Hands Like Houses Ground Dweller
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Azn.
December 8th 2012


5618 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The production (retarded mastering, overusage of electronics and effects, etc) are basically this album's largest downfalls.



This actually has really great songwriting, but they make some otherwise terrible choices.



And fucking guitarists/drummer need to get more creative.

Azn.
December 8th 2012


5618 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

But otherwise...fun as hell



If you ask me it's still a cut above typical Rise-material, but these guys need to improve

Schni
December 8th 2012


52 Comments


Praying that their next album isn't produced by Cameron Mizell.
So much potential in this band.

AmericnZero02
December 9th 2012


3454 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"If you ask me it's still a cut above typical Rise-material, but these guys need to improve"



I'd generally agree. This is just their debut record though, so they have their whole careers ahead of them to show us what other tricks they have up their sleeve.

Digging: Kingdom of Giants - Ground Culture

WeepingBanana
December 9th 2012


10326 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

horrible horrible album

Azn.
December 9th 2012


5618 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Let's hope the first trick they show us is something relating to switching up song structures.



They rely WAY too much on the main vocalist.

AmericnZero02
December 9th 2012


3454 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah there's decent guitarwork here and the key player does some interesting things but they're rarely put in the spotlight.

captahab
December 13th 2012


17 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I really liked this album. I thought the lyrics were imaginative, the singing and the instrumentals were great. I know a lot of people think this album sucks but these are all opinions, so at the end of the day there is no right or wrong review. To each their own.

AmericnZero02
December 14th 2012


3454 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You brought up a good point, the lyrics. These guys are pretty imaginative and unique in that department, which is a nice change of pace for bands from their genre/label.

DotEight
December 14th 2012


5668 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

No.

sspedding
December 15th 2012


4883 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yes.

Digging: Of Virtue - Salvation

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
December 15th 2012


21957 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Maybe.

Digging: Westkust - Last Forever

AtavanHalen
December 15th 2012


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

fuck this wore off so quickly

Azn.
December 15th 2012


5618 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That it did. I got back into it quickly too. It's on and off for me.



I like the lyrical themes, but they could use more polishing.

Funeralopolis
December 16th 2012


12764 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"try and find a more phenomenal debut from such a young band."



literally thousands

Digging: Radiohead - Kid A

JrmyPrks
December 16th 2012


309 Comments


3.5 rating wat.

Why is this being praised? It's honestly no different than the cacophony of vapid "artists" on Rise's roster.

AmericnZero02
December 17th 2012


3454 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

True. These guys exactly like Abandon All Ships and Miss May I. Oh wait...

JrmyPrks
December 17th 2012


309 Comments


They're just as bland.

..Rehashing the same giardia the majority of Rise bands spew out.

Don't try and prove me wrong; it doesn't bode well for you.

sspedding
December 17th 2012


4883 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Don't try and prove me wrong; it doesn't bode well for you.



Lmao

Azn.
December 17th 2012


5618 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

In this case songwriting execution was done really well. They know how to write catchy songs, more so than most other Rise artists.



The absence of substance is a different issue though...



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy