Andrew Bird Break It Yourself
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
thebhoy
Emeritus
March 5th 2012



4459 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I think he totally accepts a side of himself that has only showed up in fragmented form in earlier albums--the sort of softer side like the second half of Souverian or Armchairs. It's his most complete album since Eggs, although Armchairs is pretty solid all the way through too I guess

klap
Staff Reviewer
March 5th 2012



10249 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah i think i like this more than anything else he's done. thank you keels

Digging: The Bilinda Butchers - Heaven

klap
Staff Reviewer
March 5th 2012



10249 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

like ohmygod lazy projector

thebhoy
Emeritus
March 5th 2012



4459 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sifters, Danse Carribe and Hole in the Ocean Floor just put me on another level.

rmill3r
March 5th 2012



167 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Armchair was the first thing I ever got into with A. Bird, and it blew me away. I don't think I've ever stopped listening to it. I took a look back at Mysterious Production of Eggs and Weather Systems and loved them just as much if not more.

Someone finally informed me he was Andrew Bird's Bowl Fire before he was Andrew Bird, and The Swimming Hour is possibly one of my favorite albums of all time.

Break It Yourself wasn't quite the same experience as Swimming Hour for me, but nonetheless, it's amazing. I didn't even expect to be blown away by this, but I was right from the get-go.


Scoot
March 5th 2012



17677 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

fuck dling now

Digging: Unjust - Glow

thebhoy
Emeritus
March 5th 2012



4459 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hole of the Ocean Floor is like if the first 10 seconds or so of Two Way Action was stretched to 8 1/2 minutes y'know?

thebhoy
Emeritus
March 5th 2012



4459 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Also I feel pretty good about randomly name dropping a modernist, s'been a while since I've done that

wabbit
March 5th 2012



6977 Comments


eric gave my the link to this and it's been sitting on my computer for the best part of the month...I guess I should give it a spin. I've never been a huge fan but Plasticities is one of the best songs ever.

TheBoss88
March 5th 2012



208 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Can't wait to pick this up tomorrow.

FromDaHood
Contributing Reviewer
March 5th 2012



9033 Comments


Download link please?

wacknizzle
March 5th 2012



12587 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ill join this conversation after I pick up this and ETID from the record store tomorrow, can't wait!

Digging: Burrow - The Collapse of Time

CelestialDust
March 5th 2012



3155 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

holy shit, will listen immediately

jg777
March 5th 2012



160 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is so good.

Scoot
March 5th 2012



17677 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

danse carribe is phenomenal

CelestialDust
March 6th 2012



3155 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i agree, me gustaaaa

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
March 6th 2012



30865 Comments


@tbhoy or having an opinion


Opinions can still be deeply flawed


Digging: FaltyDL - In The Wild

ohfoxxxycole
March 6th 2012



4350 Comments


not mine

NeutralThunder12
March 6th 2012



8742 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

i tried this again, i still prefer eggs and armchair

robin
Emeritus
March 6th 2012



4241 Comments


give it away is phenomenal



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy