Meshuggah Koloss
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Nocturnalize
January 7th 2015


2463 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"i guess old school death metal just aint cool anymore. sucks ass but it's all about sweep picks, djents and blast beats nowadays"



Ya agreed nowadays are better





FlyheadMetal
January 7th 2015


2422 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

You said modern death metal is better than old school death metal?

Uranium
January 7th 2015


7543 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

they are both good

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
January 7th 2015


14768 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

I don't remember when or how I heard of death but they're one of the first metal bands I ever got into back when I was 13 and have gotten some friends into them in the six or seven years since, yeah it's true unfortunately in the real world they're pretty unheard of even among some metalheads :/



There's good and bad in old school dm and newer stuff, neither are perfect though but I agree that saying meshuggah is a djent band is like putting them on the same tier as all the bands that were inspired by heir formula, when meshuggah are clearly on a whole nother level

Digging: Animals As Leaders - The Madness of Many

Artuma
January 7th 2015


26714 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

not rly but they sure are better than any other djent band

Digging: Suffocate For Fuck Sake - In My Blood

MO
January 7th 2015


21194 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"Most contemporary djent bands are 24 year old high school dropouts who can't read music who pound away on their guitar, tremelo picking the same 3 different riffs in random orders with the reverb jacked up"



man. adding to this, THEY CAN'T PLAY LIVE



it boggles my mind how many "bands" I've played with live simply have no chemistry since they are all studio bands who insist on playing with DI for everything. they fucking dissect the shit out of their axe effect IIs looking for the most djenty tone they can, but have no musicality. just playing downtuned riffs cuz its k00L and othur bnds r duing it!!!



i don't mean to pigeonhole EVERY djenty band, but it's a worrying trend I've noticed from playing live for the last 5 or so years

XfingTheSullen
January 7th 2015


3755 Comments


That's interesting what you're saying, MO. I would see some proof, care to provide some live fail video of a djent band?

betray
January 7th 2015


7305 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

who actually says what you just said honestly

MO
January 7th 2015


21194 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"That's interesting what you're saying, MO. I would see some proof, care to provide some live fail video of a djent band?"



I'm mainly just speaking from experience and what I've seen personally. There are exceptions of course but it's something I'm seeing more and more of. Especially since my band is kind of in that progressive metal scene a bit. too many people focusing on sounding good in the studio, when it's the live playing that really shows what a band can do.

BigPleb
January 7th 2015


48267 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Guyyyyyyyyysss: http://metalbase.in/2014/09/23/meshuggah-to-release-new-album-towards-the-end-of-2015/

Digging: A Tribe Called Quest - We got it from Here? Thank You 4 Your service

Underflow
January 7th 2015


3692 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Welp, thanks Pleb.

MO
January 7th 2015


21194 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

ohhh fuk yes plb

BigPleb
January 7th 2015


48267 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

AOTY confirmed p much.

Underflow
January 7th 2015


3692 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Some sweet metal coming out this year between this and the new Enslaved.

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
January 7th 2015


14768 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Awesome news, have been wondering for a while when they'd do some new stuff

Artuma
January 7th 2015


26714 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

new enslaved should rule

BigPleb
January 23rd 2015


48267 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Can't wait for the new album, need my Shug fix!

Nocturnalize
January 23rd 2015


2463 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well at least we got the next best thing which is 2 new periphery albums!!!!!

betray
January 23rd 2015


7305 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

lamo

MO
January 23rd 2015


21194 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"Awesome news, have been wondering for a while when they'd do some new stuff"



...this album isn't even 2 years old yet. jeez



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy