507 Comments


This is very post-rockish. I don't like it a lot after my first listen.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
April 14th 2012


8470 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

Is it more post-rockish or post-metalish? Because if it's the latter, I think I'd dig.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
April 14th 2012


7507 Comments


There are also elements of shoegaze, ambient and gothic rock for sure. Very hard to categorize. This is not heavy though.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
April 14th 2012


16701 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Hey Crysis, you know my taste damn well, think I'd dig this?




I don't even know if I dig it yet. It oscillates between being post-metal-ish, post-rock-ish, and

weird.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
April 14th 2012


8470 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

Might give this a shot out of curiosity

BallsToTheWall
April 14th 2012


44805 Comments


post-metal pretty much sucks so I'm happy that it isn't quite so prevalent here.

Motiv3
April 14th 2012


8957 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

very good album, could see my rating going up with more listens.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy