Barren Earth The Devil's Resolve
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Tyrael
March 24th 2012


20876 Comments


you da man

Digging: Darkspace - Dark Space III I

Ignimbrite
March 24th 2012


5342 Comments


I really like the vocalist, so I might check this out

good review

Digging: This Will Destroy You - Another Language

TheNotrap
March 25th 2012


8070 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

The Rains Begin is very enjoyable. I will check this out.



Digging: Lago - Tyranny

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
March 25th 2012


8357 Comments


Good review, Trey. I really liked their debut and I'm sure I'll like this as well. I knew this was coming out, but I've been real busy during the last few weeks so I haven't gotten a chance to check out any new music. This will go to the top of my to-check-out list for sure, though.

bloc
March 25th 2012


34853 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Listened to this last night again and I realized that it's almost a carbon copy of the previous album. Same sounds, patches, tones, etc.

Digging: Interpol - El Pintor

Willie
Moderator
March 25th 2012


15976 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

That's what I said. More a refinement than an evolution. ;)

Digging: Necropoli - I

TheNotrap
March 25th 2012


8070 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Good but also predictable songwriting.

Willie
Moderator
March 25th 2012


15976 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hey, and that was virtually the final sentence of my review. So, I guess I got it right ;)

bloc
March 25th 2012


34853 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Face it Willie, no one read your review!

Willie
Moderator
March 25th 2012


15976 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

That was the truth that I was trying to ignore ):

TheNotrap
March 26th 2012


8070 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Willie, your review is hard to ignore.
Excellent as usual ;)

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
March 26th 2012


8357 Comments


That was the truth that I was trying to ignore ):
Don't worry man, I still read your reviews!






































































Unless it's another no-name industrial album in which case I just look at the rating and your rec'd albums :P

LTDA
March 26th 2012


281 Comments


yeah bro this was chill, need to listen again tho

first was chill but this is slight step down tho


Yeah, super chill, brah. Let's go buy Affliction shirts and play frolf.

For sure, brah. It'll be super chill and relaxing. We may even get to chillax.






On a serious note, sweet review, but this sounds super boring. Mostly because of how boring Amorphis is in general.

Detritivore
March 26th 2012


270 Comments


Here play guitar the Kreator guy isn't?

D41V30N
March 27th 2012


949 Comments


^ Yup. Sami from Kreator plays guitars in Barren Earth too.

Just started listening to the album, and it somehow feels better than their debut album. The 70s prog influence is very noticeable. Great review.
And the leads are classic.

The only problem I have so far is Mikko's clean vocals. I don't know. Even though the new Swallow The Sun record was a massive bummer for me, his clean vocals on that record seemed a thousand times better than they do in this record. For some reason, it seems like he's forcing his vocals to sound lighter over here, which makes it bland, at least for me. But his growls are awesome as always.

SylentEcho
March 27th 2012


1570 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This album is pretty cool. The previous one was better. I still have "The Leer" and a few others on my ipod.

Funeralopolis
March 28th 2012


11364 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

A Willie review solo

Digging: Jethro Tull - Thick as a Brick

OllieS
August 29th 2012


2031 Comments


They should drop the doom aspects - it's too fast and upbeat in places to work as Death/Doom. Yet the doomy parts make it sound too dark for regular Melodeath

Funeralopolis
December 14th 2012


11364 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

dem growls are so powerful

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
December 15th 2012


8357 Comments



They should drop the doom aspects - it's too fast and upbeat in places to work as Death/Doom. Yet the doomy parts make it sound too dark for regular Melodeath
I realize this was said a near 4 months ago, but I still can't get my head around how not sounding generic/conventional is a bad thing.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy