Kayo Dot Dowsing Anemone With Copper Tongue
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
MediocreAtBest
February 13th 2008



1473 Comments


I like ___On Limpid Form the most so far.

TheHamburgerman
February 18th 2008



1284 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I could say that you're an idiot when it comes to metal, but you'd probably turn a blind eye, so I'll just remind it for later...
It's a very nice review, better than the album itself.

Metalikane
February 18th 2008



851 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This should be coming in the mail soon. Haven't really heard much from it, and I'm not trying to either. I hear it's not as good as CotE, but that's like saying an awesome hamburger isn't as good as an awesome steak, I'm sure.

Metalikane
February 21st 2008



851 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Not overly impressed with this.

Yazz_Flute
May 11th 2008



18769 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I just finished my first listen of Gemini Becoming the Tripod, I don't think i've ever heard anything as strained or...creepy as his voice as that song progresses. It was weird, but awesome. I'm assuming Choirs is definitely better though, but i really loved that album.


Digging: The Smashing Pumpkins - Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness

DFelon204409
Emeritus
September 17th 2008



3995 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Album is so sick.

IAmInsect
September 17th 2008



3800 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

gemini and on limpid form are but the rest of the album is just good. choirs is just so unbeatable idk

Yazz_Flute
September 17th 2008



18769 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

eh album is kinda boring imo, Choirs shits all over this.

DFelon204409
Emeritus
September 17th 2008



3995 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Dude what about "Amaranth the Peddler." So good. By the way, for people's interest I'm doing a feature in a similar vein to my Girl Talk feature. An interview mixed with a show review mixed with a breakdown of the artist himself (Toby Driver). So ya look forward to that. It'll probably be up mid-October.

KittensandScorpions
September 26th 2008



172 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The long droney part of Limpid Form reminds me of an exorcism for some reason.

DFelon204409
Emeritus
September 28th 2008



3995 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

So I'm starting to think that this is better than Choirs of the Eye.

Kage
September 28th 2008



1173 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

it is

Mendigo
September 28th 2008



2299 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

it's close, but Choirs is better by a few millimeters or so

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
September 28th 2008



15728 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

So I'm starting to think that this is better than Choirs of the Eye.


Oh I don't know about that.

Digging: Alvvays - Alvvays

DFelon204409
Emeritus
September 28th 2008



3995 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I think the hardest thing for me with Dowsing were that some of the harmonic ideas were really out there and there wasn't the visceral metal to pressurize the song when the harmonies aren't obvious and immediate. Here, at every turn there is something interesting, uncommon, and fresh. What Choirs has is a meticulousness of form and structure that Dowsing doesn't have. Dowsing is more inventive though.

Kage
September 28th 2008



1173 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

it's that very lack of meticulous form that makes Dowsing that much more exciting for me.

DFelon204409
Emeritus
September 28th 2008



3995 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The problem with that lack of form is that the last track on the album lingers a little on the long side. The minutes upon minutes of casual, ambient harmonic movement just feel like missed opportunities considering how jam-packed the first three tracks are with cool ideas. I feel like on Choirs most of the slower passages service the build-up to a crescendo, whereas here they function almost in the opposite way. Oh well. Still two profoundly great albums.

pixiesfanyo
September 28th 2008



1222 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

That is why it is awesome. Because, it is such a backwards approach to releasing the same kind of moments the were found on Choirs. Its like two trips to the same destination.

SnackaryBinx
October 23rd 2008



2309 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

favorite Kayo Dot album

Yazz_Flute
October 24th 2008



18769 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I love Choirs...a lot, but I never got into this one.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy