Ministry Relapse
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
March 23rd 2012



3363 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Well their discography is kind of hit or miss, this one being pretty much a miss. Still, you need to listen to Bloodlust. It is great IMO. Double Tap is more of that insane Ministry, it is nice

Digging: Anberlin - Lowborn

MisterSteel
March 23rd 2012



453 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Album's pretty atrocious. Pretty much the only thing that saves this from being a one is that I occasionally heard some riffing that was somewhat entertaining. Wish he would've stuck to his word back after The Last Sucker and just let Ministry die.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
March 23rd 2012



3363 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Or just take time and not just throw there frantic thrashing with no diversity whatsoever.

Ovrot
March 23rd 2012



10490 Comments


I didn't want this to suck

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
March 25th 2012



3363 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

haha told you! do you like Bloodlust at least ? or which songs did you actually enjoy ?

JesusV4
March 26th 2012



391 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Contrary to most fans, I love every Ministry album from Twitch to Rio Grande Blood. The Last Sucker is a little stale, but there's still some good stuff there. But I've been listening to people bag on Spoon and Filth Pig for years, so I'm going to remain open to Relapse. hat said, good review, and I especially look forward to "Bloodlust." Pos'd.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
March 26th 2012



3363 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Thanks Jesus! I am a big Ministry fan and I really wanted this to be cool but it was disappointing, not that bad but still just disappointing... Bloodlust is in my Top 10 Ministry tracks right now, if they would've went that way this would've been excellent IMO. Tell me how did Relapse seem to you after you've listened to it.

Wizard
March 26th 2012



19328 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This feels so dated but I guess it's just me and what I grew up with because this record is pretty killer, takes me back a ways. I love metal like this, industrialized metal/ hard rock. I don't see how this album is repetitive, there was enough in the way of the riff department that sets each song apart from each other. Ok review otherwise but really, this is no different than anything else Al's put out over the past 10 years.

I didn't want this to suck

It doesn't but Ministry isn't true enough to this site.

Digging: YOB - Clearing The Path To Ascend

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
March 27th 2012



3363 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yes I understand where you come from Wizard but unlike the last 3 albums, which had hooks and some really memorable songs, Relapse is pretty much devoid IMO of them it just sounds undone.

HeathenEarthling
March 27th 2012



88 Comments


@ Wizard: "Ministry isn't true enough to this site." What does that mean? I see all kinds of music reviewed on Sputnik.

Also, there used to be a second review of this record. What happened to it?

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
March 27th 2012



3363 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Apparently got deleted, I looked on Systemunfoled's profile and all his reviews but one were deleted

Wizard
March 27th 2012



19328 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@ Wizard: "Ministry isn't true enough to this site." What does that mean? I see all kinds of music reviewed on Sputnik.

You haven't been around here long enough dude.

Willie
Moderator
March 28th 2012



15908 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I like it. Definitely better than The Last Sucker.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
March 29th 2012



3363 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I don't know, there are some really cool songs on The Last Sucker, while here it feels like it's the same song over and over again with the exception of Bloodlust and Double Tap (I currently dig this one too).

Wizard
March 29th 2012



19328 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I like it. Definitely better than The Last Sucker.

Agreed, there was some total blah on that album.

MLegendre
March 29th 2012



8 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I've stuck behind Ministry through some questionable times, but this is an embarressment to their legacy. Should have stayed retired.

The7thVermicide
March 29th 2012



925 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

At least was better than their early synth-pop material .

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
March 30th 2012



3363 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

^true that

MLegendre
March 30th 2012



8 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Weekend Warrior sounds like Al's trying to get in on the Rebekah Black bandwagon.

HeathenEarthling
March 30th 2012



88 Comments


Ha, I noticed that too. Though the lyrics to Weekend Warrior aren't written or sung by Al.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy