Meshuggah Koloss
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
SticksmanTheBored
March 7th 2014


206 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Marry me I like my sugar too. Hard.

TrantaLocked
March 26th 2014


1635 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Can someone tell me what they enjoy about Meshuggah? Do you like hearing the same thing over and over again for an hour? Of course not literally, but it's just repeated patterns.



I guess I expect too much. I think they are pretty good, just not as impressive as I thought they would be seeing all of the 4 rated albums.

Emyay
March 26th 2014


6129 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yes

TrantaLocked
March 26th 2014


1635 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I thought so. Whenever I hear something cool I think damn, that is sick, but then I hear it repeatedly and it's like the band kills their own good riffs by doing it. Would be better if they made each individual song more flavorful. But I respect them for the style they choose.

MO
March 26th 2014


19507 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"Can someone tell me what they enjoy about Meshuggah? "



total chaos in music form. they have one of the heaviest sounds in metal today. the repeated patterns complaint is a part of the music, it's supposed to sound mechanical and samey (then contrasted with fred's wizardry). every song is unique, they crush faces

Emyay
March 26th 2014


6129 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

took me a while to get into them. was impressed at first but didn't get the hype. listened a lot more

bc i was intrigued and ended up loving them for the most part. they are still growing one me ever so

slowly. this is my favorite by them. i haven't been able to get into their other stuff as much as

this one. mostly i just jam random songs. can't really sit through a whole album by them. not bc its

too repetitive but mostly bc its just too much pummeling for my ear pussies

TrantaLocked
March 26th 2014


1635 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I guess I'm not feeling the chaotic vibe. It sounds heavy but when its just the same type of heavy the whole time I get bored. It is good background metal I guess.



I understand the structure and repeated patterns, but all it needs is a LITTLE bit of variance here and there. Right now, there is basically none. I mean, a few departures from the mechanical and one-directional feel within a single song. It could be a change of pace, an actual vocal melody, whatever. You say that is the "point," but I don't think the band has to make that the point of every single song.



I can think back to one of my favorite songs on Alive or Just Breathing, Numbered Days. What is interesting about that song and other songs on the album is the band would go through an intro, and then two full cycles of verse/bridge without playing a chorus. Then near the end, the chorus comes out, and it's not just a pop chorus, but a very uplifting one. So you get that one vibe most of the song only to be surprised by an amazing change. If Meshuggah did this, they'd be one of my top 5 favorite bands. And it wouldn't need to be a chorus, just something that is a departure.

JS19
March 26th 2014


4671 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I can only listen to this and obzen in full too, there's just not enough variation in tone in their others. Just gets boring after a couple songs

Digging: The Tallest Man on Earth - Dark Bird Is Home

MO
March 26th 2014


19507 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

all about the grooves. probably the grooviest band in extreme metal

BigPleb
March 26th 2014


40262 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is Meshuggah perfected, in terms of production.

Emyay
March 26th 2014


6129 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah i love love grooving to a good meshuggah song.



rational gaze

new millenium cyanide

dancers

a bunch of shit on here

KjSwantko
March 26th 2014


9449 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

"This is Meshuggah perfected, in terms of production."



It does rule. I'd say Obzen is the best sounding though; probably the heaviest record of all time. They literally just sound like heavy machinery on it.

Emyay
March 26th 2014


6129 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

true kj. i think thats what makes it kind of hard for me to sit through at times though

TrantaLocked
March 26th 2014


1635 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Are you guys head banging to this or going into a trance?

TrantaLocked
March 26th 2014


1635 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I finally get it

KjSwantko
March 26th 2014


9449 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Pop lockin hard.

KjSwantko
March 26th 2014


9449 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

"true kj. i think thats what makes it kind of hard for me to sit through at times though"



Yeah bro, It is an acquired taste for a lot of people (myself included). I actually hated that record when it first came out, but a couple years later ended up 5'ing it.

JS19
March 26th 2014


4671 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

'probably the heaviest record of all time'



...

KjSwantko
March 26th 2014


9449 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Obviously a subjective claim, and Obzen is objectively a very heavy record. So what?

JS19
March 26th 2014


4671 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

'very heavy record'



...



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy