Meshuggah Koloss
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
March 26th 2014


16875 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"i've never seen anyone with a Meshuggah album scored at a 2/2.5 going in depth in the band's ability/lack of ability regarding some musical aspect of the respective album"



I've seen Simba post a lot of legitimate quarrels with the band's execution of their ideas only to get called a faggot repeatedly. Not to mention, most of the praises that pop up are "fuck this is heavy/goes hard/so good" "dat groove/dem drumz/polyrhyums".



Now I do like a quite a bit of this band's stuff, even Catch33 which is their most repetitive album by far, but I find album's like this and Obzen boring because instead of coming across as robotic/sinister/sci-fi/whatever, they're just disjointed and snoozy, pummeling you for the sake of pummeling you.



An in depth technical analysis isn't necessary to demonstrate that you "get it" and also to double as a reason for why you don't like it. Read necro's review for Obzen and have a look at the reaction he gets even in light of the detail he went into explaining why he hated it.



But yeah, sorry for the essay, but I don't buy into the not getting it/that's the point argument, because as I said it can apply to any fucking band/artist you can name.

TheMoreira
March 26th 2014


7189 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Really are, kings, tbh.



Anyway there a shit ton of sub genres in and around metal that i "don't get". Oranges and apples, to each its own

BigPleb
March 26th 2014


41739 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

lol Jac, contrib speech.

TrantaLocked
March 26th 2014


1638 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Would you say thrash fans would dig this band more than not?

TheMoreira
March 26th 2014


7189 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

You have a point, i do recall Simba's discussion now, actually.

TheMoreira
March 26th 2014


7189 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@tranta, was that question for me?

tempest--
March 26th 2014


16230 Comments


"Now I do like a quite a bit of this band's stuff"

my point is more about people that hate the band and everything they've done. clearly if you like anything by them then you must at some level understand what they try to do with their music.
"they're just disjointed and snoozy, pummeling you for the sake of pummeling you."

perfectly reasonable argument

I'm really talking about people "not getting it" when they post shit like "all it is is repetition and it's boring and nothing ever changes" you know, that kind of thing. the people that dislike the band for the FUNDAMENTAL THINGS THAT MAKE THEM ENJOYABLE TO EVERY FAN

TrantaLocked
March 26th 2014


1638 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nah, towards anyone, just thinking because I think thrash in general has a repetitive feel.

TheMoreira
March 26th 2014


7189 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I for one know a LOT of people that are into Thrash and love these guys. Other than that, there are

clearly some grabs in this band (for any open minded Thrash lover).



Agree with Tempest again. I was generalizing back there but yeah of course there are some people that

can make a point on their disliking of Meshuggah. I can also justify why i like some of Meshuggah

releases more than i like others. So as of course there are always negative aspects to take in

account, some folks will get there.

Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
March 26th 2014


16875 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"fundamental things that make them enjoyable to every fan"



Yeah I understand what you're saying but that just brings me back the "that's the point" thing. I mean you always see tech death bands being condemned for their overuse of technicality of all things, now that may seen stupid on the surface but in a lot of cases it's pretty sound.



Whether or not I believe somebody doesn't "get it" (which in the end is only my opinion) doesn't mean their issue with the bands' approach isn't a legitimate one.

TheMoreira
March 26th 2014


7189 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"I mean you always see tech death bands being condemned for their overuse of technicality of all

things, now that may seen stupid on the surface but in a lot of cases it's pretty sound."



That is one extremely good point for your side of the argument Jac. I got that upon listening to Spawn

Of Possession.

tempest--
March 26th 2014


16230 Comments


a very good comparison, but clearly "overuse" of something is bad, therefore those bands deserve (lack of thinking of a better word) their criticism. that is obviously not an objective thing though, as people enjoy listening to this "overuse," as we're calling it - they probably would not call it the same thing.

Relinquished
March 26th 2014


29117 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

"most of the praises that pop up are "fuck this is heavy/goes hard/so good""



mostly every pleb post ever



lrn2selfaware

Relinquished
March 26th 2014


29117 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

i'd jump in on this but after 11 years i'm not feeling up to it

TheMoreira
March 26th 2014


7189 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Fuck this goes hard m/

tempest--
March 26th 2014


16230 Comments


yea I'd love to continue this conversation but it's 4:30 a.m. and I really can't be assed

TheMoreira
March 26th 2014


7189 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

no it's not, it's 5:45pm

Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
March 26th 2014


16875 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I enjoyed this conversation let's have another some time.

tempest--
March 26th 2014


16230 Comments


for sure man, now lets get some fuckin sleep lol

Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
March 26th 2014


16875 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Sleep is for the weak



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy