If These Trees Could Talk Red Forest
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
HenchmanOfSanta
March 25th 2012


1866 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0



Ghost terms and empty concepts? Oh dear...I sure hope you're not a teacher or I'd have to rescue the poor children.

I couldn't help but laugh while reading. A very decent effort yet so akin to a 15 year old skinny/fat girl, desperately in love with the quarterback, who has read a million books all alone at the school-yard, yet hasn't understood a single sentence. There's no need to use "big" words in order to sound convincing. If anything, you'll just sound like the aforementioned girl's best friend who is secretly in love with her and is trying to find "the only words worthy of her" to convey his emotions.

Of course this is just my opinion but I tend to find repetition in the type of people I just described (blogs and websites of wannabe 15 year old poets just to mention a few million), repetition in their older selves (Meshuggah, Tool and other bands who piss on the canvas and stick a dictionary on it, only to build a temple next to it for the idiot followers), and...I could go on and on...

My advice would be to stop using words totally out of context, you're not anything like Wordsworth nor is your review going to sound any more intelligent. Drop the dictionary and read some good old Oscar Wilde.

Of course I couldn't disagree more when it comes to ITTCT, but I like it that way. There's a clear connection between your character, how you feel about this album and how you write about it. I for one am glad you dislike it.
Haha is this for real?

North0House2
March 25th 2012


5857 Comments


If these trees could talk... if you know what I mean. ;)

Lol, some kid told me that at school. Cracked me up.

Yeah, this band, I tried to enjoy them when I was in my huge post-rock bend a year or two ago. They're just like all the other EITS, post-rock formula, clones, though. I mean, they're talented, but not unique.

Digging: Zelienople - The World Is A House On Fire

scissorlocked
March 25th 2012


3510 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

hey, that cryogenix Guy is really funny

I didn't know I would piss off someone that much, but your whole post is gold ,thanks man!






Dreamflight
March 25th 2012


1760 Comments


Oh I liked his Tool/Meshuggah reference.

scissorlocked
March 25th 2012


3510 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

he's got problems,he's excused

also, fuck all this neggers with silly or no justification

StagnantWords
March 25th 2012


318 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This album is fucking awesome, if you enjoy post rock I can't fathom how you would rate this so poorly.

scissorlocked
March 25th 2012


3510 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

one option is to read the review


Cryogenix
March 25th 2012


114 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

You didn't piss me off. But considering how full of yourself you sound in the review I'm not surprised you believe flowers bloom underneath your feet. I'm just a git, generally, sorry if it comes of as sounding impressed.

scissorlocked
March 25th 2012


3510 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"But considering how full of yourself you sound in the review"

fucking psychologists, they're too many of 'em

Killerhit
March 25th 2012


5250 Comments


Hey.. wanna hear something funny? I used to think drinking coffee was wrong. Wanna know why? Because apparently, a tribe of ancient Jews lived in America, created huge civilizations, and were visited by Christ. But then, they disappeared, leaving no archaeological trace of themselves, EXCEPT for golden plates, who were dug up by a farmer who wrote down amongst other things, that hot drinks are not for the body or belly, so I can't have a CUP of COFFEE! HAH.

scissorlocked
March 26th 2012


3510 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

^^^^wtf?

qwe3
March 27th 2012


21362 Comments


/mormonism

rundllexe
March 27th 2012


2 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hmm a well written review, but I think you are confusing the reason why you find it generic / a
cookie cutter post-rock album. Yes Post-Rock has come to full saturation, and with that you
will definitely have issues with generic sounding albums - but I don't think that's what is wrong
with most of these so called generic bands. The issue is to do with the saturation of post rock
itself. To properly enjoy this kind of music you are required to sit down and listen to it, and then
listen to it again, focus on the music and then listen to it again (do a whole lot more of this etc
etc) - with so many bands to choose
from, and it often being a case of 'gotta catch them all', I think that you are not dedicating the
proper amount of time and not listening to it in the right context, so the intricacies and emotion
that make
this album (and any other) really enjoyable is lost on you.

The reason we can go back and say EITS and GY!BE are the cornerstones of the genre is because at the
time there wasn't a whole lot of post rock, it was a youngish genre. So naturally less bands to
listen to amounts to more time spent listening to each band and each album - you savour what you
have in small quantities.

I know this is probably really long winded but I'll finish by saying that I for one am guilty of
being over saturated to the point where bands become forgettable, there has been more times than I
can count where I have written off a band as boring and unoriginal only to find them in my music
collection a few months later, sit down; listen thoroughly and discover what I had been missing out
on.

Album is @ 3 for me at the moment (first play through) - I can foresee it going up to 4 within a few
good listening sessions though

Activista anti-MTV
March 27th 2012


3144 Comments


cookie cutter excuses for negging

Dimor
March 27th 2012


1758 Comments


albums awright, but nothing special. 5:ing this is pretty retarded

scissorlocked
March 27th 2012


3510 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

@rundllexe:

To properly enjoy this kind of music you are required to sit down and listen to it, and then listen to it again, focus on the music and then listen to it again

I think that you are not dedicating the
proper amount of time and not listening to it in the right context, so the intricacies and emotion that make this album (and any other) really enjoyable is lost on you.


I get your point but I truly believe this is not the case.
I wholeheartedly understand that post-rock albums are usually experiences to be felt within a proper context, but this is not a legitimate criterion for judging them. Being stoned,drunk, silent, or at a heavily emotional situation will surely affect your viewpoint and it will usually make you enjoy what you're listening.

However, I believe that the good post rock albums are the ones which create such an atmosphere by themselves. It's a fact that their grandeur may take time to unfold, and it may need some pushing for doing so, but the truly good ones barely get boring and their fundamental elements are usually traced after a dozen of listens. But time and context alone aren't proper for judging them- dynamics, melodies and instrumentation are

The reason we can go back and say EITS and GY!BE are the cornerstones of the genre is because at the time there wasn't a whole lot of post rock, it was a youngish genre

I also get what you're saying but I don't believe that this is the mainly why they are cornerstones. It is because they where the best ones to utilize the characteristics of the genre and did it pretty successfully. Lift your skinny... and F#a# have been proven great after dozens of listens at most situations.

frogenhauser
March 27th 2012


35 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"also, fuck all this neggers with silly or no justification"

And another: "Red Forest will difficultly be anything more than a ..."

Maybe you should consider proof reading if you don't want people to give an honest account of your reviews. Especially when you're dismissing them from on high as nothing more than "underground elitists and late-teens metalheads."

Insulting your target audience based on sub-genre orientation and then complaining about the inevitable negative reaction? Quite some intellect you've got there.

Us underground elitists can be a harsh marking bunch at times. It's a failing I know.

Neg.

zxlkho
March 27th 2012


3464 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This album is really great. Haters gonna hate.

Lucido
March 27th 2012


50 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

probs really good

scissorlocked
March 27th 2012


3510 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Insulting your target audience based on sub-genre orientation and then complaining about the inevitable negative reaction? Quite some intellect you've got there.

you're right, next time I'll treat my target audience deliberately better



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy