Shinedown Amaryllis
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Romulus
March 26th 2012


8447 Comments


this is really a shame but i told you guys!

tiesthatbind
March 26th 2012


7380 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Only thing I found myself disagreeing about was "I'm Not Alright." It's somewhat catchy, but it is pretty atrocious from a technical standpoint and it feels more like an All American Rejects song than a track on a hard rock album.

It's just a fun and different track for them imo but I understand this reasoning. The title track is probably my favorite too.

btw Romulus I have now joined you in the minority that thinks Us and Them is their best album.

Digging: Poets of the Fall - Twilight Theater

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
March 26th 2012


16785 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

GOD GUYS US AND THEM IS LIKE NO BETTER THAN A 3.5

Leave A Whisper > Sound of Madness > Us & Them > Amaryllis

Digging: Damien Rice - My Favourite Faded Fantasy

tiesthatbind
March 26th 2012


7380 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"GOD GUYS US AND THEM IS LIKE NO WORSE THAN A 3.5"

Agreed.

Us and Them>Sound of Madness>Leave a Whisper>Amaryllis

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
March 26th 2012


16785 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Misquotations ftw

I thought Sound of Madness was your favorite Ties

tiesthatbind
March 26th 2012


7380 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It was for the longest time, but time has been better to Us and Them for me. I listen to that one more than any of their other stuff if I choose to listen to Shinedown these days. The Sound of Madness is still great but it's weakened over time for me.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
March 26th 2012


16785 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

For me it feels like a blend of Sound Of Madness' tune sense with Leave a Whisper's southern rock and intensity. But it isn't as catchy as the former or as heavy as the latter. Just feels watered down...nowhere near as bad as Amaryllis but to me it's just "good" while SOM and LAW are phenomenal

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
March 26th 2012


16785 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Lady So Divine still rocks though

tiesthatbind
March 26th 2012


7380 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

See, I think it gets that blend perfectly. The musicianship (riffs and solos especially) is the best of any of their albums, Lady So Divine being the obvious example, and imo the rockers are the most fun to listen to out of all their albums (LAW's get too monotonous, and SOM's are honestly a bit cheesy even if they rock hard). And I don't think there's a skippable track on it (LAW still has at least 3 for me).

I know it's probably their least emotionally involving album, but it's the one I enjoy the most.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
March 26th 2012


16785 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah it's pretty damn good. I'm listening now and it's way better than I remembered

tiesthatbind
March 26th 2012


7380 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Glad to hear it : )

johnnydeking29
March 28th 2012


9445 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Us and Them is a great album, but a bit inconsistent; Beyond the Sun, I Dare You and Some Day are stunning, but songs like Shed Some Light and Trade Yourself In aren't nearly as good. I think I like all three pretty much equally

Digging: Warren of Ohms - The Wolf and The Fox

tiesthatbind
April 6th 2012


7380 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is actually getting better with more listens.

Not quite a 3.5 but it's at least on the better side of 3 now.

iswimfast
April 6th 2012


1340 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"For My Sake" is a pretty sweet song. But the lyrics make me cringe constantly.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
April 6th 2012


16785 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

same thing happened with me, but started .5 lower and ended at a 3

tiesthatbind
April 6th 2012


7380 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

If it wasn't for the forced profanity and the lameness of Bully, I'd bump the rating.

And is it just me or does Through the Ghost sound a lot like an Anberlin song? The chorus especially.

johnnydeking29
April 7th 2012


9445 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

If it wasn't for the forced profanity and the lameness of Bully, I'd bump the rating.
Same here, if they took a few cliches out of the lyrics, it'd be pretty solid


SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
April 7th 2012


16785 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yeah I totally get the anberlin comparison...now I just need to figure out what song it sounds like

tiesthatbind
April 7th 2012


7380 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah idk but I'm pretty sure that's why it's my favorite track now.

DeadStarShine
April 29th 2012


775 Comments


I saw this in the TV recently and I wondered if it was going to disappoint. Now I'm sure.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy